Humans logo

The Valentine's Day Massacre

Price Inflation on a Puffed Up Holiday!

By Jay LeTron DobbinsPublished about a year ago 3 min read
1
The Valentine's Day Massacre
Photo by Brooke Lark on Unsplash

I am a hopeless romantic by all means! I'm the first guy to purchase a gift or send flowers on "just because" terms. As the New Yorkers would say, I got receipts! However, I am not the one to ever get caught up into holiday spending. No, far from cheap, I just like for my coins to be spent in a sensible manner. I could be far off the radar, but the emotional chip needs to be put in check when it comes to this day. In the past, I made the effort to buy flowers, plan dates and I thought to myself! What makes Valentine's Day different from any other day when I am doing the same process. I am always buy flowers and planning dates! Is this not the man's role when he is in courting mode, and in relationship mode? So after all these years, what sets Valentine's Day special from any other day? Lets try to look at how this day got started!

It is storied that in the 3rd Century, a Rome priest would marry young couples in a act of defiance of an Emperor who said it was better for soldiers to fight as signal men vs being married. You guest it! The name of this priest, Valentine! Other stories suggest that Valentine may have been killed for attempting to help others escape harsh Roman prisons, where they were often beaten and tortured. According to one legend, an imprisoned Valentine actually sent the first “valentine” greeting himself after he fell in love with a young girl—possibly his jailor’s daughter—who visited him during his confinement. Before his death, it is alleged that he wrote her a letter signed “From your Valentine,” an expression that is still in use today (History.com source).

We don't have a solid history or truth as to how the Holiday was originated, but if you are going to buy flowers that are marked up over 40% of the original cost, at least have some kind of idea as to what is the cause of this foolishness. Very much like the other holidays that are designed to have us spend more money than we need to, there is no distinction as to when the day should be celebrated. Call me the Scrooge of Valentine's Day, but I cannot be the only who share this thought! Valentine's Day is a ripoff!

Yes, I am going to call them out on this one and this is my primary example. 1-800 Flowers is a site that I use often. At one point, they might have been on a first-name basis. Now the markup for just the guarantee fee to have flowers delivered on Valentine's Day is $14.99! Now that is not even the delivery fee. Now its important that if the order is not properly placed, FedEx will deliver flowers instead of the local florist. Who wants to have FedEx deliver a special message when an impression is trying to be made? Trust me, this is not a good sight when this happens. A "Thank You" call from her will not be placed.

Now I will not even entertain the antics of these restaurants. So lets get back to flower delivery. Brothers! Do yourself a favor and go to a local Supermarket and have the florist put some flowers together, which will have a lasting impression. Stay away from Walmart flowers! The flowers will be dead hours after getting off the ice cold truck.

I'm not a total buzzkill for the Holiday at all. However, I'm not for the price markups and I know there is a better way to celebrate the holiday, so men, spend your $$$$ wisely! Trust me, purchasing flowers on a normal frequency is far much better.

dating
1

About the Creator

Jay LeTron Dobbins

Casual writer! Love to express in print! Tell people how you feel and love life to the fullest with no regrets. Try to say something good about a person when they can hear it, and not when they are gone! Love like no tomorrow.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.