Humans logo

Unexpected Romance

A Nicholas Sparks experience

By Nathalie ClairPublished 3 years ago 10 min read
2
Unexpected Romance
Photo by yang wewe on Unsplash

After two weeks of texting, occasionally chatting on the phone, some flirting, and a lot of convincing I had finally agreed to go out on a date with TJ. It was something I had never actually intended to let happen. I was enjoying his attention, but I wasn’t in the market to be dating, though I hadn’t been in the market for dating in the traditional sense in a long while. TJ took me by surprise when he approached me. I know how to get a man’s attention when I want it but sitting in Starbucks sipping on a latte and reading a book, I was barely aware of anyone else in there let alone TJ. Yet the moment we started talking I smiled, flirted, turned on the charm almost automatically. To my surprise I gave him my real number, but he still thought my name was Tonya and I really didn’t know if I’d even bother to tell him the truth.

TJ was a decent looking guy. He was definitely above average in the looks department with a hint of sexy. He has a beautiful dark chocolate complexion, short haircut, and a perfectly trimmed goatee. When he approached me in Starbucks, I could see he was very well put together, even for a simple coffee run, but it was his dimpled smile that really caught my attention. That was the real killer for me. That hint of sexy shined through when he smiled big enough for his dimples to make an appearance. They gave him a sexy shy charm, which was probably what prompted me writing down my real number on a clean Starbucks napkin. His only shortcomings at that point were his height, 5’8 just barely taller than me and a little too skinny for my taste. Physically, he was far from my type but perfect at the same time. Perfect because I’d be able to focus on those shortcomings like I always do. Then in a few weeks when things would eventually end, it would be easy, and it wouldn't matter that he constantly made me laugh.

I never let men pick me up from home. We both live in different parts of Brooklyn, but when I told him I work in Williamsburg he suggested we meet at small sushi spot right off the East River. The restaurant was just a few blocks from where I nanny for two young girls. I’d been with the King family for almost two years, and I absolutely adored them and their children.

That evening spring was in full bloom and the weather was beautiful. The sun was shining and the sky was clear, not a cloud in sight. I was running a little late, but I walked casually to meet him, not rushing, not breaking a sweat. Meeting him there was the perfect plan. Firstly, it was a good distance from my home turf. Secondly, I was able to shower and change at the King’s home. Even though I only stayed overnight a couple times a month, I had my own room, making it easy to dress comfy during the day and then switch to something a little fancier for an evening out. I was feeling quite confident in a knee-length black pleated skirt with a tight short-sleeved olive blouse that showed off just a hint of cleavage, small gold hoop earrings and simple black flats. I wore my braids up in a neat bun and kept my makeup minimal and natural as usual. While I had no intention of keeping him around long, I always aimed for a wide-eye-lip-biting type of reaction.

TJ was waiting outside the restaurant, wearing black jeans and a royal blue button-down shirt. He looked good and greeted me with that killer dimpled smile.

“Hi” I said with a smile, giving him a brief hug and taking in the sexy scent of his cologne. I have always been a sucker for a man that knows how to dress and smells nice.

“Hello beautiful, we meet at last,” he said with his smile intact as he looked me up and down and I could see a hint of lust in his eyes.

Yes, that’s the one we were looking for. I try to hide my amusement at his reaction and respond with “Meet again you mean?”

“Yes, you know what I mean. It’s just finally nice to be in your presence once again. You look beautiful by the way.”

Ah turning on the charm so early Mr. TJ. I smiled at the thought. “Why thank you! You’re not so bad yourself.” I gave him a teasing wink.

He opened the door for me, and we stepped in. We stood awkwardly by the entrance, as we tried to find someone to seat us. The inside of the restaurant was quaint, dimly lit, with several booths along the walls and small tables spread throughout the center, all with small candles as centerpieces. The top half of the walls were painted white flowing into a flowery wallpaper on the bottom. There were a handful of people spread out throughout the restaurant, but it was not overcrowded.

I felt myself getting nervous as I looked around, realizing he picked a really romantic setting. I don’t do romance. I’m not that girl anymore. I had only agreed to this date to quench my curiosity. Don’t get caught up, this is not a Nicholas Sparks novel. I reminded myself.

A petite Asian woman in a white blouse and black slacks, asks us if we’d like to be seated inside or outside on the back patio. The twisting in my gut grew deeper at the thought of stepping up that already overly romantic setting to one with a view of the water.

Pull it together Natasha! It’s a first date. Nobody is falling in love on a first date! I scolded myself.

TJ gave me a look that said the decision was mine. I took a deep breath and said, “Outside would be nice.”

