Humans logo

What I Didn't Know the Night I Got Pulled Over by the Cops

And, I'm White

By Rita DupontyPublished 2 years ago Updated 2 years ago 3 min read
What I Didn't Know the Night I Got Pulled Over by the Cops
Photo by Jonathan Cooper on Unsplash

A few years back, I had an awful experience when pulled over by the local police.

For personal reasons, I left my house late at night in a frenzy. That was my first mistake. Never drive when your emotions are riding high.

Starting out eastbound was my second mistake. As I traveled down the road eastbound, I realized I should have been going westbound. No cars on the road, I quickly turned into the nearest parking lot to turn around. Probably too quickly.

Third mistake. I forgot to put my left blinker on, and turned quickly into an empty lot. Out of nowhere, the police siren was on top of me, flashers and all. There we were. No other cars. No traffic. Just me, the patrol car and two officers.

Fourth mistake. In my haste to determine why this was happening, I got out of my vehicle to speak to the officers. THIS IS A NO! NO! I was promptly yelled at from their patrol car, along with a spotlight directly aimed at me, to get back into the car.

Had I committed a murder? Was I on a felon’s list? Surely, it felt like I was.

A tad bit shaken, I quickly got back into my car and waited. They were the longest seconds of my life until the officer appeared at my window to check my identity. All good. I wasn’t on the most wanted list yet.

They questioned me as to why I quickly turned around without a blinker. Ah! I forgot the blinker. However, that wasn’t good enough. They made me get out for a sobriety check. This entails walking a straight line, feeling like an idiot.

Happy to say no ticket, just a warning.

Although this resembled an episode on my local news station, were there any lessons to learn? Yes.

Don’t drive if at all possible when your emotions are out of whack.

If you have to drive when you are not up to par, remember to obey the law and use your signals!

Abrupt changes in driving behavior can falsely signal to an officer that something is awry.

PERHAPS THE MOST IMPORTANT LESSON — NEVER GET OUT OF YOUR VEHICLE UNLESS YOU ARE TOLD TO BY THE OFFICER.

Be truthful. Comply with the requests of the officers to the best of your ability.

The fact of the matter is that if you are getting pulled over by any authority or police, it is scary. It doesn’t matter if you are innocent or guilty.

I am not naive. I have been the witness to many justified arrests as well as a few that were not. However, after the experience I described above, I sure don’t want to get pulled over again.

My final reminder to you who haven’t had the great experience above is slow down, use your blinkers, and ALWAYS STAY IN THE CAR UNTIL TOLD OTHERWISE.

Last word…try not to drive when your emotions may be a distraction to you.

T his story was previously posted on Medium.com.

I would also add that I have the utmost respect for law enforcement. They are greatly needed in our society. I also believe that officers need seasoned in their position. Having an understanding of law is not enough. They must also have a good rapport and communication with their citizens.

You may enjoy the following poem previously posted on Medium.com.

Oh men in blue,

I am fascinated with

you.

Is it your dense deep

blues? Or, your finely

polished shoes?

There is more to you

than meets the eye…

It is your willingness

to take action that

stokes my attraction.

With courage and

readiness you answer

the need…

Saving lives, stopping

crime are your every-

day deeds.

In an imperfect world

we all rest, knowing

you have done your

very best.

Men in blue…

Thank you for being You!

feature

About the Creator

Rita Duponty

I write to share my experiences and hopefully lift your soul. I hope you will enjoy my journey as you walk with me.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Rita DupontyWritten by Rita Duponty

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.