Humans logo

Two hearts as one

Timely encounter

By Sherry jacksonPublished 2 years ago 6 min read
2

I wore a copper dress with an net veiled hat and a fake fur coat on the train as it slowly pulled into the station.

As I stepped off the train I looked around the platform and saw the most dashing handsome man I had ever seen in marine uniform decorated with many award metals and he was looking directly at me.

The second our eyes met. a warm sensation come over me and something happened as an invisible electrical charge flashed between us.

My aunt came behind and I turn to hug her and when I turned back around the stranger was no where to be seen. A look of disappointment must have shown on my face for my aunt asked if I was ok. I reassured her I was fine. Several of my relatives had arrived earlier for our annual family reunion at my Aunt’s every Christmas After a home cooked dinner of fried chicken mashed potatoes and green beans my aunt and my cousin went for a stroll down a dirt road into the woods next to the house.

We were laughing at funny memories of our youth when a man on horseback came galloping toward up. He stopped sitting gallant on a beautiful horse when he saw us. I immediately recognized him as the stranger from the train platform.

My aunt greeted with a warm smile and while he chatted with her his eye did not move from mine. She introduced him as the nephew of her neighbor who was home on leave and she made it clear with an admirable tone in her voice that he was on leave from the marines.

As he rode away on his horse my aunt mentioned looking at me that he was such a nice man yet everyone wondered why he never wedded.

That evening after we returned my aunt mansion we sat by the fireplace and tall Christmas tree talking and enjoying our time together,

but my mind kept wandering back to the dark mysterious eyes of the stranger, that my aunt had introduced me to as Michael.

For the Christmas Eve dance I wore a gold satin dress, empire style that was edged in dainty white lace on the sleeves and at the bottom of the skirt. My long black hair hair was twisted into a bun.

As I made a special effort to try gracefully come down the stairs of of my aunt’s home to the crowd lingering in the living g room I took my time savoring in the moment. She alway would invited the locals neighborhood who remembered us from our many visits there.

When my eyes gazed at the crowd Michael was standing over at the buffet table.

I saw him gasp when he saw me and his eyes had a look of admiration.

He came across the floor in my direction.

He reached out his hand snd asked me to dance.

When I put my hand in his he bent down and kissed it. Suddenly everything around me became blurred as he put his arms around me and we began to dance my body seem to cling to him.

I fit so perfectly in his arms. When the music stopped he looked down at me and I thought he was going to kiss me. It he didn’t.

I thanked him and walked away still feeling his warm vibration covering me.

That night when I went to bed a feeling of affection began to awaken from derp in my life. Why did I feel this sudden desire for him and wanted to see him again. Just before the break of dawn i dozed off.

At a small cafe a couple of my cousins and I went for lunch. We were laughing and enjoying the moment. My cousins went to the lady’s room snd when Michael appeared st my table and asked if he could join me..

I said yes.

The bags under his eyes even with his composed look let me know that he may not have slept very well either.

He sat next to me and put his hand over mine. He asked me to meet him on the lake tonight. Just being near him made me feeI like I was floating in the air.

We starred at each other in silence for awhile and then I smiled and said okay.

My cousins came back just as he was leaving . I saw them look at each other with a knowing look snd smile at me.

I knew I had seen him before I just couldn’t remember where.

My chiffon purple gown flowed in the crisp gentle wind underneath my warm white fake fur coat. I approached the wooden dock where to my happy surprise was transformed into a romantic restaurant all lit up and with a table for two coveted with white linen lovely China glittering silverware beside a bouquet of sweet smelling flowers and blazing candles.

He hugged me and guided me to a chair.

We ate in silence and let our eyes say what was needed to be said.

The food was so delicious and I had a feeling it was because I was next to him.

Then a man came and began to play the most romantic songs. He got up from the other end of the table and put his hand out to mine

Placing my hand in his I followed him every move clinging to him as though their was no tomorrow.

As we danced he hummed the melody in my ear and when I pulled away and I looked Into his dark mysterious eyes I saw a look of utter devotion and love.

He was about to kiss me but changed his mind. He got I. A small boat beside the dock snd helped me to climb in across from him.

There was a full moon and he watched me as he paddled around the lake. When we docked he came to sat beside me and kissed me passionately . I surrender most eagerly. We stayed until the moon was almost down snd the sun as coming up laughing and Learning about each other.

The next day we meet under a tree in the forest He told me he was being shipped to Europe said he had waited for me all his life and got on his knees and asked me to marry him.

I streamed yes and we kissed a long time.

After the wedding at midnight on New Year’s Eve at his father’s estate

He took me into the drawing room with me holding my long white gown and red roses and just held me as I melted in his arms. I could hear our hearts beating together and I knew I had found my true love and my destiny.

dating
2

About the Creator

Sherry jackson

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.