Humans logo

To Overcome An Opponent Begins With A Smile

To overcome an opponent begins with a smile

By santa jedPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
Like

I've been in a bad mood for a while, and I can't help but bring it to work.

One day, my boss assigned me a task that was not related to my job function. I refused to do it in front of my colleagues, saying that I had no time and that I should not be given such a job in the future.

This made the boss lose face, but at that time he did not say anything, not only did not have any unhappy expression on his face, but very frankly smiled at me. I walked unnaturally out of his office.

The next morning when I went to work, I found a bunch of flowers inserted in glass bottles on my desk, small buds hidden in the green leaves, like a wisp of sunshine leaking out from the haze, let people's eyes for one of the bright.

Whenever I am tired of work, I observe this bouquet closely, and my mood slowly becomes clear, no longer impatient, no longer depressed.

When I asked my colleagues who planted the flowers, they all said they didn't know, which made my heart warm. Maybe the work pressure is a little big, individual colleagues sometimes also have a dispute with the boss, quarrel, make the working atmosphere is very dull.

But I've found that if a coworker has a bad day with their boss, they end up with a bunch of flowers on their desk the next day. In a few days, all the bad things that happened in the office disappeared, everyone was engaged and the results were clear.

Looking at the flowers blooming day by day, I am grateful. After a long time, I realized my fault and took the initiative to send a short message to my boss, asking him to forgive my impulsivity and youthful exuberance.

He gave me back a message: angry is and their hard to pass, angry before you go to the bathroom to stare at the mirror smile for a minute, and then come to me angry, I can forgive anything. I feel ashamed of my boss's magnanimity.

From then on, whenever there is a misunderstanding or argument with people around me at work or in life, even if they are wrong and I am right, I will not argue with them and make myself smile all the time. Then watching their faces turn red because they are eager to defend themselves, I will remind them: Please keep smiling. Let's face each other and see who can smile the longest without making a sound.

As a result, the wrong or faulty party speaks first and doesn't smile as long as I do. In the end we made up.

This reminds me of an anecdote about American President Abraham Lincoln. When he captured the enemy in a battle, his subordinates demanded severe punishment for the enemy, but Lincoln did not agree. He not only exempted the enemy from all crimes, but treated the enemy as one of his own.

Some subordinates ask indissolubably: they are the enemy, destroy the enemy is the best way to punish severely. Lincoln smiled and said, "You are wrong. Even our enemies have become our friends. What can we not defeat?"

The wisdom of a strategist is not in his tactics, but in some small things. Combined with their previous mistakes, I understand what is really brilliant, I admire my boss more and more to embellish things silently indoctrination.

If you can't change the mistakes of others, then we first change what we can change, for example, starting from a smile, although smile is sometimes very insignificant, but it is like the water droplets through the stone, the ant nest of the levee, one day will breakdown the stone, so that the levee collapse.

To do things, a fight strength, two fight wisdom, if strength, wisdom is not enough to overcome the opponent, then we start from the smile......

celebrities
Like

About the Creator

santa jed

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.