Humans logo

Tube Stream Trophy

Filter

By The Fashion Design Academy CompanyPublished 4 years ago 4 min read
1

Suppose I said that under one of the three shells on this table

there was a hidden ball tha t you will be given only one chance to

find. Would you try to guess where the ball is hidden to win

a special prize?

Looking back at the experience of being drawn into playing

the classic cup and ball game with my brothers reminded me

that Stephen King knew what he was talking about when

he said "the truth of the innocent is the liars most useful tool".

Although the images and details of what was said are hazy,

the feelings that remained are as clear today as when they

first changed me. Distant storm clouds of suspicion and doubt,

that at first seemed harmless, began forming.

The thought of being left outside the winner's circle wasn't a place

I ever wanted to be. I made up my mind, then and there, that no one

would ever make a fool out of me.

My plan was simple and thorough. I was committed to making sure

no one would be able to outsmart, outperform, or outlast my

abilities no matter how much time or personal sacrifice I needed to make.

As far as I was concerned, King Arthur had returned to his throne in

Camelot and I had chosen myself to play his role.

No scripted lines needed, the strategy I had was bullet proof unless I got

lost trying to figure out where all the verified concrete evidence would come

from.

Judging from the ridicule I endured playing a child's game there was no way

in hell I was going to believe or trust anything at face value ever again.

My quest was on. King Arthur mounted on Llamrei had heard the bugle

sound.

I felt like it took forever, but; I finally decided the logical place to start

discovering reliable information was to study History. Isn't that the subject

most people find the most boring in school? My mind was made up.

No more excuses.

History has so many facets and details that are subject to interpretation.

It seemed like a good idea to trace something back to its point of origin

where the probability of discovering why, where, when, who, and how

it was brought into existence was at its peak.

On a field trip our school took we listened to a presentation on socio-cultural

anthropology. We learned that many of our current habits originated

from Darwin's time. My theory to dig up bones on the History Channel

was looking like it was going to pay off.

Surfing the web in search of the fountain of knowledge I struck gold.

Somehow, I had found a video sharing site that allows users to

upload, view, share and subscribe to 31 million streaming videos on

an infinite range of subjects 24 hours-a-day.

As I focused carefully on establishing the exact location where the heavens

met Earth it felt natural to follow the path of least resistance.

Somehow, without realizing it, the suggestion tabs that appeared had a

siren call effect on me.

At first the tempting pop-up windows felt spooky and distracting like

hearing voices coming from under my bed after being tucked in trying to

fall asleep in the dark. The fact that they could anticipate and recommend

more and more options for me to discover was a two-edged sword.

I had to make a one-man split decision to finish what I started or give in

to the temptation that better things were waiting for me on the next clip.

Time had no boundaries when I spent time on YouTube. After starting

early I would find my eyes glued to the screen for hours, even days, without

noticing the vortex of curiosity had invisibly captured and chained me,

telling me not to turn away from the screen or all the knowledge I was

determined to find would be turned to stone that would instantly be crushed

into dust and be blown into a black hole for all eternity.

Mission accomplished. Mobile fountain of infinite wisdom found.

Although I would like to fulfill the challenge of endorsing the channel

of one YouTuber for the relevance and impact they have had on me,

my nomination is being cast for the YouTube Streaming Video Platform

as an entire visionary creative mentality.

From the day I discovered the wealth of information, advice, education,

entertainment, creativity and diversity of ideas on YouTube my world

grew from being a thirsty puddle to an ocean of creative opportunity and

expression.

I feel that I can explore and trust the good intentions of people all over the

world to offer their best skills and talents because they love what they do.

The sense of community and comradery resonates with my own purpose in a

way that no other platform provides. I'm truly grateful for the wealth and

unlimited choice of personal development options I have received from

YouTube. I'm a subscriber for life.

Film + Music Art: https://www.youtube.com/

humanity
1

About the Creator

The Fashion Design Academy Company

See it...hear it...feel the breath of life

From its silence softly whispers

See me in your dreams and secret visions endlessly through the night

In quiet desperation I await your gentle embrace wishing and hoping you can unlock me...

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.