Humans logo

Understanding the meaning of home

HOME' is a four-letter word that everyone uses differently. The idea that I can write an entire piece on such a word is unbelievable, but there is much more to it than we can imagine

By SuccessPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
1

What is home?

HOME' is a four-letter word that everyone uses differently. The idea that I can write an entire piece on such a word is unbelievable, but there is much more to it than we can imagine. Is there anything that you associate with the word "home"?We normally receive the answer you are thinking right now, which is that a home is where you live. Yes, home is often the place in which we live, dwell, or stay. It is a home where you can make many memories with your loved ones.

Often, it is the room that we adore so much; the room that we plastered with posters and picture frames, and that displays our distinctive taste in colors and décor. This is the standard conception of what home is, but I would like to focus my writing on some of the ‘not so talked about' ideas of what home is to us.

Some people also find the idea of home bitter on the tongue

It might be difficult to even consider the idea of 'home' for some as it reminds them of things they would rather not remember. There are those who consider their home a place of chaos and dysfunction. Or perhaps 'home' represents sadness or guilt. Unfortunately, not everyone is able to create great memories inside four walls with the people they care for most.

People can be unconfortable

People can even feel uncomfortable around people they can't stand to look at or talk to in places where they live. What I will say is that those ideas about 'home' need to end. While I was sitting in a family counseling class at UG, one of my lecturers was discussing ethnicity and family therapy. A healthy family is not the same as a normal family, she maintained. This statement is valid since what we deem normal is often determined by our environment and does not equate to a healthy union.

Although I've spoken of the basic ideas of home, I prefer to elaborate a bit more on other ideas of the home being a deep thinker. Home can be someone, for instance. If you are feeling unsafe and distant from someone, home can be an embrace them. In addition to actually living in a house, your home can also be comprised of your family and friends. Home might be viewed differently by some people, and I will agree with them. It is also the sentiment of traditional nomads (those who continue to move around from place to place). In some cases a home is not a physical building or structure, but a feeling that is shared with others.

At the same time as I sat to write, I was also struck with the heartbreaking question of what home means for those who live on the streets?”. Previously, I have observed destitute individuals curling up in cardboard boxes without attachments to call their own.

At that moment, where or with whom are they at home? In addition, those who move from house to house throughout their childhood as well as those who are simply running away from or running to something better; or seeking better opportunities in another country have also been on my mind.

The sentiment regarding the emotional value

The people who own this home share the same sentiment about the emotional value - which is not very different from ours. As far as I am concerned, if one day my parents disappeared, I would no longer have a home, and I would be homeless. The place I belong to is my parents. Those words mean a lot to me when they are used literally.

Regardless of what or who your home is, I hope you hold onto the meaning and feelings of it. It's great that you have somebody or somewhere to turn to when you're feeling unsafe or uncomfortable. Regardless of how we define our homes, they provide us with protection from the outside world. They would never have been referred to as 'home' in any other circumstance.

Even if you are yet to find your ideal home or believe that homes are temporary and your meaning of the word changes throughout your life, that's okay. Regardless of where you call home, I am sure your heart longs to return to it after a long trip or a long day, just as mine longs to return to my parents and our cozy home after a long day. I feel comfortable in them.

love
1

About the Creator

Success

Over five years ago, I began writing. As well as writing, I am a social media marketer. My writing helps me create engaging, entertaining, and informative content.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.