Humans logo

Tips on How to Make Your Long-Distance Relationship Work

All relationships work if you put in the effort.

By CharlenePublished 2 years ago 4 min read
Like
Photo By: Pixabay on Pexels.com

First, let me just say that all relationships, "work" if you put the work in. I mean, I had never imagined being in a long-distance relationship. Then one day I find myself signing up for a dating site just for fun, and about a week later I received a GIF message from someone. It was of actress Anna Kendrick waving hello. I would say that was an interesting greeting on top of a great way to immediately grab my attention.

I have a thing for different. Different tells me you are interesting, but not just an ordinary, "why is the sky blue…" kind of interesting but a, "are all skies, in all universes also blue…" Yes, I like to dig deep into ordinary in hopes of finding extraordinary. 

We communicated through text for about a couple of weeks until we went on our first date. We lived two hours away from each other. Now, I know what you are thinking two hours is not really considered, "long distance." Here is my take on that.

A long-distance relationship is having any unwanted space in between you and the person you love - yup, we fell in love. We spoke every single day through text, and when the evenings were not too busy, we would video chat for a couple of hours before bed. 

That was the easy part. The hard part was meeting up every weekend only to say goodbye until the next weekend. Only to go through another full week without the physical touch and physical warmth of the one you love.

So, you ask, do long distance relationships work? And my answer to you is ABSOLUTELY! Sure, it will not be easy. But like any relationship there's hardships, there's rules. Like anything you would like to maintain, there's rules. Now I am not saying you must make it a job. But if it were to be labeled as a "job" be sure to make it a job you love. One you are happy to keep. Work that comes naturally. Work, that the only sweat you break is from working those cheekbones with the constant smiling you do when you are together or even apart. 

Be mindful, do not automatically assume they are having a good day, send sweet messages to confirm it. Or become the reason for it.

Always be present.

One of the hardest things with long distance relationships is when you find yourself unable to be there physically to comfort the one you love at any given time due to distance. Sure, two hours is manageable, and it is not impossible. But when we have full time jobs and hell traffic in between that adds on another hour or two it makes it impossible to see each other during the week. 

So be sure to be completely present, while together and apart. Be consistent, "good morning" and "good night" messages are a real thing. If you start them, then continue them.

Granted we all get caught up with life at one point or another, but the main rule is to never forget what is important. Be honest, if you are busy then say you are busy. Going ghost for hours on end with no real explanation only adds strain to the already tough circumstances. 

Communication is key, always make sure to share your feelings with your partner. Keep in mind that messages can be subconsciously misinterpreted. This is because facial expressions, tone, body language, and emotions cannot be easily conveyed through text. So be sure to be detailed in your choice of words.

Be present, I cannot stress that enough. Whether you are together in person or on a call or a video call always be present. This is one of the main rules.

Long distance relationships are not for everyone. To be honest in my situation I was already drawn to the person before I had realized they lived in the next state. 

Although, it is said that long distance relationships only have about a 58% chance of success I wholeheartedly believe that what is meant to be will always be. That anything and everything we put our whole heart and soul into will almost always work out. I mean, my partner and I both had our range set for up to a 50-mile radius and somehow, we still were matched.

Everything happens exactly how it is supposed to happen. All it takes is one shot and the "rules" will come naturally if it is exactly where you want to be. My partner and I have been together for over a year now and just a few months ago we moved in together. We continued our relationship and fought through all of the minor hardships because we wanted to make it work, because we saw a future, because just as I had said long distance relationships do work but only if you actually put the work in. Only if you choose to make it work, and I am very happy we did.

dating
Like

About the Creator

Charlene

she/her Creative Writer, Poetry, Blogs, Short Stories, Articles. Thoughts become letters, letters become words, & it all forms sentences that turn to magic!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.