Humans logo

What Is Love?

By Lesha Lanay

By Lesha LanayPublished 4 years ago 2 min read
Like

Love, what is love and why does it make people go crazy? I’ve only experienced love once in my life, and I can tell you now, it was nothing of what I expected. I believe I was sad more than I was happy. I have more bad to outweigh the good of love and that isn’t a good thing. I was caught up in a situation, that I didn’t know how to get out of at the time. I was in love with a man who wasn’t even a single man. I was in love with a man, who belonged to another woman. Some people might say that I was stupid, others might say that I was young, and a few might ask what was wrong with me. To answer the question, I was in love. I loved him, he made me happy, he made me feel worthy, he made me feel beautiful, made me feel like I was the luckiest woman alive, on Earth. I was eighteen years old. I never had a boyfriend, never was in any relationship, and I was a virgin. A lot of people would say that he took advantage of me, had an advantage over me. Because of the age difference, he was much older than me, more advanced than me. Sometimes I think that too. But...other times, I try not to think that because it make me feel small, dumb. How could I be so stupid and gullible? I ask myself that question all the time. I never in my life dreamed of this, the outcome, the situation I was left with. All alone, no one but me. No one but me could understand my pain I was suffering, because no one was going through, nor have they ever went through what I was going through. He was so sweet to me in the beginning, I know it was just to suck me in, then once he had me right where he wanted me, the act was over. He started to show his true colors, like any man. When there is an opportunity given, one will take it. And he took it, because like an idiot I gave it to him. I entertained him. I showed him that it was ok to do wrong. But again, I was young, I was fresh out of high school. I admit I didn’t know any better, but I knew that I had developed feelings, natural feelings that a person could obtain while spending time with someone, whether it is talking everyday, seeing each other everyday, feelings develop, emotions increase, especially if they were already there. I knew right from wrong, I knew what was right and what was wrong. I knew that me loving him was wrong, but it felt right, to me. Beyond sex, we created an emotional bond, a relationship we both committed to going into. Regardless on the circumstance, we knew what it was. At least, I thought I knew what it was. “If you got him the way someone has lost him, be prepared to lose him the same way”

love
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.