Humans logo

What is Humanity?

The Tale of Bubbles

By Michaela PlourdePublished about a year ago 4 min read
Like
Bubbles the Rabbit

It haven’t always been so dark, I thought. I used to see so much more than some dusty glass walls and unknown humans busily walking from one place to the other. Yes, I used to live my life instead of seeing it go passed me. There’s always a beginning and an end to all stories… and mine isn’t one bit different.

***

– Mama… why do we have to go?

– Shh… Shh… Not so loud, little one.

Mama’s voice was raspy, more than I ever heard her. And it wasn’t because she was whispering, oh, no! My brother’s voice was whiny, but I wanted to know too. I wanted to stay with Mama. Forever! She let us run, dig… anything we wanted! We could race and play! Hide and seek! And eat whenever we wanted, and whatever too! Okay… almost anything. But now… we had to go? Where? Why?

– You will go on a big adventure, little ones! One to find your new home and make new friends… But remember what I always say…

– No talking to humans! Said my sister.

– Because we don’t want to be like Uncle Benny! I added with a clap of my foot.

– Good… Good…

Mama went to say something else but there was no more time. They took us, one by one, until no one was left with her. The last thing I heard was her crying… and my chest was heavy too. I wanted to stay…

***

Heavy breathing. Bodies shaking. Ears on full alert. Noses sniffing in unison. We were all stuck against one another in some kind of box. Freezing each time some human would knock repeatedly against the invisible wall. My heart was jumping in my chest more than beating, and I had no doubt it was the same for my siblings.

– Mom! The bunnies aren’t moving! screamed a little human.

Some tall one approached and began to knock louder than the others. If we could have disappeared, we would have at that moment! I could almost see half my fur detached itself from my body!

– Please, miss! Don’t knock on the glass, it gets them anxious, said a calmer voice but I couldn’t see its owner.

The rest of the day went by a lot like its start. My heartbeat only slowed down when the lights themselves went down. As the darkness settled in, we were able to breath for the first time. But we didn’t move much, though. There was barely enough place for us to lay down on full length with some free space between us. Six rabbits without space to run…

What a nightmare!

We didn’t talk much that first night nor at all the others that passed after. We only did to remind ourselves we could and to repeat Mama’s warnings. Each day one brother or sister was taken. Some to be in spaces even smaller than our current disposition. When it happened, the same human with the calm voice would apologize softly before taking them…

I was the last one to leave. And there was no apology for me…

***

It wasn’t as horrible as I thought it would be. I was sharing the home of a young human, a male one. He wasn’t very tall, but he told me he was nine years old! That species does really take a while to grow! On my first day, I refused to get out of my little house, even though that “boy” told me I had a whole bedroom for myself. I waited till night to go out and eat a little, drink too.

On the third day, I started to explore the room. Sometimes the boy came to see me and I would run fast to my hut, breathing heavily. He didn’t try to reach me, though. He’d only talked, told me all about his day at some place called “school”. He would stay for a while then go back after giving me some fresh water, food and hay.

A week after my arrival, I stopped running away from him. I didn’t go close, oh, no! Never! Way too soon for that! But I was intrigued, because he started to bring some real nice smelling food! And good too! He noticed what I liked the most and kept giving them to me and stopped for those I disliked.

Months went by until my first birthday, we were a lot closer now. He would often pet my forehead while he’d tell me about his day. We would play too! I didn’t feel so lonely anymore… We were bestfriends! That’s what he told me. And he gave me such nice presents for my birthday! A new house, a couple of pieces of bananas, a hay ball… and he was there all day long!

Another year passed and I broke my promise to Mama.

I talked to him… he was so, so sad. Someone, his grandpa he said, died in the night. I wanted to comfort him… and it worked! If we were close before, it was even better now! We would tell each other secrets and make plans for the years to come!

But it wasn’t meant to be…

***

I still don’t understand what happened. One day everything was perfect. The next I was taken away, hearing screams and yelling. He wanted me to stay, but they didn’t listen. I was soon caged in invisible walls. Them walking around me, fast. Forcing me to talk, taking my blood away and putting some other stuff in me. It didn’t take long before I started to lose weight and energy. They told me they wanted to know how I was able to talk… But they couldn’t figure it out, so they went further and further. Until I couldn’t take it anymore. I wished… I wished I could have seen him… one last time. But there was no more time for me, I thought. I tried to tell them…

fact or fictionhumanity
Like

About the Creator

Michaela Plourde

First of, hi to anyone who might be reading this! Now I have to tell you that I am a French Canadian from Quebec, so it is possible that I will make a few mistakes along the way in my writing. And I do apologize for it. Have a nice day!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.