Humans logo

There are no birthdays in heaven

Celebrating the day you are born pertains only to this earth realm until you die. When you say this people become angry.

By Cheryl E PrestonPublished 4 years ago Updated 7 months ago 5 min read
11
Birth dates are only in the land of the living

Some things should be self-explanatory and certain issues should be elementary my dear Watson, and so simple that even a child understands. Facebook, however, is bringing out a follow the leader mentality where people post trending sayings just because someone else does it without checking the validity of what is being shared. One specific issue that continues is posts where dead people are wished a happy heavenly birthday.

Someone who reads this article who recently wished a deceased loved one a happy birthday in heaven will surely become offended and assume that I read their post. They will think that I am throwing shade on them but that is far from the truth. To such individuals, I sing in my Carly Simon voice,” You’re so vain, you probably think this song (this story)is about you, you’re so vain, you probably think this story is about you, don’t you, don’t you?”

The fact remains that birthdays are only in the land of the living and are not celebrated in the afterlife.

On social media, someone is always posting “Shouting all the way to heaven, happy birthday to...” or "Happily heavenly birthday to," I once said that if I read one more “ Happy heavenly birthday I would scream!!!! I have since, however, toned down my ire just a bit.

Having said that let me announce something. News flash, there are no birthdays in heaven. I understand missing someone you love on the date of their birth and there is nothing wrong with saying so. I missed my husband on July 4 and I stated clearly in a post on his memorial page that he is in eternity and no longer celebrating birthdays.

I emphasized that I was remembering him on the date he was born. Even so, close to 100 people responded with "Happy heavenly birthday." SMH!I understand now that people are going to do what they do. I am sure that many did not even read my post but only saw that it was my deceased spouse's date of birth.

Be that as it may, I have another announcement to make: Telling your Facebook friends that your mom would have been 100 had she lived, or that you are reminiscing about your deceased spouse on his or her birthday is quite normal. Screaming to heaven to wish dead folks a happy birthday, however, as Mr.Spock from Star Trek would say is - most illogical.

Just because it sounds good, everyone else is doing it and it gets lots of likes and comments on social media does not validate that it’s accurate. Take a deep breath now and let us reason together. If you are still reading my unpopular opinion and are not gnashing your teeth and or using expletives, let’s sort this thing out.

A birthday is recorded on the date that you are born on the earth. Every 365 days on that date if you are still living you are one year older. Birthdays stop however on the day that you die. Many obituaries often say sunrise and sunset, indicating a beginning and an ending.

They list the date you came into the world and also the day you made your exit. When you enter this realm via the birth canal and the doctor slaps your assets, your life is beginning. When medical personnel or a hospice nurse calls a time of death, your life has ended and birthdays are nevermore.

The OBGYN records the time of birth when you arrive and when you depart, a physician or a coroner gives an expiration date. That's all folks as far as this physical body is concerned. We watch at the gravesite as our loved one’s casket is lowered into the ground and that’s the end of that body which turns to dust. If someone was cremated the process is speeded up as all that is left is the ashes which are really the bones.

The physical person as you knew them no longer exists and if their spirit is in heaven they would not be celebrating birthdays. The reality is that the observance of a birth date is a man-made creation that began on this earth and not in the eternal realm. Birthdays did not begin until the invention of the calendar as a method to track time. They were first celebrated in 3000 BC.

How can anyone believe that something created in this physical realm would be observed in the hereafter? Imagine if you will some celebrating their 100,000th birthday in eternity where there is no end. The answer to that is that we humans often apply our limited earthly knowledge to things eternal.

That’s why people say a deceased person is playing in the heavenly rock band or getting touchdowns in that big football stadium in the sky. What we don’t know we simply make up as we go along. Shout happy heavenly birthday if you wish but now that you have read the facts at least please consider them.

A woman I did not know commented on this article and said I was too serious and should let people have fun. Everyone on this earth has a right to make their own decisions and not everyone desires to live in a fantasy world and keep their heads buried in the sand. There are those who want the truth so here it is like it or not.

humanity
11

About the Creator

Cheryl E Preston

Cheryl is a widow who enjoys writing about current events, soap spoilers and baby boomer nostalgia. Tips are greatly appreciated.

Reader insights

Nice work

Very well written. Keep up the good work!

Top insights

  1. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

  2. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

Add your insights

Comments (8)

Sign in to comment
  • Adrienne L Caruso4 months ago

    Thank you for writing this. I lost my husband in 2017 and could never understand heavenly birthday, next it will be heavenly anniversary.

  • Robin6 months ago

    I like the article and the opinion is in the minority. I have used Happy Heavenly Birthday or Happy Birthday in Heaven but wondered if that was correct. So what is an appropriate phrase to use on social media for someone who is deceased?

  • Ed Morris7 months ago

    You are spot on... What's even worse is having a funeral home's newspaper obituaries start off with, "Bob Smith went to his Heavenly Home." How do they know this person went to Heaven? Are they now playing God? A simple, "Bob Smith passed away last night" will suffice.

  • Teresa E Cottrell11 months ago

    Excellent article. In the religion in which I was raised they believe people are up there in heaven dancing in them golden shoes. In my current religion, they believe the dead are asleep in the grave until the resurrection. One thing you didn't mention in your article was the pagan origins of birthdays. The early Christians did not celebrate birthdays. Having said all that, I admit that when one of my friends posts "Happy Heavenly Birthday" on Facebook, I often join in, probably in an effort to show compassion for their loss Today happens to be the day that my late mother would have turned 99 years old. I miss her, but I did not post "Happy Heavenly Birthday" on Facebook.

  • Al O12 months ago

    Ironically, what lead me to this article was because the 'Google' banner is celebrating the 190th birthday of Johanne Brahms' birthday or what would've been. At this point, his age isn't relevant. What's relevant is what he gave to the world and the historical relevance that his music plays in todays culture. So I find it silly to even note that. I come from a Christian perspective and I agree with your point about applying earthly concepts to what is eternal and above and beyond our timeline. There is no comparison. I know that many can argue, 'Well we celebrate Jesus's birthday every December!!' I think when we're talking about a relevant figure, as Jesus, one can make the point that He could be remembered and His life and His impact on the world is one to be celebrated. But, then again, we do that every Lord's day. But, I digress, I think this becomes more sensitive when it's a child that has passed so soon. Especially when the parents and the family it affects only has the wonder of how they would've have looked or grown into being given the chance to live. I still stand behind the fact and truth that the word 'birth' is in the title. So, it seizes to be relevant once the person has moved on to the spiritual realm. But, I will still respect and honor the wishes and wants of those who think otherwise. Much grace.

  • Mike Greenstone2 years ago

    Well duh. Oh and heaven doesn’t exist anyway, speaking of man-made creations. And religion…yup.

  • Kristy Taschuk2 years ago

    Thank you. Thank you. Today I posted my daughter lighting a candle to honor her uncle's birthday in memory of his birthday. I hate when people say happy heavenly birthday, because, in my logical mind, their "heavenly" "birthday" would now, technically be their death day.........

  • Laverne Williams2 years ago

    I am sooo glad to see this in print. I feel the same way. I never use that phrase, for the very reasons stated in this article. I don't even try to explain it to those who do....they wouldn't get it anyway. 🤷🏾‍♀️

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.