Humans logo

They helped me come out.

Without coming out.

By C.J.BPublished 4 years ago 3 min read
1
Marvel: Jessica Jones

I am 24 years old and for the sake of simplifying everything through labels, I am Bisexual.

Truth be told, I hate labels. If I can help it, I don't say that I'm bisexual, instead I just make my preferences obvious. I've been in different types of relationships with men and women, and I enjoy their company equally.

Towards the end of high school was when I first started developing romantic feelings towards another girl. She was quite amazing in my eyes, very different from the rest. She was very tough and funny. She always wore dark clothes, had eye liner on and was always quite opinionated and passionate about her own ideas. Her favourite drink was whiskey and was always sarcastic. Honestly, when I watched Jessica Jones, she had exactly the same vibe as her. It may seem like I'm exaggerating but even my friends thought so as well.

She was my complete opposite.

The one thing that we did have in common was that we were both brutally honest about everything and we didn't care what others thought. We made quite a weird pair. Just by looking at us, you can see the differences.

While she was always in her dark clothes, I would always be wearing summer dresses. She barely talks to other people, because honestly, they cannot handle talking to her, while I, on the other hand, loved talking to people. Everything for her was black and white. Once she has decided what kind of person you are, it is close to impossible to change her mind.

And through her, I came out.

As I mentioned, we were very different. Somehow, we get along better than with other people and connected differently. For years I thought I was just fascinated by her because of how she is. I thought I just had a friendly admiration of her character.

Eventually, after 4 and a half years of being friends, our relationship changed. From being friends who hang out, to friends who kiss each other and hold hands. From telling each other about our dates, to going on dates with each other instead.

It was quite sudden.

As friends, we barely saw each other but we knew that we were very close. Although we rarely hanged out, we had a lot of fun whenever we did. We talked about things that we would never told other people including the most horrible things that we've done to others. We understood each other almost as if we could read each others thoughts and feelings.

We never had to guess.

All of our friends knew that we have become more than friends. We were quite obvious. We started going to parties together. We had stopped hooking up with other people and we always went home together. And of course because she was very vocal about us, she would tell everyone that I was hers.

Everyone was quite normal about it. There was no "are you gay?" question. I knew they were curious but they did not force any announcement or information out of us. This had allowed us to be comfortable with ourselves as well as be truthful towards them. They had just automatically switched to inviting us as a couple to everything and had not made any move on either one of us because they were are of how we felt.

Since then, I never felt the need to tell people that I am bisexual. It just felt normal. I guess I am lucky for the friends that I have. I never felt different and I never worried about being accepted or not.

I'm just their friend. Their friend who dates anyone I want and it didn't bother them. So then, it didn't bother me.

The only battle that I had was the one with myself.

lgbtq
1

About the Creator

C.J.B

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.