Humans logo

Twenty Thousand Dollar Little Black Book

Taylor Marie Ballard

By Taylor BallardPublished 3 years ago 7 min read
1
Twenty Thousand Dollar Little Black Book
Photo by rakabtw on Unsplash

“So you’re telling me that all I have to do is read this little black book and you’ll give me $20,000? What’s the catch?”

“You can never speak of what you’ve read, to anyone, ever.”

“See now that, I like. Deal.”

“Just like that?”

“Yeah buddy, just like that. Hand it over.”

—A few hours earlier—

“Taylor! We’re going to miss you so much! Are you sure you can’t stay a few more days...or weeks. Hell a month or two? The bank won’t be the same without you!” My branch manager Tonya exclaims.

Today is the day. I have been working at Sawyer bank for two and a half years now, starting off as a part time teller and charming my way into a banker position. Before then I had been job hopping between different careers since the age of 14, trying to find my niche. First there was fast food, but I mean who’s first job wasn’t? Then I got into selling cell phone services, then selling cars, I was a server once, and also a CNA. All of which were extremely humbling in different ways. But with every single one of those jobs came a time when I would become antsy. I couldn’t focus, I loathed coming into work, and I blamed myself for it. I just knew it wasn’t a right fit, and yet didn’t know why. That was until I started at the bank, or at least so I thought.

Two years at Sawyer bank with my work fam seemed to fly right by, and I had started to settle into the idea of making Finance my life long career when it happened. Slowly, subtly, gradually. There it was again, that antsy feeling. Working at the bank changed so much for me, I had more income, stability, and a work environment filled with customers and coworkers I came to love. However, it just wasn’t enough. So I decided to take some time to really reflect on what could be the root cause of all this. After a few months of unpacking my mental baggage, I realized that I never wanted to work for anyone else. I wanted to be my own boss, an entrepreneur. I loved reading, writing, public speaking, and music, so I decided to become a podcast host, voice actress, and singer/songwriter. Ambitious? Well yes, but I am a woman of major risks. Fast forward six months and here we are, my last day of work. I took some money from my 401k to pay up all my expenses for the next year and was ready to leap. Royal International Productions LLC was officially founded and the beginning of the rest of my life is to begin.

“Now, now everyone. We discussed this. At first I said I would only stay until the end of January, then it was the middle of February, and now here we are. Well past those dates. I love you all, but I made a commitment to myself and I have to stick with it. Plus, I already turned in my resignation letter. But no worries, I’ll come back to visit all the time. I’m only a few towns over. Just you wait, soon you’ll be hearing my voice all over the radio stations!” I say as I hug each one of my coworkers for the last time.

Funny stories and tears of joys are exchanged and before I know it I’m walking out to my car with the few belongings from my desk. My name plate which I’ll place on the desk of my home office aka my spare apartment bedroom, a makeshift faux scarlet bouquet made out of paper flowers and a Sawyer bank water bottle that my work bestie Becca made me for Valentine’s Day, and a manila folder filled with documents I had researched that I would need for my business and printed out during work hours. Sorry Sawyer, my home office doesn’t have a printer yet. I’ve never felt so terrified and alive before this very moment, but something in me is telling me that I am exactly where I’m supposed to be.

“Excuse me, excuse me miss!” I hear a familiar male voice calling from behind me.

I stop loading up my Hyundai Sonata, thinking it’s one of my regular customers wanting to give me a last goodbye, but when I turn around, the face of the man was of someone I did not know. He does however still seem very familiar, maybe I had seen him in town once before. He looks about thirty something and is quite handsome, not runway model handsome, but classic, old fashioned handsome. He’s tall and tan, but a bit racially ambiguous, I couldn’t quite place where he could be from but he had a deep accent. It’s time to stop staring Taylor and find out what he wants.

“Hello yes. Can I help you?” I say in my perfected customer service voice still ready to answer any bank related questions.

“I do hope so. I’m doing a social experiment and I’d like to see if you’d be willing to accept my offer.” Oh boy.

“Is this for youtube or something? What kind of experiment?” I ask, already a little over it but at the same time curious.

Normally I’d quickly pass on statements like these but as it turns out I am officially self employed and don't have any pressing engagements to attend so why not throw him a little bone. I lean back against my now closed driver side rear door and skeptically look past the man for hidden cameras.

“For work actually. I am a content creator. Is that a yes than?” He asks hopefully.

I look him once over again and notice a little black book carefully cupped in both if his hands down in front of his hips. He isn’t giving off any kidnapper vibes so eh what the hell. Have some fun Taylor. Plus honestly, I’ve always loved social experiments. Anything that gets me out of my comfort zone.

“It’s a maybe, what do I have to do?”

“I’d like you to read my book here, from start to finish and I’ll give you $20,000.” He states matter of factly.

Whoa there, 20 g’s? If this is real I could definitely use twenty grand for my business. This seems too good to be true though, or maybe it’s a sign!

“What’s in the book? It’s not some weird sex stuff is it?” He returns my question with a puzzled look of disgust. I’ll take that as a no. “Okayyy, if not what’s it about than?”

“You have to read it, that’s apart of the experiment. Finish the book and the money is yours.”

“So you’re telling me that all I have to do is read this little black book and you’ll give me $20,000? What’s the catch?”

“You can never speak of what you’ve read, to anyone, ever.”

“See now that, I like. Deal.” I say highly amused.

“Just like that?” He looked just as amused, proud even.

“Yeah buddy, just like that. Hand it over.” I hold out my hand. “The way I see it is, I already love reading and that little book won’t even take me a whole night. Worst case scenario I read it and don’t get the cash, best case scenario I learn about whatever conspiracy theory or fan fiction you got in here and earn some cash towards my business. Plus you seem alright enough so I’ll help you out with your job stuff.”

“So be it.” He hands me the book “You must finish it immediately. There, that cafe across the parking lot. Go read it there and when you’re done the cash is yours. But remember, you can’t tell anyone about a single word written in the book.”

“Yeah, yeah I got all that. But how will you know when I’m finished and how will I receive the money?” I look down at the book in my hands. Its high grade leather, black, and severely worn. Dang, how many people have read this book before me? I’ll have to remind myself to wash my hands later, yuck. After noticing that I got no response I look back up to find the man completely gone, out of thin air.

“Great there goes my $20k. What a waste?”

Even still, I find myself curious about what could be in this book so I decide to head on over to Safflower cafe like the man instructed and read the book over some coffee.

“Taylor, you my friend are a fool. Don’t bring this foolish mindset into your business decision making skills or you’ll be right back at the bank before you know it.” I silently scold myself as I take a sip of coffee, delicious.

I look at the cover of the book and notice the date this time, March 2, 2020, today’s date. Strange, this book seems ancient. Now I’m really curious and start reading the first line outloud in a soft whisper.

“This is the truth of what’s to come for 2020 and thereafter.” Creepy, but I keep reading now fully intrigued. The next time I pick my head up the book is complete and my coffee is now iced cold. “What did I just read.....? This can not be real.”

Seconds later I receive a text from Sawyer bank about my account there, $20,000 was deposited. This can not be real. I’m sitting there for a minute trying to process what has or is or has happened. I don’t even know anymore when suddenly I get a call from my sister. I answer.

“Taylor! Taylor....did you hear what’s happening? The virus is here. It’s in New Jersey.”

I look back down at the book in-front of me, now completely blank.

“No....”

The End.

literature
1

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.