Humans logo

This Bookie’s Fortune

A short tale of synchronicity.

By Abbey June SchwartzPublished 3 years ago 8 min read
1

When I think back to the moments that lead me to this one, three things have become resoundingly true.

The first is that fortune cookie fortunes are by divine guidance of the universe, precious tools of miraculous happenstance and cosmic advice.

The second my most profitable moments up until this moment were the serendipitous seconds of joy in which I had let the world take the reins and followed my gut to the gold. Not the odds, the bets, or the comeuppances.

The third is the amount of sheer torment one soul can place upon itself over time is not an accurate measure of who a person is. I am more decent than I have ever given myself credit for being in this life. An outside perspective to tell us of this truth is required.

Seems nice to tell you that I hadn’t hit a losing streak lately, that I hadn’t written off my family and friends in pursuit of the big win they had told me to give up on.

Well, I had.

To think this;

I have already thrown the coin from Gamblers Anonymous to the gutter as I scrounged and traded it for just another dollar to be lost at a cold black jack table. I could not comprehend gambling as an addiction at all. To think all of my wagers, comparably drugs, was simply out of the question.

I am a bookie. This is my job. I take the crazy odds. I ride the edge of probability, sometimes I come out ahead.

Got odds on some decrepit celebrity dying soon?

I take them.

Favorite football team on a hot streak?

Underdog by 10.

I win, I lose, I lose bigger.

I think I will quit.

I think I need a new book.

Now, the bookie’s book is as iconic as the pimp’s book or an artist’s sketchbook. It is simply a small black bound book with the softest paper within that inspires, to the touch.

The bookie book is a mentally healthy staple of a gambler’s ability to hold oneself and others accountable. I have championed some nice iterations. Great penmanship, plus numbers, a chef’s kiss to the books I have once penned.

I think I can do it again.

How will I go about this?

There I was, rifling through the lost and found, in a musty worn down bowling alley, lack of the once golden luster of yesteryear.

The things people leave behind, sunglasses, shoes, clothes, water bottles plastered in stickers, phones, jewelry and this tiny black book.

I opened the book and started reading the immaculate script.

If this book is found, it was no longer of need to the creator and original owner. Be wary the power herein is far beyond the comprehension of most and of little consequence to others.

The Fortune Cookie Compendium has chosen your needy soul. Heed well the Universe’s answers to your questions, hopes, dreams, and wishes.

There were 3 pages, each with a small bit of script, followed by fortune cookie fortunes taped neatly in a column...

Fortune cookie fortunes abound, on the first page these fortunes are found.

-Don’t give up, the beginning is always the hardest.

-Allow your curiosity to lead you to the answer you seek.

-Your respect for others will be your ticket to success.

Under each numbers:

6-14-15-72-33

11-18-08-13-22

56-43-59-69-21

I read this page incredulously.

Okay, new book I catch your drift.

Day 1 of the new book life, let me run these numbers.

Off to my neighbor’s house with my shovel in hand.

I knocked, when he opened the door I said,

“I am an able bodied human, let me lessen your load for 20.”

He obliged.

“Great!”

I will play these numbers, somehow, by the night’s end.

Respect is the key to success, I got it. There are 8 fresh inches of snowfall, a hard beginning. I have never been so curious as to play the worst odds on a measly lottery ticket. I could get used to this fortune cookie life. The odds of winning a jackpot are 1 in 300 million but likely a million to 1 on mysterious book numbers, I surmised.

By 11 pm, I had wasted 6 of my latest 20 dollars. Nothing, not a single number hit. I can not believe I just fell for this lottery bit.

The next day with the fortune cookie book. Page 1 only got me 14 bucks. Oh well, I read on. Page 2 was similar to the first.

Gratitude and change of perspective is beckoning from the furthest reaches of the Universe.

These fortunes followed:

-You will win success in whatever you attempt.

-You will have a month of great prosperity.

-Finding exotic uses for what others ignore will make your special fortune.

I learned the hard way on day 1 that these numbers were not for the winning of copious amounts of money, at least not in my case. I decided on this day to focus on the words alone.

A month of prosperity? I am ready for prosperity to knock at my door. I needed to clean my apartment anyway.

After cleaning a bit I found an antique coin. I collected enough cans to get a humble sum. Where though would I find my win? Where ever could my success be hiding?

As it turns out that coin was in fact worth about 100 dollars, I took the money and ran. I didn’t run far. I needed to check on the recycling. Another 6 dollars! As 120 dollars began to burn in my pocket, I started to think about how it got there.

On day 1, I respected my elder neighbor and took upon myself his toils for 20 dollars, then lost 6 of it by the night’s end.

