Humans logo

University, Love, and I

How My Non-existent Love Life Pales in Comparison to the Two Week Relationships Half of My Class Have

By Anya LeighPublished 6 years ago 3 min read
Like
From the angle they're holding hands, he's probably about to break into a full sprint (perhaps after his bro, standing in the distance, mullet blowing in the wind), leaving her in the dust. I know she'll stay in the dust because she's wearing a sweater. No person rocking a sweater is actually a sweater. You know what I mean. It's a metaphor. 

I was never the person to obsess over relationships, yet here I am, blogging about relationships. All through high school and two years of community college, I happily went relationship free. Now I'm at University, and it seems as if everyone is here to find a mate.

I think I'm gonna be sick.

Here I am, trying to study in the library, when two weirdos are making out on one of those study cubicles. Perhaps they don't realize literally everyone in the library can hear them loudly smacking lips. Perhaps they don't see the student workers awkwardly slip to find their manager because they aren't getting paid enough to deal with this. Or perhaps these two simply don't care.

I still have a two chapter summaries due in three hours, so I slip to the coffeeshop. Lucky for me, from my spot on the second story, I can see a couple not only giving tender butterfly kisses, but gazing into each others' eyes and making promises under muffled breath. I can almost hear their hearts beating, and it really distracts from the technicalities of human biology.

Walking down the middle of campus, I spot a friend from drama club. Yes, I got to drama club. Surprise, surprise. Moving on.

You know when you ask how someone's day is going, and you expect them to do the standard, "Good, yours?" Maybe they're a bold fellow and go as far as to say, "Not that great, but go off, I guess," and you can continue on with the conversation. But there's always that one person that chooses to go on a long-winded monologue of some relationship drama or how they've not had a good sleep for 26 years. There is no in between.

This friend chose the former.

Mind you, I am an empathetic person. I do not mind listening to a person's plights and offering a pat on the back. I do mind dumping your junk on someone because it brings a sick kind of validation. That is called gossip, my friend. He proceeds to go on a wild monologue I will do my best to recreate:

"So there was this girl during first week experience, and she was really cute, and she seemed to like me, so we figured we'd give it a go! She was really nice, and I liked spending time with her. Then classes started, and I got really busy, and it seemed like the only time I spent with her was when she drove me around, 'cause I don't have a car. I didn't want to seem like a gold digger boyfriend, so I suggested we break it off. Well, she went kinda crazy girlfriend on me, so I'm just avoiding her right now."

...

At times, an author must scrape the depths of imagination for a story wild enough to tell a hungry audience. In these moments, the core of an author is truly stretched, and the stories of the future are ten times more powerful.

At other times, God drops a story right into your lap.

Why are you getting a girlfriend on the first three days at a new college? How did you have time to spend with her? Did you think college was going to be easy? Why don't you have a car? Granted, I don't have a car, but granted, I don't need one.

But of course, I keep my mouth shut, because I've never been in a relationship and have no idea what it's like. I just read books on love and marriage and have grown up watching my parents power through the highs and lows of married life. It's hard not to criticize people, because they might not have a positive relationship role model in their life.

Live and learn.

Unless you don't live.

That's when you write.

dating
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.