Humans logo

To my dearest friend

by Merhawi Kidane Gebregiorgis

By Merhawi Kidane GebregiorgisPublished 4 years ago 3 min read
Like
To my dearest friend
Photo by Priscilla Du Preez on Unsplash

Dear friend,

This letter is where I am expressing what I genuinely feel about you. I have known you for 14 months, and in that time I have been amazed by you. My trust for you started the day I met you. I connected with you in so many different ways. I am glad that I know you and the chance of meeting you.

I have no concept of time whatsoever. I would not remember anyone's birthday or graduation or other important events because that's the type of person I am. I might not be your best friend but know this: I am going to be there for you if you ever need a friend. That will be the first thing I'd like you to see after you read this.

We both are living in a world where you can't trust anyone anymore. You are not that kind of a person. From all the conversation we had and those times we met, I realised that you have a beautiful soul and you have a good heart. It has been about a year since we saw each other. At the time, I got scared because I thought I was going to lose a friend that I was getting to know, and I was connecting with. What is fantastic is that we both have been in touch ever since. Also, I messaged you before even meeting you.

I want to thank you for being a friend that no-one can ever be. I am saying this because no-one wants to have a permanent friend in their life. It is mainly because there is no trust or loyalty between two people or more. I have friends, but I did not connect with them the way I connected with you when we first met. I never had the chance to spend a day with you due to circumstances, and it was hard to get time to meet each other.

I also want to thank you for accepting the person I am. I am confident, but even I have a few weaknesses. I like your personality because you are not a judgemental person. I like your honesty. The great thing about you is that you focus on yourself and worry about others later. I worry about you when I don't hear from you because I don't want to lose you as a friend. Lately, I focused on myself, who I met and the things I have done in the past three years. You are one of those people I can call a friend without any hesitation.

During this quarantine, I rewatched a TV show called Prison Break. The one thing I love about this show is that two strangers become friends very quickly. They have been loyal to one another, and their relationship grew during the show. This show reminded me to have faith and hope in life. Without these two qualities, I wouldn't be able to define the life I have. The show reminds me to have faith in someone and hope that my relationship with this person is as honest and faithful as it can be. I instantly thought of you because I always believed you were distinctive from others, and we bonded over some similarities.

To make this short, I want to tell you that the one right decision I made in the past 2 to 3 years is knowing you. I like the person that you are, and I don't want you to change because you are a really smart and intelligent woman with the gold of heart. If you think you hit trouble, all you have to do is let me know because I am going to be there for you.

Your dearest friend

friendship
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.