Humans logo

What I'm Reading: September

Reading and Listening To

By Jessica BuggPublished 3 years ago 7 min read
Like
What I'm Reading:  September
Photo by Matias North on Unsplash

I have always been a voracious reader. Some of my favorite memories involve being read to and my mom taking me to the public library where I could get any book I wanted. I have continued being a book lover as an adult although I incorporate more audiobook versions now to multitask.

Consistently, people ask me, what are you reading? What are you loving? I think it's because I read across a wide range of genres and I will read things that I don't like because if I can pick up even one idea that resonates with me I consider it time well spent.

I thought it would be cool to share with you guys what I'm reading, what you think about the selections, and also selfishly, get some good recommendations, after all who reads more than readers?

Now I may not finish all of these books by the end of the month. I always like to have more to read than less, so I figured I would be upfront about that from jump.

So here's my list for what I am reading/listening to in September.

1). Power Vs Force by Dr. David Hawkins

This book has been HIGHLY recommended to me by one of the Crypto Triumvirate (those anonymous advisors on my crypto articles). From what I have been told, it is the study of vibration and consciousness. I am into spiritual stuff but I especially am fascinated lately with the intersection between science and spirit.

2). Transcending the Levels of Consciousness: The Stairway to Enlightenment by Dr. David R. Hawkins

This is another one of those books that has been HIGHLY recommended by the Crypto Triumvirate. I have been told it is a follow up reference style glossary to Power VS. Force. I was told I can reference the chapters and don't have to read it straight through but what's the fun in that? I am going for a start to finish read on this one. This selection is another one for the month that combines science with spirituality which is going to be a theme for this month's selections.

3). The 48 Laws of Power by Robert Greene

Often quoted and sometimes misunderstood, this book has been on my TBR list for quite sometime. (To Be Read, that is). I am reading it after Power Vs Force because I want to understand first the difference between Power and Force and then study power more in depth.

4). Ask and It Is Given: Learning To Manifest Your Desires by Hicks Family

I have had a copy of this book lying around for about a year now. I am an avid follower of Esther Hicks who if you have not looked on Youtube, just search Abraham Hicks and get ready to have an eye opening experience.

Esther channels a group of entities that are in non-physical form who are collectively referred to as "Abraham". If you are a fan of the Law of Attraction or The Secret, the author of The Secret was actually a student of Esther/Abraham. This one I'm pretty excited about.

5). The Game Of Life And How To Play It by Devors and Company

This is one that I am listening to audiobook style. Spoiler: I have already started it and it is pretty good so far. This is another spiritual selection that incorporates Christianity with mysticism and laws of the universe. I won't spoil it any further but will do an in depth review when I am finished.

6). Think And Grow Rich by Napoleon Hill

This book is a fan favorite amongst the personal development crowd and one of my closest advisors says it is their favorite book. If you advise me and give me a book rec, I am going to take it all day. This is another one that I will be going audiobook style vs. traditional book. Expect a review upon completion.

7). The Richest Man In Babylon by George S Clason

I have started and stopped this book about 50–11 times in the past three years. I always get about half way through and then switch to something else. I am hoping putting it on this list will force me to finish it. From my previous attempts, it is the study of how money actually works told through parables ie following the richest man in Babylon.

8). Interview With The Vampire by Anne Rice

So, it's no secret that Anne Rice is my all time favorite author, mainly because I like her story of why she became a writer. Interview With The Vampire was actually a way for her to work through the mourning of the loss of her six year old daughter. This is a reread for me and yes I will rewatch the movie as well, but with AMC signing the rights for the Vampire Chronicles to go into production, I wanted to give it another read.

9). The Claiming Of Sleeping Beauty by Anne Rice (Beauty Trilogy Book 1)

Another Anne Rice novel and another reread for me. This book is erotic AF. Like makes 50 Shades Of Grey look like Sesame Street. Expect an indepth review . . .

10). Churchill: A Biography by Roy Jenkins

I am a fan of Winston Churchill. He smoked cigars, he talked shit, he ran shit, but I actually don't know all that much about him if we are going to be honest. I picked this book up at a thrift shop during the summer and it's a lengthy read. I will be sure to report back what I discover about this cigar aficionado.

11). Essential Oils For Beginners by Althea Press

I am all about some holistic healing but still take modern medicine. I think we can combine both the hippie holistic aesthetic with modern advancements. Why argue? Let's have both. This is another book I picked up at a thrift shop over the summer and am excited to learn more about the history and healing properties of essential oils.

12). Shannon Miller: America's Most Decorated Gymnast by Krista Quiner

I am a huge gymnastics fan. HUGE. It's like the NFL to me. So imagine my happiness when while killing time at where else? The thrift store I snagged a copy of this gem for .50 cents. Now Simone Biles has taken the title of Most Decorated gymnast but in her time Shannon Miller was THE bad bitch extraordinaire.

13). The Dhammapada by Eknath Easwaran

I told you guys I was on a spiritual kick. This is from the Buddhist teachings and quite frankly, I want to be more knowledgeable about Buddhism and Buddhist beliefs. I once spent time in a Nichiren Buddhist temple in Chicago and it was life changing. I'll update you guys on how it is and any major takeaways I have with this one.

14). The Tipping Point: How Little Things Can Make A Big Difference by Malcolm Gladwell

For this selection, I am going the audio version as some of the beach house wants to read/listen to it as well so I figure we can all save time and quit fighting over copies while we listen together. I have had this on the TBR list for quite sometime and it's now the time to knock it out.

15). The Laws of Human Nature by Robert Greene

Lots of laws on September's reading list. This honestly was a suggestion to my Amazon cart so I figured, why the fuck not? I am hoping to learn something from this one.

Final Thoughts:

So there we are, my reading buddies. My September stack of TBR. Be on the lookout for the follow up where I go over what I loved, what I didn't, and what I learned from my reading list. Again, this list is meant to be just that, a list. If I finish all of them by the end of the month . . . great. If not, it goes on the list for next month.

So, what are you reading and loving? Any suggestions? I am looking to branch into more fiction reading as the last several years I have been on a nonfiction kick and kinda want to switch it up a bit.

book reviews
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.