Humans logo

What Is Love?

We have to write about what we love...

By Ali PPublished 6 years ago 5 min read
Like

As it says in the advertisement of this website we have to write about what we love. Have you questioned what is love?

The exact definition of this noun, I found in the internet states: "Love is a great interest and pleasure in something." Well I certainly get pleas sure from sleeping, but not in the same way as I enjoy kissing. I have different emotions going through my body, and thoughts going through my head. I am sure these things are not comparable. Thinking about that I understood that "Love" is beyond this definition. Many of you will agree that there are different types of love. Others will say that "love" is a strong word and you don't go around and just shout it out, or do you? What should I write in my blog, if this is about what we love?

I think perception is really important in this question. For example, my roommate suggests that she loves K-pop. Well I have nothing against it, even sometimes I enjoy this music and TV series, however I definitely wouldn't classify it with "love." Looking at this example you may understand, that it doesn't work along with the definition above. From that point, we can see that for each one of us "love" means different. So let me tell you, what I feel when I love.

Couple of years ago, for me "love" was a purely romantic thing. I strongly believed that love exists only in the families, and relationships. For me it was only between people. But even then I underestimated how this feeling works. I was in a relationships. Everything was great, he cared about me, we spent time together, I felt comfortable, I thought I was in love. It continued until once I realised that it is just a feeling of safety there, protection, in some sort of way. This person and I had less things in common than I thought. To some extent people that are opposite from each other working out better together. On the other hand this thing is a pure lie. I felt that way at first. It was so exciting to get to know a new world of another person. However, it is a matter of time, when you realise that it is his world, and in no way it is yours. Furthermore, you still continue, as you feel secure next to that person. I would say, you get used to each other, but you do not work out as well anymore.

After a while, when I was still in these relationships, I started to find more and more ways to get out of there and spend time with other people. This is how I met him. I met the first person, who made me feel butterflies. It sounds so hopeless, but there is no other way how to describe it. We spent time together, not in a romantic way, just in the group of common friends. We were so different, but so similar. One evening when I was spending time with him, I felt something really special, that I didn't feel for years afterwards. We were sitting on the couch and suddenly, I realised that there is, some sort of, pressure in my stomach. Some of you might think that it was just a ordinary stomachache. But it wasn't, because the next thing I remember is that I physically felt these sparkles in my eyes—people used to talk about. For that exact moment I understood that right then there was no one else next to us, and we didn't need anyone. I didn't want to do anything, just sit there and listen to every single thing he was saying, no matter if it was true.

It is a normal life, so there was no way to get through it with no drama. I broke up with my boyfriend, and naively thought that my love was waiting for me there. But he wasn't. Because for me he seemed so perfect, and all his disadvantages started filling in this fabulous image of the man, I thought that I was a problem. These thoughts pushed me towards changes in my life. Different hair colour, lifestyle, choices. All these new things were becoming parts of a new me. Months passed, and I realised that with all these changes, his rejection persuaded me to face that all of that was beneficial for me, as a person, as well. I was thankful as never before to anyone, and I still am. I liked this new image of me. I would even say I loved it. I became strong and after some time it wasn't about him anymore, it was just about me.

Time passed. We met again. He was still perfect. Even after months I had this feeling of sparkles and butterflies. The only difference now was that he wanted it to go further. That exact moment, which I was waiting for, for endless amount of time, I rejected him. You may think that I am crazy, but no. He showed what is love for another person can be like. How beautiful and inspirational it can be. He also showed me, how much it hurts, to loose someone you loved for the first time. As well as this I understood what is a true love towards myself is. It is acceptance of who you are, and actions for your own development. Now I didn't feel imperfect next to him, and I knew that I didn't have to feel that way before. I said no, because I loved myself now, so I couldn't allow to go through the pain again. I know that, possible he wouldn't have done it, but I had fear.

I love him. After years I still do. His every message brings me back these butterflies. Here is another thing about love, it is forever. Doesn't matter if it is love towards someone special, or towards something. I love reading, because when I do, I feel sparkles, I feel that it inspires me and motivates, each book in the different way. There many examples of these in my life, but there are things in common. I am talking about the emotions and these weird actions in my organism. Because of my experience, to some extent, I feel "love" physically. And even though it is very desperate, but I do believe in butterflies.

It is my first blog. From now on I will be telling you about what makes my eyes sparkle.

love
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.