Humans logo

What I Prayed Before Entering Nollywood - Anita Joseph

Anita Joseph opens up

By Jide OkonjoPublished about a year ago 3 min read
Like

Curvy Nollywood actress and influencer Anita Joseph is well known for her talent, her funny personality, and of course her very famous figure. Now, during a new interview with The Sun, Anita Joseph explains what she actually prayed before going into Nollywood, as well as the advice she can give to newer actors. Here's what Anita Joseph said.

**Before reading on, please make sure to like and follow my Facebook page (Jide Okonjo) so you don't miss out on any new and interesting lists, articles, and stories that I post every single day. I have a really fun page. If you like my page, you will have fun too. So what's stopping you? Like my page and let's have fun together!

During the interview when asked "What advice would you give to young ones who are building their career?" Anita Joseph said:

ANITA JOSEPH: My first advice is that they should trust, communicate and get direction from God. Everything I do, I commit it into God’s hand and it works for me. When I was going into the movie industry, I said a prayer to God because I heard the place is a toasting ground. I said “God please when they see me, let them see Jesus. When they see me, let them not see my curvy waist, let them not see that I am a beautiful woman because, in my industry if you do not have a god-father, one is in soup. I said, God you are the best god-father that I can ever have, please help me. I communicated with God like I am seeing him now. It was a strong prayer point, God let them not see that I am a fine woman because I was even prettier and hotter everywhere then. I know, I am good in what I do, so I prayed God to let them see my craft instead of my body. Let my work speak for me. Again, I would counsel the younger ones in the industry to work on themselves and focus on God for the fact that some unprofessional directors are interested in what they get on the table. Sometimes, someone can bring a car and they offer her a role. Professionalism in the industry seems to be taking the back seat because of what people get immediately. There are people whose works are no longer speaking for them anymore, but what they can give makes way for them. To the young ones, therefore, let your work speak for you because some flashy things would fade away with time, and at the end of the day, you just act once and there is nothing for you again because you are not good again. If one rents a car for them at N100,000, it means they would not spend their own money, but would exchange that role for the money that was brought. So, let them work on themselves, focus on God as the industry is not easy. Again, let them know why they are there because it is their choice to make. If one wants to be stupid in Nollywood, the market of Nollywood would let you, but if you have come to work and learn, one would also get that. Once more, let them not also focus on money immediately. They should also focus on their craft because some think that is where men would see them easily. And this makes a lot of them to do nonsense, some come into the movie industry with all ready for them.

What do you think of what Anita Joseph said? Let me know your thoughts by leaving a comment either below or on my Jide Okonjo Facebook post.

That's All.

I hope you’ve had fun. Don’t forget to follow my page (Jide Okonjo) if you don’t already for more stories like this, the fun never end

To catch up on other content you might have missed, click here.

Until next time, have a wonderful rest of your day

celebrities
Like

About the Creator

Jide Okonjo

I have ONE account and MANY interests. My page is a creative hodgepodge of:

🇳🇬 Nigerian news stories for my dedicated Nigerian readers.

🎥 Movie and music recommendations, listicles, and critiques

📀 Op-eds, editorial features, fiction

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.