Humans logo

Valentine Break-Up

I Love You

By Destiny WelchPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
1
Valentine Break-Up
Photo by Nathan Dumlao on Unsplash

Valentine’s Day is just around the corner, and I couldn’t be happier with my date. When we first met, I didn’t want to take my eyes off of him, and it had nothing to do with trust. He had handsome, curly, black hair, and a perfect smile with the whitest teeth I had ever seen. Everything about him had a shine like in a movie. We were together for about a year, so this celebration meant the world to me.

The day of, we went to a fancy restaurant with all of our friends.We had an amazing time, but near the end of our date, he said “I’m not gonna be here forever. You know that right? I want to travel and see the world.” Suddenly, everything became a blur. This amazing man I wanted to spend the rest of my life with didn’t feel the same. I couldn’t hold back my tears, so I went to the bathroom and just cried for a while. I’m not sure how long I was in there, but everyone at the table noticed. All of the girls followed me into the restroom.

Over the next two weeks, I partied like there was no tomorrow. The first week, I stayed at my best friend’s house. We drank, smoked, and just hung out with our closest friends. Sure, I had fun that week, but I missed him dearly. Over the second week, we went to different parties and worked on the little sleep we had. I spent my paychecks on alcohol and gas, but I still couldn’t get over this break up.

Two weeks went by, and he texted me because he wanted to bring my stuff and talk. I felt calm enough to talk to him, so I met him in town. When he got in the car, he said “I made a mistake. I don’t know who I am without you. I didn’t realize until now how happy you make me. I haven’t been that happy in a while, and it went away when you did. Please, take me back.” He held my hand and asked me to kiss him, but I said “I don’t know. You really hurt me, and that’s not something I can just forgive. We don’t want the same things. I want a future, kids, marriage, and things like that.” He looked at me and said “I want the same things. I want kids, but I just don’t want any right now. How can I bring a baby into this world when I’m so damaged? I need to work on my career and lifestyle so I can take care of a family, but I want that to include you. I was surprised, but I told him I didn’t think it was a good idea. I told him I had to go because I promised a friend I would be at her birthday party at a hotel.

When I get to the party, I tell my friend about it, and she thinks we should get back together. I’m still not sure what I want to do because I don’t want to get hurt again, but I take his calls all night anyways. He called and texted me all night long. After a long night of sweet, sincere messages, I go to his house. We lay in the bed and talk for a while and he says “I love you.” I have never been more happy to hear those words. I said “I love you too, and I don’t ever want to be without you. Will you move in with me?” He grins a little and says “I think that’s an amazing idea. I’ll get things ready.” We laid together that night just talking, and he went on about how I was his, and I was really happy to be. There was no one else I would rather share this moment with.

dating
1

About the Creator

Destiny Welch

I love writing and reading and that is why I enjoy vocal!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.