Humans logo

Weekends

All of a Sudden

By EleanorRoyPublished 3 years ago 7 min read
1

Weekends

By

Sharrard Bowesman

Adapted from

"The Weekend"

By

SZA

Shannon is in love, and being in love is effortless. Being in love together, that's magical. Relationships require a lot of work. Fortunately, Shannon has the weekend. Robert is in a relationship with Rita and works very hard to keep it together. Rita doesn't want anything to interfere with her relationship with Robert. Rita will do anything to keep the relationship together. Unfortunately, Rita and Robert do not have a weekend. Shannon's man is Rita's man, and Rita's man is Shannon's man.

Shannon waited patiently for Robert to arrive. Robert was always late, and Rita gave him a hard time for it. Rita didn't mean anything by it, just breaking the ice. It was hard for her to be in love and unable to show it. And the subtle ways she did, Robert would never notice. He is in a relationship, and his focus is on making it work, not love.

"I told you 10:30. It is 10:35."

Shannon sounded mean, but her smile was cute, from her head to her toe.

Jet black and in a perfect ponytail laid Shannon's hair and rested on mahogany skin glowing in a California sunset. She couldn't frown, her smile was bright, and it shed a spotlight on hazel green eyes that had a smile of their own. That is why Robert is always late and the reason he thinks about kissing Shannon every time. Robert works really hard on his relationship.

"I know. I really tried this time."

"Same excuse. What, the wife, the kids, the job."

"All of the above. And look at you. We're supposed to be going on a business trip. You look like your coming from the gym."

"Is that wifey there?"

"Yeah."

"Maybe I should get my suit out the trunk?"

"No."

The color black is slimming, but Shannon didn't need the help. Her body was

exciting, thought-provoking and could be admired for hours. It takes a slow hand and easy touch to navigate the curves covering the well-maintained highway leading to Shannon's heart. Robert knows the curves and has a map, but he doesn't want his wife to see the road he could be taking.

"Let's just go."

"You sure I can step out and grab it."

"Not necessary. Let's go."

"Alright, we're going. Let's get this started. You're going to lose your mind. Forget about the nine to five. I got you covered this weekend."

Robert is Rita's man. Robert is Shannon's man too.

"This place is nice. Excellent choice."

Robert is in awe of the foyer.

"I know. Stick with me, kid. You'll go places."

"I'll keep that in mind."

"Do you see the view?"

"Yes, I'm looking at it with you right now."

"Smartass."

"I'm going to look around downstairs."

"Cool, I'll go upstairs and get it ready for you."

Shannon is not satisfied with two days. She needs more of Robert. She needs more of them. Robert has to tell Shannon what he wants. Shannon lays on her side in the middle of a king-size bed. Her index finger follows the curve of her butt to the cut on her thigh back and forth.

"I see you got it all ready for me."

"Do you like what you see?"

"I do. But I'm not going to drill."

"You not?"

"No. That's shit safe. Easy to get into."

"Well, thanks for telling me after I carry the thing upstairs."

"You scouted the place; you told me about the safe. And are you sure nobody will be here all weekend? There's a bunch of prime steaks in the frig, and they will not keep for a week."

"I know exactly where they are and exactly when they will leave. I got us covered. Now go ahead and do your thing. We got a long weekend ahead of us."

"Just remember, we have a long drive too, and I will not let you sleep."

"Well, hurry up and get started. You're already boring me."

It doesn't take long for Robert to crack the safe.

"You did an excellent job scouting this place. I feel like someone could walk in any minute now."

"Are we good, Robert?"

"How much did you say was in the safe?"

"Uhhh."

Shannon walks over to Robert and stands next to him.

"About 20, 30,000."

"That looks like 500,000 in cash, jewels, and what the fuck are these. Bonds. Are you sure no one is coming home?"

"I'm sure. I'll know exactly when they leave, and it would take them a day to get here. We're in the middle of nowhere, and we would be in cuffs if anyone were coming."

"With a score this big, we can chill the remainder of the weekend."

"And you can cook for me."

"Alright, alright. Let's celebrate. I'll get us some champagne."

"You do that. I'll be here waiting, but first, I have a question."

"What?"

"Why did you marry Rita?"

"I wanted to be in a relationship, and I wanted a family. You know."

"You weren't in love?"

"I'm in love."

"You wanted to be in a relationship. You didn't say anything about being in love."

"It's the same thing."

"No, there's a big difference."

"Can I go get the Champagne?"

"Go right ahead."

Shannon's man is Robert. Robert is Shannon's man, and she is going to use this opportunity to prove it. With seductive eyes and a fiendish smile, Shannon implements part two of her plan. The money should be enough, but bare mahogany skin, sculpted curves, hazel green eyes, and the California moonlight will have Robert caught in the middle. The best thing he can do is fall in love. Shannon lays submissively on her back in the middle of the bed.

Robert gazed upon nature. A valley full of African Wildflowers called out to him, their fragrance seduced him, and their beauty undressed Robert. Allowing him to enter the valley. An African Warrior, fresh from the battlefield, stands before the Mother Land's most beautiful creation.

The flowers are many colors, but the warrior is focused on the pink rose in the middle of the valley. The flower is blind to the love it is receiving, and its feelings are intensified. A feeling so intense, sweet nectar forms on its petals.

Face to face with the flower, it intoxicates the warrior's mind and activates his primal instincts. After a taste of sweetness, his appetite grew. And as his hunger grew, the flower's feelings intensified. The valley constricted around the warrior's neck. The nectar was flowing and formed an inseparable bond broken only by satisfaction. In a language only understood to them, the warrior obeys every command. The intensity burned inside the flower until wave after wave after wave put the fire out, and satisfaction ran through every nerve.

The flower is fertile and requires seed. Inside the bulb, the warrior's rhythm is steady. He listens well to its commands, a connection is made, and the fire burns in both of them. Planting the seed deep in the melanin soil will ensure a superior life form is created. Shannon's man is Robert. Robert is Shannon's man.

With satisfaction at every nerve ending, a question comes to Robert's mind.

"Is it possible to suddenly realize you've been in love with someone the whole time?"

"Yes. It is possible. Stick with me kid, I'll take you places, and you'll never work again."

Robert reaches over to Shannon to collect his phone. And Shannon actually frowns.

"You need to call your wife?"

"Yes, I do."

Robert searches through his contacts and chooses "Home."

"Hey pumpkin, how ya doing? That's good, that's good. Put Mommy on the phone, please. Hey Rita, it's me. I ain't ever coming home again. Have a nice life."

Robert views a new life through the hazel green.

"I'm ready for retirement."

"Bright ideas, we got bright ideas."

Working is for the birds, and weekends are for lovers. Enjoy your weekend.

love
1

About the Creator

EleanorRoy

I don't know where my prose comes from. It is the only stranger I know.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.