Now, here on day 2 with 106 dollars that I earned this day. I think it was drawn to me for having believed in my own prosperity and success. I had, what do they call it? Ah yes, I had cleared my vibrations and put in order the qi that fengs through my shui. I think the fortunes are rubbing off on me oh so esoterically. This little black book has really started to eek into my mind in a way I have never felt before. I haven’t even written in the thing yet.

I became enamored with how 120 dollars floated to me, I made no wagers, I went home and poured over the 6 fortunes. I began to ask questions of the book, pointing, eyes closed, at the fortunes for my answers.

This might be a crystal ball in the right hands, a more in depth magic 8 ball, I mused. The original owner had done due diligence in creating these pages. I fell asleep. When I awoke I opened the book to the next page, the beautiful handwriting began.

Page 3 is for you, your friends and family too!

Plato once wrote, “your wealth is where your friends are.”

These fortunes followed:

-An upcoming event will reunite you with old friends.

-You will always be surrounded by true friends.

-Long life with blessings from family and friends is yours.

The numbers were below each, I ignored them once more.

This page felt like a punch to the gut, and saddened me each time I saw the words friends or family.

It occurred to me suddenly that I needed a drink, I have 120 dollars in my pocket.

Finally, I thought, if ever there was a place I could find a long lost pal, at very least the bowling alley was that place.

Day 3 of the fortune cookie rabbit hole. Not a white rabbit in sight, what time is it even? Am I too late? The book had brought me to the place it had me find it. I was lost and losing hope fast.

A screwdriver and my thoughts came and went.

As I stared down the ice remaining in my cup contemplating another screwdriver, at that moment I felt a tap on my shoulder.

I turned to see it was a face I once knew.

“Georgie,”

I chuckled,

“You fine fella, how are you?”

He replied,

“The last time I found you here you were in the same spot, please tell me you have moved since then? “

I laughed.

“Yes,” I replied, “ ‘Though, I haven’t gone far. Can I buy you a drink?”

Somehow Georgie had always been in dire straits, I have always offered to buy his drinks since we met.

“Georgie, how is your apartment?”

“Oh, it is good, nice an’ warm with all that snow out there.”

Once right before the winter Georgie was out on the streets, he had been without home more often in our friendship than he had been with home. I called someone who worked with the without home community. My call had actually advanced his file and made Georgie accessible to the people trying to help him. He had his new apartment by the first snow.

Georgie looked me in the eye, glaring with the veracity of an uncle who is about to have a real talk.

He asked.

“ How is your Mother?”

I shrugged and gulped my new screwdriver down.

“Family is family Georgie, there’s Christmas, Easter, and Thanksgiving all on the calendar.”

He took a drink, then said.

“ That is unfortunate. Can I get a smoke? I got something to tell you.”

I laughed, “ For you, always.”

We lit our smokes and I asked,

“What's something Georgie?”

I was so curious. What could something to tell me mean?

He expounded,

“ We’ll kid, I got kidney cancer. It doesn’t look good.”

My eyes widened, before I could respond, he went on.

“ The thing is I have been down a few of the paths you have found yourself on, I am a 57 year old man. It is I who will set you straight.”

He continued.

“You have been lucky and unlucky in life. Through that you have remained faithful to one thing constantly. You treat people how you wish to be treated.”

He looked down at the black book sitting next to my hand. He went on.

“You are a terrible gambler. Please tell me you aren’t on the bookie bit again?”

I smiled and looked up. Then I told Georgie the same story I have told you.

He looked down at his own glass, listening.

When Georgie looked up from his glass at the end of my tale his eyes were welled with tears.

He looked at me and said these words,

“Get me something to eat.”

So I did.

I walked in the bar with 120, 3 drinks and some food would not break me.

When we got back in the car.

Georgie turned to me as I made my way toward his apartment.

“Kid, the thing I wanted to say to you is this; sometimes the fortune you are looking for isn’t going to come from where you are expecting it to. You are a good person. How much money do you have now?”

I said, “ I have 80 in my pocket”.

He smiled and said, “Would you give me that money if I had no way of paying you back?”

“Of course.” I retorted.

Georgie laughed.

“You are too hard on yourself. I promise you will have 20 thousand dollars by morning. You have given to me in times of abundance and you have given to me when you have had little yourself. I can feel this cancer and it hurts.”

Then he got out of the car.

The next morning I stepped out of the house, on the ground was a tiny sliver of paper. I picked it up, it was a fortune.

-Luck is with you now, act upon your instincts.

I immediately checked my balance. There was actually 20 thousand in my account.

I taped the fortune to the top of the next page in the book.

fact or fiction
1

About the Creator

Abbey June Schwartz

Love. Life. Art. Gratitude.

All stories, challenges, poems and the like are created in the spirit of healing from the perspective of the convalescent. I have been through some stuff and journaling for mental health is boring. Here I am.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.