Humans logo

Unconditional Love

By: Christie

By Christie St. VilPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
1

How would you describe unconditional love? Would you say that it is a love that never fades? A love that can’t be broken?

Well…..according to google. “Unconditional love is known as affection without any limitations or love without conditions. “

When people think of unconditional love they automatically think of two people in a relationship. For example, as a teenager, I would say that my idols of unconditional love are Beyoncé and Jay Z or Will Smith and Jada Pinkett-Smith……………. because their love looks so ideal … so perfect. But, as we all know their journey through love was far from perfect. Both couples are still together through infidelity and celebrity scandals. Yet, some people believe that they do not represent unconditional love and others disagree. Too many of my peers have this false narrative of unconditional love. They think unconditional love is between two partners who have an amazing relationship because no one argues and the relationship has no problems. Every relationship has its problems, whether it is between a mother and a father, a mother and a sibling, two partners, etc.

Is that the only form of unconditional love that exists?

Of course not!!

Unconditional love comes in every shape, form, and way. People find love in animals, materialistic items, sport, etc. It's a rare type of love that only a few get to experience. I’ve experienced unconditional love with a heart-shaped locket.

Now, it not what you’re thinking. I get questions about this all the time. Did a significant other get it for you? How can you love a materialistic item? I’m not in love with the price or the brand. I’m not in love with the fact that it’s gold. I love it because of what and who it represents. My mother passed away from cancer when I was six years old. She bought me this locket when she was first diagnosed. My mother bought it so whenever I missed her I could open it and see a picture of the two of us together. r. What I didn’t know was that it was also a goodbye gift. My mother died when I was eight …so she put up an amazing fight with cancer.

This beautiful gold heart-shaped necklace represents an awful time in my life. My mother, my best friend, my guardian have been diagnosed with a life-threatening disease. But, that necklace also represents the love between my mother and me. The photo in the locket was from a mommy and me date. We went on a picnic in the backyard, we played card games and talked about my “boyfriend” at the time. It was a great day! This locket will always remind me of the good and bad days with my mother. It shows me that I will always have my mom. Maybe I don’t have her physically but, I have her spiritually and emotionally. The locket reminds me of my mother’s beauty. Her laughter. Her smile. She gave me the locket to represent our relationship! She gave it to me so that I can remember that she is always with me and that she loves me unconditionally!

So what is unconditional love? It’s a love that is offered freely. It's the type of love that happens naturally. It comes in every shape, way, and form. It's a rare type of love that only a few get to experience. You might be fortunate to have this love with a friend, dog, neighbor, guardian, etc. No matter, where you get this rare type of love ......cherish it. It'll be worth having a memory of that love. I suggest taking a photo, getting a heart-shaped locket, and savoring the moment.

love
1

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.