Humans logo

Toe Head

GoldyLox Rocks

By daphne jonesPublished 3 years ago 4 min read
5
Toe-Head

It may surprise one to know that the color that has shaped my entire personality, lifestyle, & life is Toe-Head. However, I may not be surprised much at all to know yall didn't know the two word hyphanated phrase, nor that it is indeed a color. Well, it is indeed a specific hair color and it has influenced the entirety of my life. Toe-Head : the lightest of platinum blondes & usually associated with children, a white-headed youth. Now yall wont find that definition in a dictionary, and for readers under 35, thats not on wikipedia or google. Yet. Thats my definition based on a lifetime of experience.

Life as a Toe-Head is uniquely challenging in the Ozarks. I rekon it would be elsewheres as well. If they exist elsewheres that is. Its hard sayin, not knowin. But like i said, it has its own unique challenges in the Ozarks, and i have experienced them all first hand.

For one, it is possible and probable for a toe-head to have their scalp sun-burn. It is not probable nor possible to find a suitable sunblock for the area. Sunblock in general is a toe-head challenge. While the other kids are already jumping off the banks and into the river, the toe-head child is still rubbing down in the invisible armor of SPF.

Then there are the wide variety of skin irritants that grow wild in the Ozarks. For a Toe-Head even the grass seams to cause a rash. I once accuired an undiagnosable rash from an unseen assailant that flew into the car window, landed on my thigh, exploded, and then decentegrated before i could see what it had been. The rash was instant, the recovery took months of creams and benadryl to heal.

Childhood as a Toe-Head was indeed challenging. And then i grew up, beautiful. Decades of teasing, being called an albino, never ever being able to blend in with a crowd, and then one day my accursed white hair became my CROWN. Thats right, what was once the bane of my existence became my most valued asset. I was more surprised than anyone else to learn I am considered beautiful, and it is mostly due to this now a pale yellow hair of mine. Ive never been much on beauty and fashion, and due to a combination of laziness and lack of talent i decided to let my hair grow long. My decision was based on the idea that all i would ever have to do is wash, condition, brush, ponytail holder, and Tah-Dah hair is done. I had no idea that decision would change my life and how the world seen me.

With long platinum hair to my waste i was no longer the red-faced, Toe-Head girl. As a young lady with gorgeous hair, my entire identity changed. I had become GoldyLox, and she ROCKS! GoldyLox is beautiful, confident, charming, and poised. GoldyLox is everything the Toe-Head child dreamed of becoming one day. As GoldyLox the insecurities of my childhood were disapaited. However, new unexpected challenges would eventually arise.

I had no idea that due to the color of my hair my intelligence would always be in question. "Dumb Blonde," are words that set my soul on fire. I absolutely hate to hear a "Blonde joke," and all too often i have repeated the sentence, "Don't let the blonde hair fool ya, I'm smarter than I look." I have even experienced the need to file complaint with the human resources department of my employeer for discrimination, due to being called, "Dumb Blonde," by a supervisor. This too has become a blessing though, it has given me a better understanding of discrimination based soley on appearance than i would not have gained as a brunette.

What i thought of as a cruel curse in childhood eventually became one of my greatest blessings. I am still in need of sunblock for my scalp, that in 40+ years i am yet to find, so i wear a hat. I still have sensitive skin and an ability to aquire a rash from seemingly nothing. To this day i am yet to blend in with a crowd. Honestly, i wouldn't want it any other way. There are most certainly benefits to always standing out in the crowd, and having a look thats unforgettable has its own rewards too. So I have learned to embrace the inner Toe-Head child, and to love my now golden hair.

I have always hated being called Blondie, I knew there had to be an alternative. Then one day a buddy got an ear full of my personal complaints for referring to me as such, to which he replied, "Excuse me Goldy Locks." I was not sure why but this nickname immediately felt better, sounded better. So I read the children's story, and adopted her name as my empowering identity as a blonde in a brunette's world. I am GoldyLox. I will not answer to Blondie. Infact when someone mistakenly refers to me as Blondie, i quickly correct them. Blondie stays with that idiot Dagwood. GoldyLox messed with 3 Bears and survived, thats my kinda girl. Thats why GoldyLox ROCKS!

humanity
5

About the Creator

daphne jones

I am Daphne Jones, the dangerous one, the devious dame. I am so much more than meets the eye. So don't let the blonde hair fool ya, I'm smarter than i look.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.