Humans logo

To All the Unapologetic Queens In My Life: Thank You

True Friendship is Vibe Changing

By Ann Marie Published 4 years ago 3 min read
Like

True friendship is vibe changing.

I am 38 years old and have had different friends at different stages in life.

Each chapter of my life, and each version of myself has required a different kind of posse and support.

It is honestly too difficult to say who has inspired me the most.

I have always been a creative person who tested boundaries and social norms. Today, I am a full-time writer who travels relentlessly. But the journey to self realization has not always been so cut and dry.

Throughout the adventures of this life, I’ve had some incredible highs and some devestating lows, but all the way through it, I have been beyond blessed with a cheering squad of incredible women.

There is my mom who raised three kids on her own. She prioritized our health (physical and mental) as well as our education, over anything else.

Even though we might not have had the fanciest of snacks in our lunches, our homework was done, we were well-groomed, and most of all, we felt loved and cherished.

Along with showing me care, my mama made space for my voice and emotions.

I remember being 14 and telling her I was in love with someone in my class.

She didn’t laugh or minimize how I felt because I was a kid.

She said, ‘Love is love, no matter what age you are.’

And that was that. I felt validated and heard.

Those powerful words have stuck with me my entire life.

My mom showed me that the inner world of my emotions mattered, and she allowed room for them to change and grow without judgement.

Then, there is my friend, Audrey. She has lost more people in her life than anyone I know.

Her experiences with loss could have weathered the hardest of souls into giving up. But not Audrey. She radiates warmth and compassion.

She is the first person I talk to when something great or terrible happens.

Audrey is truly like a sister, and her courage to embrace life as it comes with grace and a good cry (or laugh) has taught me to focus on blessings.

There is also my friend Annie. She is a warrior in a gorgeous goddess exterior. She lives abroad writing and teaching yoga.

She has big opinions and ideas.

She writes articles that might make you angry because it pushes your buttons, but her words will always leave you thinking.

Her courage to live unapologetically inspires me everyday.

And then, there is my sister who at four, gave me her ice cream cone when mine dropped on the sidewalk.

She has always had a heart of gold and a bigger sense of empathy than anyone I have ever met.

Today, she is working the front lines as a nurse downtown.

She goes into her shifts with an optimism and a generosity of spirit that could warm any room.

I’m not going to lie. When my sister told me she is working as a nurse for Covid response, I was mad as hell.

To be honest, I was scared as hell.

‘Why is her life any less important than anyone else’s?’ I thought.

But she calmly explained that this crucial work is what she wants to do. And that she feels protected and safe.

I heard the passion and determination in her voice, and I knew her decision was made.

More than anything, I respect my sister’s choice to do what she feels is right for her.

The woman is a stubborn Taurus, and our world is better for it.

To all the women in my life (and to all the women I am still yet to meet) you are Queens.

Know that every smile you share, every hard decision you make, and every child you raise, your presence matters.

Your contribution is simply your existence, and it is priceless.

Thank you for being you. And before you start your day, remember:

We all know now, we all got crowns.

~Taylor Swift

friendship
Like

About the Creator

Ann Marie

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.