Humans logo

The Untold Truth of Male Abuse

The secrets we keep for fear of ridicule

By Claudia RodriguezPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
Like
My soul as viewed from the outside, with its mixes internally.

Public Life, this is how we see our celebrities as people who have no privacy, everything they do and say is out for us to see and if they try to keep it private we rebel against them for hiding out. I have always told my kids I am a fan of a celebrity by their work but not of their personal life and I try to keep out of the gossip columns as well as media platforms that just throw gossip my way, they should have a little privacy (a lot really). Once their work hours are done we should not want to be all inside how they live or what they eat, wear, or think, it's not right, but when something that they have gone thru affects the rest of the world, then yes we need to know, for several reasons, they can impact how an issue can be viewed in terms of how we handle such situations ourselves. And to realize that they are just like the rest of us peasants living life with ups and downs and tragedy as well as triumph. Love them, enjoy their work and be there for them. But allow privacy as well as support when asked for.

I am referencing current events, and the trial that recently took place about domestic abuse, I looked around and found several posts, blogs, and comments on social media about the case, and how people felt about it, but I could not find anything about how this is a very real situation, I still feel that men are underrepresented in terms of domestic abuse because in most cases it is not declared, most cased go untold, due to the stigma that a man can not be a victim, I have heard counts of sexual harassment towards man and other man responding to such claims with “ if she wants me ill take it), that causes male victims to keep quiet and become either recluse or aggressive, due to not being able to express their fear of what is happening to them.

I have personal experience about being told to suck it up and be strong when I spoke about depression, I was told you have a good life and a great husband what can you possibly be depressed about, and its something that I have heard about before from others, and I wonder if this is the same in the case of a man being abused, I remember a family back home where the mom was the aggressive type always putting down her husband and later her sons, she said that the only way to make real man was to be strong and never teach them to be weak or show emotions, these men grew up thinking that the only way to raise a family was by the rule of a whip and that you must not show emotion, money makes a marriage one of them once said if you have cash thats where love is, the woman he married later divorced him because he seemed out of place in a home where she was loving and caring, he expected her to be abusive like his mother, and he was abusive toward the children.

My point here is that like most other cases of abuse here we will just make a note to try and listen next time it happens, but the reality is men will not speak of it because it will make them feel exposed, and other men will not believe that it can happen. This case has brought it to attention that it can happen, but it will not go further because no others will speak up,

A woman can be as much an abuser as men can, and men can be victims just as equally.

dating
Like

About the Creator

Claudia Rodriguez

I am a nature loving person who finds the indoors quite suffocating after a while, I find inspiration in the beauty of a mountain, the flight of a bird or the soft swaying of a flower in the wind.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.