Humans logo

Tinder Date Gone Wrong...

When the pictures don't accurately portray your date, things can take a turn for the worse...

By Samantha BakerPublished 6 years ago 4 min read
Like

*names have been changed in this story*

Summer 2014.

A couple weeks ago my boyfriend/best friend had broken my heart, telling me he had decided to join the Army and he didn't want me to wait for him. It was one of the hardest breakups I had gone through, especially for the fact I could see myself marrying him.

As time passed, my friends suggested the "latest dating trend," AKA, Tinder. I decided to go for it, and let's be honest, I didn't want to let my sadness get the best of me. The swiping left and right cycle had begun.

In a month's time, I had gone on four first dates with guys from the surrounding towns. They were all sweet, fun, and knew how to show me a good time (if you know what I mean). I like to call it my hookup stage. I had gone through a rough break up and I really didn't care about getting into any sort of serious relationship, and these guys were in the same boat. It was fun dating around, and being single for the first time in four years.

But then I matched with Thad.

To be honest, our conversation was pretty simple, nothing too exciting, but he had asked me out to dinner and I accepted (obviously, because free food).

We agreed to meet a couple nights later, and he took me out to a chain restaurant. When I met him, my first impression was "Oh my God. He does NOT look like his photos. Am I being catfished?"

He was VERY tall, I'll give him that. But he was not quite as good looking as I was expecting; dirty blonde hair, his eyes a bit too far apart, and his voice... he reminded me of every other football jock I had gone to high school with, and trust me, that was NOT a good thing.

He's sitting across from me, and all I could think to myself was "I can't wait to leave". The conversation was boring. He was only talking about sports, and the closest thing to sports I can connect with are the commercials that play during the Super Bowl. We ordered food and drinks, and the pauses throughout the date were just... I can't.

The date is finally over with, and he walks me over to his car. I felt that I made it obvious that I was not having a good time, and I planned on heading home afterward. Plus it was Shark Week for me (ladies, you may know what this means, gents, it happens to us once a month), so if this guy had ANY intentions of getting in my pants, it was not gonna happen.

Thad then went ahead and said, "Well, I had a great time. Thanks for meeting up with me!"

Me, in awe, said, "Yeah thanks for taking me out. Hope you have a good night."

He then had this idiotic, confused look come across his face, surprised that I was saying goodbye already. "Wait, how about you come over to my place? We can get to know each other more there," he said with a smirk across his face.

At this point, I was overflowed with annoyance, and my accusations were becoming a reality. "No thanks Thad, I better be getting home now. I have work in the morning." I put my hand out to shake his, and he decided to hug me. And then went ahead and kissed me.

"No, no, NO!" was all that was running in my mind. I pushed away, and walked quickly over to my car and said "Bye!"

Thad was left there, horny and alone, as I quickly made a run for it. No way was this guy going to get anywhere with me, not now, not ever.

When I had arrived home, I had a text from Thad. It said:

"Hey sorry if I made a move to quick, but here's a little something for what you missed out on ;)", followed by a dick pic. Or whatever it was.

What I saw was a small thumb of some sort, that resembled a dick. I laughed out loud at the picture and responded with the following:

"Thad, I didn't ask for a dick pic, and if you felt like you were moving too fast, you wouldn't have sent me an unsolicited picture of what you call a 'dick'. Bye."

For a week after that, Thad had kept texting me, trying to get me to meet up again for drinks or whatever. I just ignored him and he finally got the hint. That was one of the last Tinder dates I went on that summer, because this Thad character had ruined it for myself.

And that ladies and gents, is why online dating is just not for me.

#MyWorstDate

dating
Like

About the Creator

Samantha Baker

Filmmaker & writer based out of Orange County. Most of my work I'll be sharing will consist of short stories & scripts. All photos attached are taken by me. Hope you enjoy!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.