Humans logo

Things you know if you're a Wasian

For y'all like me, half white and half asian!

By Axelle T. MarchesinPublished 4 years ago 3 min read
Like
Things you know if you're a Wasian
Photo by Kyle Glenn on Unsplash

For those who don't know, Wasian stands for White and Asian. If you're like me and you're half white and half Asian, you might see yourself in those points I'm making. And if you have more, please share. Here I am going to share my personal POV as I am half French and half Filipino. But I feel like it would probably work with most Wasians in general.

1 - You're taller than your Asian family but shorter than your Western family. My mom is quite short. So I am taller than her and when we go to the Philippines, I am taller than most of my family there. However, my family in France is quite tall and I have always felt short there. Which is cute some might say, but I live in the UK and with my Wasian height, I am too short to reach most of the cupboards.

2 - You get the Asian blush. Yeah, that's a fun Asian trait. As soon as you have a little drink of alcohol you get bright tomato red and people are all thinking that you're drunk already. But no, it's just the effect of the alcohol. However, true, you don't need as much alcohol as non-Asian people to get tipsy.

3 - You don't really know where you belong. When you're in Asia, you feel more western, however, when you're in your other half country, you feel more Asian.

4 - People expect that you're at least half good in Math. Personally, my thing was languages. As soon as they introduced letters in Math, I was OUT. Not all Asians have to be good with numbers.

5 - You get a bit offended when people say that you're from the wrong Asian country. Even if it's not their fault, you still feel something when they get it wrong. "You're Chinese" "You look a bit Cambodian" "Are you Thai?". NO, I AM NOT, I AM HALF PINAY.

6 - Either you speak your Asian language, but if you can't speak it, you might understand some of it. I used to be fluent in my mom's dialect (Hiligaynon) however as I grew up, it disappeared from my head, but I understand most of it. Sometimes when I am in the Philippines people think I am just a white girl who doesn't understand anything so I can hear them speak behind my back about me but I understand. When I answer them in English afterwards, it quite funny to see their reactions.

7 - Travelling to two different continents and knowing two different cultures doesn't feel weird. You just feel lucky that you have been raised with both. I am so thankful for my parents for travelling that many times back and forth. I know that not a lot of people have the chance to travel and outside one continent even less.

8 - You don't take everything for granted. You know how difficult life can be in different cultures. Like in the Philippines you have to pay for school. And I have noticed that in Asia people are very kind and they share a lot, no matter how much they have. I am not saying that Western aren't like that, but in Asia for examplem if you'd go to your neihbours and they would have a meal, they would ask you to sit and they would share their food for example. Even when they don't have much.

9 - You feel like a chef when you make dishes your Asian relative used to cook. Now you can cook the dishes you grew up with, you'll cook that all the time!

10 - You're proud of both of your cultures. Every time it gets mentioned in the media, everybody thinks about you and it's just nice that you can have 2 countries to support when there are the Olympics!

This post is for all those Wasians who feel grateful to be a halfie. And who loves having family all over the world that you can visit all the time.

humanity
Like

About the Creator

Axelle T. Marchesin

Hi, my name is Axelle, I am a 25 year old French girl who lives in The UK. I am passionnate about travelling, cooking and music. I have also started painting - Still a work in progress. Hope you guys will like my posts :)

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.