Humans logo

Waves of Love

Path to love

By Sherry jacksonPublished 2 years ago 6 min read
Like

To my shock and amazement I got this absolutely dream job as a hotel manager on an remote Island.

When I saw it advertised in the newspaper It was the just the kind of job I was wanted. My family owned several hotel so I had worked in several but this one was in a remote area which supplied me the quiet atmosphere I was looking for in my life. After a video interview I got a letter in the mail letting me know I had got the job. I was very pleased and began packing leaving happily my small apartment in the big city of New York.

There was not any other way to get on the island than by boat or plane. So I chose boat.

I fell in love with it the first time I saw it from the boat. It was white with several stories clinging to the hillside over looking the ocean.

There were colorful flowers of red orange and purple everywhere and as I got closer I saw it was made of

white Stucco with black iron gorgeous lanterns attached to it everywhere. When I got to the entrance of it’s stain glass double doors the

air smelled perfumed with the sweet scent of jasmine and roses.

After my assistant welcomed me and took me on a small tour I felt I had made the right decision.

There was a house not too far from the hotel and I asked her who lived there.

She sad the owner of the Island.

I stared at it wondering what kind of man would want to own an island.

When I finally got to my room and showered and dressed for dinner I paused to look out my big glass wall to wall window of my

I decided to go for a walk on the beach before dinner.

The sun was slowly sinking into

blazing orange clouds beneath the blue sky. The sand felt warm and silky to my bare feet. I stopped to inhale the salty air and to look at the magnificent view.

I didn’t know I had walked so far for when I turned around I was standing in front of a beautiful mansion.

I saw a light come on in the corner window and a man’s shadow stood looking in my direction.

I quickly turned and walked with quicken steps back to the Hotel.

As I laid in my bed the moon light spilled though the window onto my pillow. I had let my long black hair fall loose and when I looked down at my gown it was glowing in the moon light. was dark long and loose and my night gown was glowing in the moon light. It was beautiful and mystical at the same time.

The next day even with a dark cloud looming far out on the horizon with occasional lighting flashing, I went for a swim.

I was swimming and enjoying the water, then suddenly I began fighting the current. It was taking me out to sea. I began to scream but there was no one to hear me.

Then I saw a man standing on the shore and I saw him jump into the water. He was coming for me.

When I opened my eyes I saw

a man with dark brown hair and big light brown eyes with a worried look staring down at me.

His face was tanned and handsome.

I’m John he said softly, keeping his eyes on me as though he thought I would disappear.

Gasping for air and trying to sound normal.

Hi-

I’m Susan. I replied.

He smiled down at me laying helpless on the wet sand, then pleased that I was ok , his smile turned into a wide grin.

Realizing that he had saved my life a deep feeling of gratitude for him welled up from deep in my life and i cling to

him as

He picked me up and carried me.

It was the mansion next to the hotel.

He opened the door and a servant brought me some warm tea.

The next time I opened my eyes I saw out the window that it was dark and I watched him walking around his mansion checking the doors and windows.

I could hear the wind banging against the house. The storm at sea must have made it ashore.

The wind sounded like it was going to tear off the roof and the rain fell with a steady drumming beat splashing against the windows.

He liked calm and smiled over at me when he saw I was

I could see he wasn’t a man that panic easily.

I looked around as I lay on the sofa of his magnificent living room decorated in bold gold.

The electricity must have gone out because the room was lit by thousands of white candles casting shadows and creating a mystical beautiful surrounding.

He spoke coolly but his eyes were warm and understanding. . I felt close to him even though we had just met.

I looked away at the fireplace and watched the flames dance and the crackling of the wood burning.

He came over and took my hand.

How are you feeling?

I’m fine I said abd I tried to sat up but I still felt light headed and laid back down.

I think you had better take it easy for awhile, he said.

You are Sally Baker, right ? The hotel’s new manager?

Yes, and

you are are Mr. Taylor?

Yes, welcome to the island.

I had better let you get more rest.

He stood up to leave and suddenly a falsified lightening lit up the room and thunder roared.

Don’t worry this house has weathered many storms, he assured me.

I’m sure it has but can you well stay - storm scare me!

For some reason I didn’t want him to leave now or never.

He hesitated and then stopped and turned and sat down beside me.

He took my hand agin and looked deep in my eyes.

You feel it too, he asked-

Yes- I said.

I felt at home. I felt my heart telling me that he was home.

Tears fell from my eyes.

Why are you crying he asked as he wiped my tears away with his hands.

I don’t know, I replied.

I don’t want you to go.

He put his arms around, and held me .

When I first saw you walking on the beach I knew my empty years of searching for that special person has finally come to a end.

The lightening lit up the room and we kissed and he stayed beside me and held me all night.

A year went by we were inseparable as though we were made for each other.

We exchanged our vows on his luxurious yacht out at sea with the sun setting on the horizon.

It was magical! I followed my dream and it led me to the love of my life.

He whispered in my ear- you have made me the happiest man in the whole world by becoming my wife- my queen.

Then we kissed passionately and for a very long time.

dating
Like

About the Creator

Sherry jackson

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.