She led us through the restaurant, and we were seated at a small table for two towards the edge of the patio area. The outdoor tables all had small electric candles lit and beautiful white lights hung above us. The outdoor area was a nice size and there was only one other couple out there on the other end of the patio. The intimacy, the peace, the ambience, it was all so breath takingly beautiful.

We took our seats and the hostess placed the menu in front of us. She set down two glasses, filled them with water, and let us know that our waitress would be right with us. Then she was gone and we were alone.

“How was your day?” He asked as he takes a sip of water.

“It was good,” I said as I flipped open the menu and my eyes spotted the beverages section right away, bottom of the first page below appetizers. They didn’t have many wine options, leaving me to choose between Chardonnay, Pinot Grigio, Pinot Noir, Merlot, and Sangria.

“The girls were really well behaved today. So, it was a pretty chill easy day,” I smiled as I thought of Makayla and Stella, the four-year old twins who have captured my heart.

“So no shenanigans today?”

I laughed, “Nope no shenanigans on my end. What about you? How was your day? Any shenanigans on your end?” I asked hoping to hear a good story about the patients he takes care of as a RN.

He started telling me about an elderly lady who refused to take her medication and how he had to sweet talk her into taking them for him. I could tell he loved his job by the way he always took what sounded like annoying or stressful situations and turned them into comedy.

Our waitress, another petite Asian lady, came over and asked if we’d like to start with drinks.

“Merlot please,” I said a little too quickly and I hoped my nerves weren’t too obvious. I looked at TJ, trying to keep my expression casual to hide my embarrassment.

“Uh I didn’t actually look at the menu, but a glass of Merlot sounds good. I’ll have the same.”

“And do you know what you want to eat?”

“Not yet,” we say almost in unison.

She disappeared and he continued to tell me about his day. A moment later the waitress returns setting a glass of wine in front of each of us and disappeared again without a word. As I went to pick up my glass, I noticed TJ had raised his slightly. He gives me that sexy dimpled smile and I couldn’t help but to smile back.

“Here’s to a great evening with great company. I look forward to us getting to know each other more… intimately,” His voice is soft and sexy and when he winks at me, butterflies fill my stomach.

“To getting to know each other more… intimately,” I repeat with a wink of my own. We clink our glasses and sip our wine.

“So sir I believe we have a deal.”

“A deal?”

“Yes, you told me you would finally reveal what TJ stands for if we went out on a date.” I give him a lets-have-it look. “And before you tell me to guess for the one hundredths time let me remind you, I’ve played this game and lost enough times. We have a deal sir so spill.” I say trying to keep a straight face to give the impression that I’m serious, but I feel the corners of my mouth twitching.

He burst into a hardy laugh that took him a moment to recover from. Finally, he said, “TJ can stand for two things really. My first and middle name, Trevor Jerome or simply Trevor Jr. It all depends on my mood.”

“Ah I see. Well, I’m glad that mystery is finally solved Mr. Trevor Jerome. Yea I definitely like that one better.”

The conversation continued with us talking about our childhoods as we both finally looked over the menu for what we wanted to eat. We ordered salad, two sushi rolls each, and some vegetable fried rice that we split between us, as well as several more glasses of Merlot.

The food was delicious, the wine even better, and the company had me nearly choking on my food several times. After we finished our meal and he paid the bill, we continued the conversation walking along the boardwalk, looking out into the water. I could feel a twinge of hope growing in my chest and I really wanted him to do something annoying or dumb like pass gas or mention his ex-girlfriend, something to break the damn Nicholas Sparks spell that was this evening. He did none of that. Instead, he pulled me into a soft slow kiss, with soft lips embracing, tongues dancing, and hearts racing. The kiss went from soft and slow to needy and passionate in a matter of moments and lasted for what felt like ages. When we finally parted, I was breathless and almost light-headed. Mr. Trevor Jerome knew how to kiss and the butterflies were back. We were quiet for awhile, standing close, holding hands, looking out into the deep blue of the water and the bright lights of New York City shining from across the river. In that moment, I knew I’d give him a chance. That hopeful girl in her teens and early twenties that believed in love at first sight and happily ever after, was trying desperately to make her way back through years of heartache and pain.

I released a breath. “I have something to tell you.” I whispered.

“Yea?”

“I uh gave you a fake name in Starbucks and I just never corrected you. My name is Natasha, Natasha Kelly.”

He smiled, “Nice to meet you Natasha Kelly. I’m Trevor Jerome Watkins Jr but you can call me TJ.”

love
2

About the Creator

Nathalie Clair

I love a good story, whether it's a book, a movie, a play. I love reading/ watching interesting characters develop & drama unfold. As a writer I create that world. I create that drama. IG: @positivelyhealthyvibes Twitter: NATHALIE_CLAIR1

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.