Humans logo

To My Bestie

A Friend to be Treasured

By Charmaine van der MerwePublished 4 years ago 3 min read
Like
Image by Seth Doyle

10 Stubby Street

Down Under

13 September 2020

Cupboard under the Stairs

4 Privet Drive

Potterville

Dear Friend,

To The Best Friend, I Could Ever Have Asked For

I hope that you and the family are doing well during this time. Things have been rather rough everywhere in the world, trusting that you have managed to stay safe.

We are all doing well and things are slowly starting to improve.

It feels like a lifetime since we last saw each other and I am missing you terribly.

Whilst I could have sent you a text or an email I felt that this would be more personal written as a traditional letter.

You are reading this letter as I would like to express how thankful I am to have you in my life.

I know that this is something that I may never have told you before but it’s about time I do.

I need to let you know just how much I truly appreciate every moment we have spent together.

All the coffees we shared over a chat, some days with laughter and some with tears.

Image by Andrew Peterson

I would like to take the time to let you know how much you have influenced me in all I do on a daily basis.

You are someone that I look up to with such admiration.

You are the most unselfish, caring and non-judgmental friend I have ever had, and our years together have made our relationship grow that much stronger.

The thought of being without you is not something I could ever imagine.

I have had many friends in my lifetime that have come and gone, and yet you have been by my side through thick and thin, through marriages and divorce.

You have stood by and helped me raise my four beautiful children and taught them to be respectful and kind.

Thank you for being at every birthday party, Christmas and the birth of my children.

I don’t think that words could ever express how much I love you and know how much you have put into our relationship from the day we first met and still today.

I could never have imagined being so lucky to have had you around.

In a way, I don’t think that I tell you enough how much it means to me as well as how much you mean to me.

Mom, you are my rock, without you, I could never have become the person I am today.

I see you as not only my mother but my best friend whom I cherish so dearly.

You have protected me when I needed it most, and you have shown me the way when I was slightly lost.

I am so proud and privileged to have you in my life, and whilst we are apart by distance currently you are never far from my heart.

You have accepted me as I am with all my faults and flaws, watched me make some really stupid mistakes but yet every time you have been there to catch me when I fall and pick me right back up.

I miss our time together but love that we can still communicate via social platforms and facetime.

Thank you for all that you have done for me truly from the bottom of my heart, you will always remain a part of my life and my best friend.

I hope that one day my kids will see me as a best friend just as you have been to me, as I know how much I have cherished our friendship.

Also, I have had the best teacher in the world.

I love you with all my heart, to the moon and back.

Big hugs and kisses,

Your best friend and Daughter

Charmaine

family
Like

About the Creator

Charmaine van der Merwe

I am a mother of 4, and soon to be a grandmother. Family is very important to me. I love sharing my life experiences with everyone, its a way for me to express myself.

I don't have a specific niche' and write about whatever is on my mind.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.