Humans logo

Undo the Undone

Shaping a new world

By Pauline ParkerPublished 2 years ago 4 min read
Like
Undo the Undone
Photo by Edward Howell on Unsplash

My point of view is heavily criticized and I don't expect to win any awards with this against-the-grain piece, but if nothing else, I'm inspired to write and share and there's not a thing wrong with that!

It's difficult to make real change in a world full of corporations hungry for money, money, money! Especially where humanity is so reliant on the products and services they provide, despite things like child labour involved in the making of products. I strongly believe that we are globally being led by the greed of a few.

Advertisements are everywhere. Telling us what to desire, what to buy, and what to do. Television shows show us how to live, what to think, and how to act. I recognized this many years ago; I cancelled my cell phone, social media accounts, and television services in the past but felt left behind in the world. Where are the days when you could comfortably just go to someone's house and knock on their door with no prior warning needed? Our sense of community has largely dissipated. We believe we have community with social media, but that is a fallacy, leaving many depressed and lonely.

By Paola Chaaya on Unsplash

My vision for a perfect world is actual global unity. World peace. Cliché, I know, but in recent months I'm finding it closer than ever. I'm not talking about blaming a race of folks and trudging on toward corporate monopolies. I'm talking about understanding history and learning from it, collectively - regardless of culture.

The changes in humanity's behaviour has been gradual. To mend it must also be gradual. I believe we have largely passed the worst of it and are underway to undo our faults that have been multi-generational.

I'll be honest, I went to Ottawa last week. I was utterly shocked to learn of what is being shown on the news about it. It is not a racist movement by any stretch of the imagination. I spent five beautiful days in the downtown where I experienced a sense of community the likes of which I have never seen in all my years. People of all races, cultures, and religions came together. It was beautiful, freeing, and an inspiration to my vision of true global unity. Many countries have followed suit in this global effort that is heavily and wrongly ridiculed. (If interested, I recently wrote about my experience in Ottawa in more detail).

Freedom Convoy 2022

The gradual steps to achieving a world free of greed are tedious and very much as much an individual task as it is a collective one. 'Be the change you want to see', as they say. I suppose in writing this, I am taking one of those steps. If I can encourage just one person to dig into history, or to question how we are living our lives and what we are doing with our valuable time alive, then that is just the bee's knees.

I am hopeful we can collectively get back to simpler lives. Where devices are not in our hands all day. It is not fulfilling to our souls. We are hooked. We are damaged, but not beyond repair. We have a lot of work to do, but there is no rush. Any step in the right direction is fantastic. Even if it takes generations to get to a place of true unity. Where we don't blame another race for the problems of the world and begin to understand it's all been the product of greed.

When children have green thumbs that will be quite the milestone. We should all learn to be self-sufficient. When we teach them to respect the earth that sustains us in all ways, that would be a feat worth celebrating. We should all learn to respect mother nature totally. Knowledge is power, and we need to learn lots.

By Elaine Casap on Unsplash

This year, I strive to not only always look for self improvement, but also to strike up conversations to hopefully inspire people around me to step back and take a look at how they are living, and to peel back those layers to find true inner peace and harmony. When enough of us start down this path, we evoke real change. So let's go! There's no right or wrong way as long as you make choices with love and peace in your heart.

love
Like

About the Creator

Pauline Parker

I've always had a knack for writing, but never truly embraced it or stuck with it. These days, however, the magical world of creation with words is calling my name. Here I am, writing for the first time in so many years. Thank you, Vocal!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.