Humans logo

Toke Makinwa Talks Turning 40, Reveals Funny Advice She Got From D'Banj About It

Toke talks nerves around turning 40

By Jide OkonjoPublished 7 days ago 3 min read

Nigerian media personality and self proclaimed 'baby girl for life' Toke Makinwa is turning 40 this year, and like many people turning 40, the big age is bringing some big nerves. Speaking on her latest episode of Toke Moments, Toke Makinwa opened up about her nerves around turning 40, and also spoke about what D'Banj said to her about it. In the same interview, presenter IK Osakioduwa also gave her some words of encouragement as a person in the same field who is also already in his 40s now. Here's what they both said.

**Before reading on, please make sure to sign up for my newsletter below so you don't miss out on any new and interesting lists, articles, and stories that I post every single day. At the end of each week, I'll compile all the best stories from the week and send them right to your inbox. Sign up now so you always get alerted!

Speaking about her nerves around turning 40 and what D'Banj said to her, Toke Makinwa said:

TOKE MAKINWA: I'm turning a very big age this year and I'm so nervous. I am so nervous. At first, I started the year with saying I didn't want to do anything. D'Banj, I'm going to call him out. D'Banj called me and said "Don't do birthday o! You know this industry. Did I do my birthday? Did Don Jazzy do his birthday? Who shouted when they were 40? Don't do any birthday o! They will retire you." I was like "Dapo, what do you mean?" [laughs].

When I fill forms these days, you know when we were so excited to fill between 18 and 25, we tick fast. Between like 25 and 35, you tick. After 35, it's like is this answer required?

Responding to her and assuaging her fears about getting older, IK Osakioduwa spoke to her saying:

IK OSAKIODUWA: Thou shall not be nervous. I am 45, I just turned 45. And I'm still doing this thing. They can't retire you. I won't lie to you, there is that stage you get to where you feel like if I tell them my age, won't people feel I'm too old for this? But I've started to transition to a space where I'm just no longer a presenter, but a platform for presenters because I want to be able to create other means. I want to be able to sit down and look and count not how many awards or trophies I have on shelves, but I want to be able to look at the lives of people I've changed because our paths crossed.

What do you think of what Toke and IK said?

Thanks for diving into this story with me! Btw, every time you read, support, and share my work, it fuels my hunger to keep bringing you the latest news on your favorite Nigerian celebrities, movies, music and more. Your thoughts also matter to me, so please share them in the comments below, or on my Jide Okonjo Facebook post. Let's keep the conversation going and I can't wait to see your thoughts on this.

That's All.

I hope you’ve had fun. Don’t forget to subscribe to my newsletter if you don’t already for more stories like this - collated every week and sent right to your inbox so you don't miss out on anything.

Btw, in addition to blogging, I also make money through Whatsapp Status Sessions. If you also want to earn money through status sessions, I've created a complete guide to help you get started so we can all eat! Download it here.

To catch up on other content you might have missed, click here.

Until next time, have a wonderful rest of your day

celebrities

About the Creator

Jide Okonjo

I have ONE account and MANY interests. My page is a creative hodgepodge of:

🇳🇬 Nigerian news stories for my dedicated Nigerian readers.

🎥 Movie and music recommendations, listicles, and critiques

📀 Op-eds, editorial features, fiction

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

  • Dr. Jason Benskin7 days ago

    D'Banj's humorous yet wise advice about enjoying the journey and not being overly concerned with age is a reminder that life is about making the most of every moment. It's heartwarming to see how Toke balances her vibrant career with personal growth, continually reinventing herself and setting a positive example. Thank you for sharing this wonderful piece. It’s a beautiful reminder that age is just a number, and what truly matters is how we live our lives and inspire those around us. Here’s to many more years of success and happiness for Toke!

Jide OkonjoWritten by Jide Okonjo

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.