Humans logo

Train Wreck

My Celebrity Crush

By Catia RotolonePublished 4 years ago 4 min read
Like

Anyone that knows me, knows I don't do celebrity crushes. It has to do with my nature I am a Capricorn to the core, and I have my feet firmly planted in reality and as a perfectionist, doing a "Pretty Woman" with a half pike "Cinderella" is like asking Kim Possible to achieve the impossible in real time with a head like a smashed crab and minus fiscal lubrication nor opportunity, the equation is un-attainable in Corn's book of pop love or is it popcorn in my book of love? The struggle is real sisters and brothers, why add unrequited love and its angst into the pressure cooker?

All of that changed in 2003 when I heard a song "Calling All Angels" by Train, how can this group of Artists know the story of my life, song after song one more relevant than the next?

As things grew dark and grim in my life, I found it difficult to keep going, so I hid my hope in the light of their lyrics, and I went to ground to lick my wounds and heal as Trains music restored my soul and Patrick Monahan became my shining light, he seems so down to Earth and touchable not in a perverse kind of way, unlike so many others.

I've been playing this multi-dimensional game with the Universe since, well, forever and there are messages and keys in the notes of music and in the lyrics of our favourite songs, the more awareness I attain, the faster the synchronisations align in wild ways. I decided to put my heart, mind and soul into the Universes care in order to find my soul mate, what could go wrong, right?

I rationalised in the past that letting my heart choose was my mistake cussed my brain, so we decided to let heart and brain team up, the idiots savants were hopeless. In 2012, I did a leap of faith whilst sitting in traffic when "Calling all Angels" came onto the radio at the lights a semi-trailer in billboard sized letters that read ANGELS does a U turn in front of me at the traffic lights was the confirmation I needed after the two years in a long distance relationship, this is the sign I was waiting for.

From the southern hemisphere, Australia to the northern hemisphere and landed in a "Drive By" to Santa Rosa, California. Our relationship had a game show connection and our love went viral and then came the downward spiral, Sir Lancelot, liked to used his lance a lot, around the global community and his love wasn't true. How it all unfurled was uncanny Sir Lancelot was nagging me for a commitment and the fastest way to placate him was by sending him a direct relationship status update which he accepted and put this cat amongst the pigeons nothing like an unavailable man to make a man appear more appealing to some people. Home from an arduous day at work, I am scrolling Facebook comments as you do, when Miss India posts a picture of her and Sir Lancelot in San Francisco to a post on my page and hes wearing a shirt I bought for him on the last visit that was as good as time stamping the betrayal.

The betrayal annihilated me. Never again, I shook my fist at the heavens so I ended my search. Exactly 3 years and one week later, that's when He found me in a game of "Words with Friends" I'd fallen out of love with life and everything, and like a magician he gently took my hand and my damaged soul and he pulled me back from edge every so slowly we became more than friends, in a slow dance that began as friends with a question game we invented and played to get to know each other and the deep end.

Recently I joked that the only real threat to our fiendship was if we are in LA and I got to met my celebrity crush, Patrick Monahan and his response stopped me in my tracks. He said to my statement that I could lick Patrick's chin scar if I get the opportunity, my beautiful man candy is a musician, actor and writer and now my newest celebrity crush my Rock & Roll Jesus did a Lazarus on me, and took my celebrity crush on the chin. In that moment my search ended in Los Angeles, Universe just ahem-ed me "Calling all Angels", Angels on the semi-trailer, Los Angeles, two lost angels once were lost but now are found and maybe just maybe if I win this contest I might get to meet my celebrity crush for the first time funny isn't it, sometimes the Universe takes away only to give you something so much better.

love
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.