Humans logo

The Winter Express

A Holiday Gay Romance

By Jax AltieriPublished 3 years ago 11 min read
1
Cover art for The Winter Express

The Winter Express

It was the last weekend before Christmas. That last big holiday before everyone would ring in the new year. People from all over packed the train station, hoping to catch a quick trip to Winter Park to hit the slopes one last time. I included myself in this as I didn’t want to drive through the Rockies from Denver to a ski resort.

Shoppers and passengers entered and exited the shops that surrounded the train station. Some carried armfuls of gifts while others stared in wonder through the windows. The weather made it hard not to enjoy the scenery. The snow fell in large fluffy snowflakes, no wind, and made me feel like I lived in a giant snow globe. Even the Christmas music failed to suck the cheer out of me.

I stole a glance in a shop window near the train station and saw my unruly dark hair sticking out of my hat. Cringing at my appearance, I removed the cap and brushed back my hair before putting my beanie back on. My appearance was far from bad, but being on vacation made me instantly lazy about personal upkeep. I got as far as showering, brushing my teeth, and putting on deodorant before I left my house. Sometimes it doesn’t matter, especially when it came to skiing all weekend.

I had a few minutes before I even needed to board the train and the smell of coffee and peppermint mixed with freshly baked good made my stomach grumble. “Don’t worry, tummy of mine. I will stuff you with all sorts of lovely and tasty morsels to curb your hunger.”

Since I had some time to spare, a hot drink and a pastry of sugary goodness are precisely what the doctor ordered. I strolled into the shop, and my sense of smell almost danced in delight. It smelled so wonderful in here. The line was short, which surprised me, but hell, if I was going to complain.

By Julian Hochgesang on Unsplash

“Hello, sir, what can I get for ya?”

The employee was cheerful. I guessed her either naturally this way or properly caffeinated to deal with the public. Either way, her smile was contagious and made me grin in return. “I’ll take a large peppermint mocha with a candy cane brownie. To go.”

She rang everything up with an unwavering smile. “Both sound delicious. That’ll be fourteen dollars and seventy-eight cents.”

At least she could’ve used lube before giving me that price! I handed her my debit card, but in all honesty, my smile wavered. How does a person smile after being railroaded over the cost of a brownie? I think I heard my bank account shudder as she swiped my card.

She handed me my card and the receipt. “Here is your receipt. What name should I put the order under?”

I grabbed it and slipped it into my wallet. “Jasper.”

She wrote my name on the cup, smiling the whole time. What in Christmas good cheer is this shit? It seemed like her smile was a permanent part of her face. I rarely smiled, so it could’ve been my negative personality.

Another barista handed me my order as my phone vibrated in my pocket. If this ain’t a bitch?

Due to some Christmas miracle, I managed to balance a coffee and brownie in one hand while pulling my phone out with the other. The screen flashed “Stella.”

“Great, just fucking great. All I need is a call from work.”

“Hey, Jasper, it’s me, Stella, your bestie from work. So, I just found out that you’re on vacation. The boss wants to make sure you make it there and back safely.”

I rolled my eyes as I knew my boss only cared about my output and not my actual health. “Tell him that unless the train crashes, I’ll be back to work as planned. He shouldn’t worry so much. I’m practically melting over the care he is displaying.”

A sigh from the other end told me she agreed. “Come on, Jasper, he ain’t that bad. He’s stressed big time, though. He hates to see his best worker leave, even if it’s for vacation.”

I walked out of the store, and the cold weather greeted me with its cold touch. “Yeah, he has a shitty way of showing it. I’ll be back in a few days. It’s the weekend, so it's not like he has anything to do anyway.”

“I know. Anyway, I just wanted to call you and wish you a good trip. Takes lots of pictures and if you meet a hot guy, text me every five minutes with all the nasty details.”

“I’m going to ski not to hook up, Stella.”

She sighed again. “You never know what will happen on the slopes, Jasper. Anyway, I’ll let you go and have a safe yet fun and kinky trip.”

I got to the station and entered as the doors swung open automatically. “Goodbye, Stella. I’ll talk to you in a few days.”

“Fine, be that way. Ski safe as I wouldn’t want you landing on someone’s ski pole.”

“Bye, Stella…”

“Okay, later, Jasper.”

As much as I love Stella as a friend, she had no tact, which drove me crazy. She was the closest thing I had as a friend at work, so I let it slide. I’d needed to have a chat with her at some point, but until she tries to hook me up, everything was good on my end.

People filled the station and made it hard for me to walk. I made it a few steps before bumping into someone and almost spilling my coffee, but I did drop my phone. “Shit.”

By Catherine Zaidova on Unsplash

The man I bumped into bent over and picked it up. He handed it over, and I found myself lost in his gaze. “Here you go. I’m sorry about that.”

I took my phone back as blood rushed to my face. “It’s okay. Things happen.”

“Yeah, hopefully, your phone isn’t broke.”

I glanced down, and it looked alright. “I’m starting my vacation, so it doesn’t matter. Means no one from work can call me.”

The other man smiled; his golden-brown eyes lit up. “That’s a healthy way of looking at it.”

“Sometimes cutting yourself off from the world is needed to enjoy the moment.”

He nodded in agreement. “Good point. Maybe I should turn mine off for the weekend.” He went to walk away, which made Jasper’s heart sink for a moment. “By the way, my name’s Dion. Yours?”

