Humans logo

To Chug or Not to Chug

A Love Story

By Marty KPublished 6 years ago 3 min read
Like

In 2003, online dating was not a very big thing, nor was mobile data plans. T-Mobile had a service on their data. There were no pictures, just some instant messaging, games, and connections. Through this wondrous doorway, I met and started chatting with a girl from a small town near where I lived. We had many things in common and enjoyed chatting late into the night. This went on for 3 months.

Our face to face meeting was at a local IHOP. Of course, I was nervous and she must have been as well because she was bringing a friend with her. After walking in the door, I saw a table with two girls sitting at it and my eye immediately drew to one of them. She wore glasses and had a red pixie haircut. As I sat down and introduced myself, I found out that the one who I was attracted to was the friend. I felt bad, but made the best of it and enjoyed their company for a couple of hours.

A couple of weeks later the girl I had been talking to decided to go back to her ex, but told me her friend was interested in me, and I was in her. So we setup a group get together at a local bar where she could bring her friends and I mine, that way we would both be comfortable. The bar was a nice little place which had cheap beer on certain nights to help bring in the local college crowd.

I came in to see her finishing her first beer, and I got my beer and tried the normal awkward small talk as we sat or stood around tables with our friend’s at them. I was so nervous that I got through my first beer pretty quickly. It just so happened to be at the same time she had finished her second, so I knew what to say to break the ice.

Very nervously, I said, “Make sure I never have a chugging contest with you,” knowing that was an opening to the challenge. I returned to our tables and of course, she challenged me. Our friends all were rooting us on. She was able to down her beer within seconds, where I took about a minute. Everyone laughed at how I had no chance at all. We all sort of laughed and she walked back to get another beer. One of my friends asked if I was feeling ok as I looked a bit sick, then told me to go get some air.

I bolted for the door and walked down a few doors to the relative secrecy of a shoe store doorway. They were closed for the night and I was pretty well hidden from everyone else as I slowly belched space into my stomach. I turned around to walk a bit when Sarah stood right in front of me. She offered me a cigarette. I responded with, “Never touched the things.” While holding back the burps and feeling my stomach fight back.

“Oh, it is a bad habit,” she said, “I’m really glad you broke the ice first cause I was so nervous. I have never—" I cut her off with a wave of my hand and took two steps away from her, turned and expelled 2 beers and some partially digested potato salad in front of the shoe store doorway. I turned back and she was, of course, no longer there. I no longer had anything to throw up, but the urge to increased knowing that I had just done it in front of her.

After a few moments of breathing, I walked back into the bar to some chuckles at my expense. Fast forward almost 14 years, and Sarah and I are married and have 3 kids and still laugh at the remembrance of that night.

#MyWorstDate

humor
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.