Humans logo

To the Woman who inspires me..

Women who Inspire

By Sarah HallowsPublished 4 years ago 3 min read
Like
Sarah (L) and Tia (R) - Sarah’s 27th Birthday 2019

Most people say they have been inspired by Women of History like Rosa Parks, Emmeline Pankhurst or Emily Davison. Some may say that Women closer to home have inspired them like their Grandma’s, Mothers, Sisters & Auntie’s. Perhaps for some it is a complete stranger, or the postie or their neighbour two doors down!

We all have reasons why these women/people inspire us and it isn’t usually shouted about because it’s not recognised enough. There isn’t a notified day of celebration, there’s Mother’s Day, Father’s Day, but there’s no Inspirational Women’s Day - so there just isn’t a platform for us to denote a day showering these women with Cards, Chocolates and flowers. Instead, we do it with words and actions - hugs, blog posts, little gift hampers, doing something kind for them and we do it whenever we can. But I think they deserve a Nationally recognised day!

Whilst I do gather inspiration from lots of people and in lots of different ways. I do have a friend who has always inspired me. I am fortunate enough to have been friends with her for 20 something years and despite both is us leading different and busy lives, we still find the time to text and connect.

Tia (the girl on the right in the picture) has always been a fantastic friend and a lovely person. She has a great sense of humour and is wise beyond her years - I may be the eldest but Tia is often dishing me out advice as if it were second nature, and 99% of the time, she’s spot on!

She is a fantastic Mother to her son, a wonderful Wife, a delightful Daughter and a supportive Sister. Tia, is the first person to lend a hand to someone in need, and more recently has shown how thoughtful and kind hearted she is by making a Community Support group for her local area for those residents who are among the vulnerable who must self isolate for 12 weeks and as a result cannot go shopping or pick up medicines. Tia joined forces with another resident from her local area and they both help run this community group with an enormous volunteer base - for someone who is in her early 20’s I think this shows just how inspirational and selfless she is as a person.

Tia amazes me every day, and I count myself so fortunate to have her as one of my closest friends. She has supported me through the good, the bad and the ugly and has always picked me up when I was feeling down. I’m lucky enough to be Silly Auntie Sarah to her son, who is growing up to be just like his Mother - kind, caring, cheeky and full of life.

Tia is one tough cookie, her strength is one of her most admirable qualities. Something I am sure she will undoubtedly pass on to her son. She has faced many things which could have broken her spirit, but I’ve only seen her come back stronger and fighting harder than before.

I know she knows this, at least I hope she does, but I am so incredibly proud of the person, of the friend, of the Mother and of the Wife she has become and I honestly can’t wait to make more memories together, to watch her son grow and to see her continue to blossom and grow.

Tia - thank you for always inspiring me to be better, thank you for always supporting me and advising me. Thank you for countless glasses of Prosecco and endless laughter and thank you for always being there and for being such a close and one of my best friends. I most definitely struck gold when I found you and I look forward to another two decades of friendship making a tonne more memories with you and any further little ones which might come along the way!

♥️

friendship
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.