Jasper stood dumbfounded, unsure of what to say as his name slipped from his memory. “Jasper. I’m heading to Winter Park for the weekend.”

Dion struck out his hand, which Jasper shook. “Well, Jasper, it's great to meet a fellow skier.”

“Yeah, Dion, it is. You taking this train out to the resort?”

Dion nodded. “I am. Driving would’ve taken too long in this snow. I didn’t want to chance it.”

A train whistle blew, which signaled that boarding started. I had my ticket, which guaranteed me a seat, but I didn’t want to leave Dion’s side. I couldn’t help but stare at his handsome face, and his light brown skin, those beautiful eyes, and a smile that made my heart melt. He looked like he kept in great shape too.

“I can’t blame you. That’s the same reason I’m taking the train. Might as well travel in comfort.”

Dion laughed. “Yeah, as much as a cramped passenger train will allow.”

I shrugged. “True, but no chance of being stuck on the side of the road.”

Dion seemed to consider the comment. “I agree. It’s better to get stuck sitting next to a handsome guy with gorgeous green eyes on the way there.”

More blood rushed to my face leaving me hot and a little embarrassed at his directness. I shifted a little in my stance as others ran past me to get to the train, so they had a pick of the seats. I knew I should do the same, but a part of me wanted to get stuck sitting next to Dion.

“Then we better get moving to get those seats then or be left sitting next to a total stranger.”

“I’m a total stranger,” Dion said.

“And a direct one at that. You’re not one to mince words, are you?”

“Nope. Life is too short.” He turned to walk away and stretched out his hand for mine. “Are you coming or not?”

I grabbed his hand and let him pull me toward the station. “Yeah, don’t want anyone to see me standing here like some odd Christmas statue.”

The train whistle blew twice to signal everyone to board quickly. The large clock on the station’s wall showed at least ten minutes remained for boarding. Not that it mattered as Dion dragged me along quickly through the platform door and toward the fourth car.

Skiers dressed in their winter best boarded with their gear. The smell of the train mixed with the baked goods of the nearby shops reached my nose. Both smelled pleasant and seemed to fit perfectly together. Again, the whole scene reminded me of living inside a snow globe.

By Annie Spratt on Unsplash

“You boys got your tickets?” The train conductor asked.

“We sure do,” Dion replied, handing the conductor his.

I reached into my jacket's inner pocket and pulled out mine. “Here’s mine.”

The conductor looked at us both curiously before nodding. “Get on with it. Others want to go skiing too.”

Dion leapt onto the final step. On the other hand, I tripped on the first step, and let me say that graceful is not in my vocabulary. Luckily, Dion caught me before I took a dive face-first onto the floor. He lifted me back on my feet quickly. I wonder how strong he’ll be on the slopes? Damn, Jasper, it’s a little early to go there.

“I got you. You alright, Jasper?”

I regained my composure after hearing a few laughs from other passengers. “Yeah. I learned how to walk yesterday, apparently.”

Dion only grinned and pointed toward the back. “I see a couple of seats open for us to sit next to each other if you want?”

I saw the same seats and smiled. “That sounds good. I’d love the company.”

“Good.”

Dion grabbed my hand and pulled toward the back. He motioned toward the window seat. “The view is going to be fantastic once we depart.”

I sat and glanced at him before looking out the window. “Yeah, like living inside a snow globe.”

The seat moved as Dion sat next to me. His presence and closeness made me smile and even shiver a little. I watched as the rest of the passengers boarded, and the train’s whistle echoed out, signaling that it would leave the station soon.

I glanced at Dion’s reflection in the window. “Looks like we’re going on an adventure.”

I turned toward Dion. “Say, even if it's for a weekend.”

“Who says the adventure has to stop then?” Dion asked.

“No one,” I said.

I leaned back comfortably and realized Dion had his arm stretched along the back of my seat. He didn’t move it, and I preferred he kept it there. He was handsome and had a great personality, and for once, I may have to take Stella’s advice on falling on someone’s ski pole.

Dion looked at me curiously as the train lurched forward slowly. “What are you thinking about?”

I blushed again and shook my head. “Nothing. Wondering about the weekend.”

“Yeah. Lots of plans, Jasper?”

“Nope, unless you wanted to do something? I’d love to spend the weekend with you, Dion.”

Dion grinned, and I would swear he blushed. “Mighty forward of you.”

“Life is too short,” I said.

Dion grinned and pointed out the window. “Touché’. Let's see what it's like leaving this snow globe, Jasper.”

I glanced out the window as the train left the station. Snow fell lightly, and the city of Denver fell away, and the snow-packed mountains loomed like guardians to another land. Dion wrapped an arm around me and pulled me closer. He kissed me on the cheek.

“Too bold?”

“Nope. It’s a start, though.”

“A start?” Dion asked.

I leaned into him as I watched the world start to speed by. “Yeah. I believe that'll be a Christmas neither one of us will forget.”

Dion pulled me into him, wrapping his arms around me. For once, having someone this close made me warm and calm inside. If this moment showed any indication of the next few days, Dion and I would get closer, and I was okay with that.

The End

By Roberto Nickson on Unsplash

Visit my site for more stories. blog, and my newsletter!

lgbtq
1

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.