Humans logo

Unlikely Art Supplies

Thrift stores can be a hub for artists!

By Kyra LopezPublished 3 years ago 4 min read
3

Thrift stores are a gold mine for artists~

Normally, you wouldn't think to visit thrift stores to begin your next project as an artist. They have a random assortment of "junk", all varying in quality and appeal. Visiting a thrift store could be a last resort if you need a specific item, but they generally don't stand out as an ideal spot for gathering materials.

But, I'm here to change your mind on that!

Over the years, I have learned to use thrift stores one of the first places I look to for inspiration. When I was a child, my family would take me to thrift stores in Chicago for inexpensive clothes, and would sometimes take me to "mercado de pulgas". These are also known as "swap meets", where many vendors sell a variety of items at a reasonable price!

Reflecting back on this activity in my childhood, I decided to revisit this idea and transform my art into something fresh. Using thrift store stuff is not only a good way to recylce old goods, but it can challenge your perception of the "everyday".

What's the point, you may ask? You get a revamped artist's eye!

Every store has an abundance of unexpected materials to be used, just waiting for you to craft them into something magnificent. Clothing, kitchen utensils, old furniture, and some knick knacks spread across the store may not look like much. With the right eye, these "tacky" finds can be essential to your work!

What I found and how I used it:

1. Mirrors as Canvas

This is my absolute favorite art activity to date, and it is so much fun!!

By Elena Kloppenburg on Unsplash

When hunting around thrift stores, I look for those dusty, old, and forgotten mirrors. Maybe they look lonely, slightly dirty, or are on the verge of breaking. This is EXACTLY what I look for. With all those unwanted mirrors just laying around, what better way to give them new life than to paint on them?

Mirrors are some of the prettiest canvases. You can create wonderful works of art using their reflective surfaces as an incredible backdrop. Some mirrors have wooden frames, glass frames, etc. Each of their unique linings is what makes this type of art so versatile and awesome to look at!

Check it out >>>

Source: wefashiontrends.com

Although I haven't painted my ideas onto my mirrors yet, I created some initial sketches and can't wait to try this out! You can use acrylics to make the colors pop, and there are multiple ways you can customize the frames to match your room decor!

It's all up to you, after all!

2. Books for Texture

If you won't read it, glue it!

Pages I have torn from old books!

Although it may seem a little sad to tear apart old books, why not put that extra paper to good use? The paper can be applied in collages, as part of your stationery for letter writing or journaling, and can even be used for decoration in your room!

If you are going for a "dark academia" look, hanging old book pages on the walls or using them as a backdrop to a painting can add some cool flare without breaking the bank.

Most importantly, have fun with it! Expand on those ideas a little more, and get your brain juices flowing. If you get stuck on what to paint, try using these thrift store books as a promt. Take a sentence from the book, and paint the scene right on the pages. When you are done, just hang them up with some brown thread and BAM...you have just created a new garland of artwork for your studio.

My collage (in progress) using a combo of book pages, covers, and magazines!

3. Plates for Palettes

Instead of passing up those old jars, containers, and kitchenware...use them for painting sessions! They are great assets to your artillery of tools, and can be kept for years.

By Frank Vessia on Unsplash

For instance, I use glass cups I found at Goodwill for my brush storage, and white flat candle holders from Village Thrift as my mini palettes. The glass surface of these plates are great for mixing paints and having a variety of palettes to choose from, that aren't limited to the classic wooden artists palettes seen in supply stores. There are so many different options to work with, depending on what you find!

If you come across a mediocre looking teacup...repaint it for your desk!

Did you happen to see a green faded vase? Use it for storing markers!

My latest art piece! 🐛🦋

Now get out there and make some fabulous art from the thrift store!

art
3

About the Creator

Kyra Lopez

Writer from the 773

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

Kyra Lopez is not accepting comments at the moment

Want to show your support? Send them a one-off tip.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.