Humans logo

Waiting for my true love

Fated paths

By Sherry jacksonPublished 2 years ago 9 min read
2

I went to visit my grand mother for the summer.

Watching the city slowly disappearing behind me as I drove down the freeway then I turned my car off onto a small road that twisted though lovely acres of sweet smelling blossoms of almond trees.

When I arrived I parked in front of the old two story Victorian style house of my grandmother’s. I noticed how the green lawn was so well kept with lovely bright red roses surrounding it.

I got a warm and loving hug from my grandmother when I reached the door.

My grand mother who was well into her 60’s still looked fresh and radiant with her gorgeous long brown hair pulled into a bun and her blue twinkling eyes.

I also got many licks from her big English dog Larry. When I came inside the smell of home cooked bread filled the air and when I looked around into the dinning room I saw dinner was waiting on the table.

After eating my grandmother and I say on the long porch with hanging red geranium and watched the sun go down.

My grand mother asked me why i never got married.

I told her, honestly I want to marry a man that cherish me, loved me beyond reason and cant imagine his life without me at his side. I haven’t met that person yet, so like the almonds which are symbolic of preserve , I would wait until that time arrives.

My grand mother continue rocking in her rocking chair and then said softly, not looking at me -you will one day and I hope it will be as wonderful as mine and your grand dad has been.

Well if I do -and when I met him I have to be certain that I love him deeply and passionately and he would have to feel the same.

I looked at my grandmother

She was just looking at the starry night sky and smiling to herself and didn’t reply.

Before crawling into bed I went to my bedroom’s lace covered window and opened it to let the cool breeze of the night come in.

Then I saw someone standing behind a tree watching the house.I ran into my grandmother ‘s bedroom to tell her what I saw.

Oh that is just Jack,she said casually, he always keeps an eye on the place at night.

The workers take turn guarding the grounds now that Your grand dad is not here most of the time.

I noticed that Bingo her dog who sleeps by her bed was not barking, meaning the person outside he must know and found no reason to be alarmed.

The next day I decided to go for a walk in the orchard. I saw a guy busy checking the trees.

To my surprise he was very good looking with wavy black hair pleasant and

when he turn to look at me I saw his striking green eyes.

Something hit me like lightening and I felt the warmth of his vibrations and I suddenly felt connected to him.

He walked over to me and offerirf his hand to shake.

Hello, you must be grandma Perry’s grand daughter? He asked.

She told me you were coming to visit. I’m Jack one of the hired hands.

Yes, my grandmother told me about you. You must be Jack?

I took his hand and felt how firm and strong his grip was. A strange sensation went though me, struggling not to reveal my inner feelings cover what I was feeling I said,

Thank you for looking out for her!!

It is my pleasure, he replied.

Then suddenly it started to rain. I looked at him in surprise.

This is an everyday thing here, he said with a smile.

The rain was getting harder so he grabbed my hand and we ran to the old barn across next to the orchard.

He had long legs so I had to struggle to keep up with him. We began to laugh cause he saw how hard it was for me to keep up.

After inside we couldn’t stop laughing. Then he suddenly stopped laughing and when I looked up into his green eyes he had a serious look in them. I stopped laughing and I felt he was going to kiss me me — and I wanted him to- but forcing myself I I stepped back and said casually to him.

Does it always rain so unannounced?

Trying to break whatever had come over both of us.

He seem to come out of the same trance I had been in and said while clearing his throat,

Yes- it is still rainy season here. I

I love the rain and everything about this area.

We both became silent for I felt something so strong pulling me closer to him and holding me with invisible arms. My heart was beating fast and I thought I could hear it pounding. It was wonderful and I didn’t want it to end.

The rain poured down and it looked lovely falling on the thousand of blooming beautiful trees. We both stood there just taking in the magnificent view.

Then the rain stopped just as suddenly as it had began.

I said as I began to walk slowly out of the barn door,

It was really nice meeting you and I’m sure I will be seeing you around.

You can bet on that! He said and gave me that twisted smile.

I smiled at him and went out the door of the barn and refused to look back. I could feel him

Watching me and when I did turn around to look at him he was standing in the barn door and yes he was watching me.

I felt for some odd reason like dressing up for dinner so I put on a lovely floral dress that matched my long copper tone hair.

I didn’t know we were having company for dinner until my grandmother mentioned it just as the doorbell ringed.

She asked me to go get the door.

When i opened the door I saw Jack standing there with flowers in hiss hands. There was an approval in his eyes of what he was looking at as he looked me up and down.

Oh!

I said, not able to say anything else from the surprise.

May I come in he asked.

Gathering my composure I said oh yes! I moved out the way snd he stepped inside.

Grand mother was so pleased to see him and gave him a big hug as he gave her the flowers.

Dinner was delicious and afterward Jack and I went to sat on the porch,

While my grand mother insisted she would wash the dishes.

There was this strange magnetic pull between us and I was beginning to liked the way he made me feel.

I sat on the railing and he stood beside me. The sky was full of stars snd suddenly i saw together a shooting star. He told me to make a wish- I closed my eyes and to my surprise i found myself wishing I could always feel this way, by always being with him.

He asked me what did i wished for ?I looked him in the eyes and somehow i knew he knew.

He reached over and gently he took my hand and held it in his looking into my eyes.

Then the door opened and my grandmother came out with coffee.

We sat and talked about old times when I was growing up till late in the evening.

After Jack left and I was about to go to bed my grand mother cane in my bedroom.

She start telling me about Jack.

He is very close to your grand dad and put a special effort in making sure I’m okay for your grand dad since he travels so much.

He is now working for the union for the hand picking laborers!

I can trust Jack. Not many young men like that these days.

Grandmother are you —?

She smiled at me and winked her eye.

We both laughed and she went out the door.

Each night i saw him out side and he would just wave at me standing in my bedroom window .

My grandmother didn’t know or him that that he never left my mind since the day I met him and when slept he would be in my dreams.

My grand mother and I went to the Almond festival which was a big thing each year.

There were games for the kids and food trucks of all kind with delicious food.

I was leaving the line of one of the food lines with a drink when I I bumped into Jack.

I felt the endless electricity between us.

There was a live band blasting so it was hard to hear what he was saying. A slow song came on at that moment and he gestured if I would like to dance. I put my drink down and he led me to the dance floor .

When his arms encircled me i felt like I was home . I cradled my head in his neck completely surrendering to his warmth.

He pulled me tighter and closer to him.. I felt like a thousand fireworks were exploding around them. It was dusk the magic moment between day and night. He took my hand guided me to the orchard fields next to the dance floor and when we were far enough away from the crowd he stopped turned around snd his mouth found mine with a slow lingering kiss.

I knew when I first saw you that you were the one for me. You can call it love at first sight or whatever. I just know that I never want to be without you by my side.

He was saying what I had always wished from and I felt it also!

Oh my darling I replied and it was interrupted with his lips crushing down on mine.

The quaint little town became home for me that summer and with Jack and I being inseparable

by the end of summer I knew

when it was time for me to leave I would not be able to go.

As soon as I told him I was going to stay on to help my grand mother he got down on his knees and asked me to be his wife. I with tears in my eyes said yes!

We got married in the orchard a year later with the morning sun peeking though the delicate almond blossoms. Grand dsd was there holding my grandmother’s hand smiling at us in approval.

Sometimes your heart takes over and guides you in the right direction to your happiness and helps those dreams lingering with patience in your mind come true.

We remodeled the old barn and made it our home and now we watch the blooming delicate almond trees each year from our living room window holding on to each other.

dating
2

About the Creator

Sherry jackson

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insight

  1. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.