Humans logo

Tiger Striped Sky - II

Chapter Two

By Briar RosePublished 3 years ago 4 min read
Like

"Amber! Open up!" Riley, Zachary, and I all three stood outside Amber's door both knocking and yelling for her to let us in. "I know you are at home! We have import- OH!"

The door swings open in our faces causing us all to fall forward. Amber's bare feet lie in front of us. Looking up at her from the ground we are met with a look of both anger and disbelief.

"What the hell are you three doing!"

Three Hours Ago

Sitting at the front of the classroom, I watched the doorway waiting for Mr. Hillman to enter. Riley and Zachary sat discussing where we might be going if we are going on a trip. All sorts of different biomes arose within their discussion. Some of the entering students add on to the growing list too. I personally hoped we would be going to a jungle -mainly to soothe my childhood desire to meet a tiger in real life. My father told me the first time I saw one in a children's picture book I was hooked. I remember begging him to take me to the bookstore just so I could add to my expanding collection of tiger-based books. Because of this obsession of mine, I wanted to major in Wildlife Biology when I went to college. If it wasn't for my father I wouldn't be here with these wonderful people today waiting to hear possibly the best news of my life.

"Afternoon Class," Mr. Hillman strolls into the classroom in what looked to be a safari outfit. A pith helmet sat on his head while sand-colored cargo shorts dressed his legs and a green t-shirt covered his upper body. "I assume everyone here has their own suspicions as to why I called this meeting, yes?"

Most people nod their heads in anticipation.

"Before I tell you, there is a pop quiz you must take. If you fail, you will not hear what the surprise is nor be included." A loud chorus of groans filled the room. "And no complaining!"

Zachary turned to Riley and me. "He can't do that. I'm going to fail. I always barely pass his other tests, how will I pass this one?"

"Don't sell yourself short Zach. You are a lot smarter than you think," I provide. "And you don't barely pass, you always get at least an 80."

"But I-"

Riley held up her hand. "Zachary Micheal Taylor, don't you say another word. Now sit down, dig through that brain of yours, and pass this damn quiz because I will not be traveling to some unknown country without you." He shook his head in response, turning his eyes to the quiz placed in front of him. "You too May. I'm not leaving either one of you, even if we have to smuggle someone in a suitcase."

"What makes you so certain you are going to pass?" I tease back.

"Oh, shut up!"

The pop quiz we had received wasn't as hard as most were expecting. The material was all about the different aspects of the rainforest which, thankfully, happened to be the unit we just finished. It was my personal favorite. Everyone sat waiting in apprehension for Mr. Hillman to finish grading the tests. Surprisingly, no word was spoken throughout the whole room.

"Well, I'll be darned. For the first time in history, everyone has passed the surprise pop quiz." Cheers erupted throughout the room. "Now, now, settle down class. I haven't told you the reason for this meeting yet."

Classmates curiously looked at each other, whispering out prayers of hope for a class trip. Riley, Zachary, and I huddled together.

"We are going to the Buraco Jungle!"

Present Time

"Wait, he gave you a pop quiz?" Amber questioned as we finished our retelling of the meeting.

Zachary stood up in unbelief. "That's what you're asking about?!"

"Yes! What kind of teacher gives you a pop quiz and using that to determine whether or not you are going on the trip!"

"Mr. Hillman does," I interject, knowing Zachary will get extremely hot-headed if he continues on with this. "Pop quizzes are one of his favorite things."

"We usually know when they are happening though," Riley adds. "He always puts a smiley face in the top right corner of the whiteboard on those days."

"Just not this time," Amber speaks. "So, what's this place you all are going to?"

I gasp in excitement. "One of my favorite places! Buraco jungle is home to many different species. Many people say it's the most diverse and well-protected rainforest left. There are only two resorts in the whole jungle while the rest is left to the tribes. They too help run the resorts since it technically sits on their land. Mr. Hillman said we will be going to the Bird of Paradise Resort, which is named after a flower there. I have looked into the location before and, if I remember correctly, the Macaw tribe oversees the resort. From what I read, they are quite friendly with whoever comes and even allow the tourists to join in on their tribal festivities. That is something I am extremely excited about. Oh! And they have had recent tiger sightings! So I'm hoping we get to see some."

"You're going to marry a tiger one day." Riley chuckles out.

"I am not!"

"Yes, you are!"

"No!"

"Yes!"

"No!"

"YES!" Zachary screams before slapping a hand over my mouth. I quickly lick his hand to which he snatches back in disgust. "Ewwww! May!"

"You made me do it!"

"No!"

"Yes!"

"No!"

"Oh shut up!" Amber yells over us. "I swear every time y'all come over here you end up screaming."

We all look at each other before sending Amber our best smiles. "We love you!"

She simply rolls her eyes. "How long are you going?"

"Awww," Zachary coos. "Are you going to miss me?"

"2 months."

"Unfortunately, yes I will Zachary." Amber smiles sweetly at the love-struck boy. "Be sure to call or send me letters or whatever you can do. I'll miss my favorite customers."

Zachary jumps from his seat and crushes Amber into a hug. "I'll write every day."

"No, no! I don't-" Before Amber is able to contradict what Zachary has said, he grabs us and pulls us out her door.

"See you later!"

literature
Like

About the Creator

Briar Rose

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.