Humans logo

The Unsinkable One

Fair Winds

By Olivia Grace Published 3 years ago 6 min read
Like
The Unsinkable One

Sailing with the unsinkable one

It would take a lot of strength and patience to sail with an atheist, narcissistic and unorganized, human being given that an avalanche of deep fishing in New Orleans in 2019, in Lake Pontchartrain, has a blissful cinema to sail. One Saturday evening, I received a phone call from a friend named Simon who needed an extra hand at the dock for his boat. Of course, I was willing to help, but deep dark rooted streaks of silent lightning was a warning with a significant loss of life on a night of stormy weather. "It is the tale of a sea of spirits that awaits us," I thought to myself. Strong current waves were hitting the stairs by the lake in New Orleans, Louisiana, and as I arrived at the dock, my friend Simon said, "We are going sailing!" Who are we? I responded. He said, get in the boat. We are going sailing tonight; I'm in agony and worrisome, "I don't think tonight is a good night to sail, Simon." "Get on the boat," as I rolled my eyes, "you are unbelievable, you know that?" I looked over, and I saw a horse. Well, his dog reminds me of a horse. However, she was a pretty Doberman pinscher, with a heavy taser chain around her neck, which he would taser to have her attention and listen. "The freedom of a dog," I thought. So are we going to have this massive shower curtain in the air so we can sail?" I said. Do you mean the mainsail? He said. I am asking; because I do not see it on the boom? Well, unfortunately, we are not; because I have added the engine to the boat. Are you kidding me? An engine on a sailboat, so this means we are not even sailing? Are we total imposters on a sailboat with a motor? No, silly, sometimes an engine is needed to engage or maintain control of the boat. Ah great, "what a daily bread of an adventure," all of a sudden I hear a-hoy! Captain Jack herer! What in the trolls? Dude, thoughtfully, I responded, as he was on the phone/radio with the bridge tender to pass through the drawbridge. As the transit began, I had a feeling this was going to turn into twenty hail marys and three of our fathers.

The conditions were getting worse, Powerful winds with massive currents, Simon "why can't we go back?" I asked. It's too late now; we will be on the other side, soon. It was 9 pm, we didn't even put up the sails, only the engine. A vast massive wave came inside the boat, and the ship was becoming rocky and unstable. He was yelling, "Hurry Francesca!" get inside the ship! What do you mean, hurry? Go under with Gia and put on a life vest the boat is going to flip! Omg, why what's happening? As my entire body was trembling. The engine is coming off. What. OMG! I can't hold on, and it's going underwater! My legs begin to jump like (as I'm sitting on the side) higher than a reindeer, shaking to hold on, as I am trying to locate my phone. As I'm calling my friend, my phone was on 5%. Simon says, "who are you calling?” They can't save you! Were in the middle of the ocean! OMG, whats next a longneck monster is going to get us! Tears and the water began to emerge all over my face, as I didn't notice my phone was still on and my friend CJ heard everything!

The dog was starting to move all over the place she was beginning to get scared, all of a sudden she stepped on the side of the rail and fell off the boat, Gia!, I screamed. As I charged towards her, Simon started to panic. Can you do it? Don't worry, I will save her, focus on the engine that is comming off! As I reached over and held on to her, and grabbed her out of the water (from drowning) as if I was half horse, saving another horse, it was eerie. Grabbed Gia the Doberman pinscher out of the water, with all the strength, and pulled her in. Simon's face was priceless. "Holy shit!" you saved Gia! I couldn't even do that! He looked at me as if he saw Jesus that night.

As I placed her back underneath to continue the sail, Simon continued to struggle with one arm to sail the boat holding the engine for one hour so the engine would not come off, lightning, thunder and rain. I was glancing at my phone to try once more, dead it was. My night was dreadful and most likely dead. Finally, we could see docking lights; as long as I knew how to swim like a dolphin, I would swim to the dock. If you are unable to dock the boat, then... no worries, I will be able to see a line by the deck, I can put the ship's port side on a 45-degree angle to the dock connecting to the pole, and all should be good. Probably only a boom, but I am pretty significant you will be ok. Sure, I said. We docked the ship, and I began to cry heavily. You put my life in danger; I am a mother with two children; you don't give a living crap about me nor my life and what I'm pursuing. You are inconsiderate, and I am a fool for believing you. All you care about is yourself; you never listen to me! I yelled.

I can't do this anymore. I wish I would have never met you! Francesca, It's ok. I'm so proud of you; you saved Gia; it's ok. Proud of me? What is this field day? I won an honourable mention on saving a horse-dog! As he was staring at me and hugging me, he knew he messed up for the trillionth time, but as good-hearted, as I am and I always forgave him; because I thought he was my friend. But you're a narcissist, I told him, you don't have any feelings. He stared at me and didn't say a word. Let's go to my house and dry off, he said. Twenty voicemails, as I turned my phone back on, Francesca! Omg, are you ok! "Please call me back," it's CJ. Thirty text messages, omg, "where are you!" Please tell me you are ok.

Hey, I am vertical, so sorry to have done this to scare you in this manner. Omg, I called every hospital and jail looking for you! Jail? I asked. I can see that after someone put my life at risk, but no I'm not in jail! You should have called river oaks, however, (psychiatric home in New Orleans) I am safe. I will tell you the entire story when I see you tomorrow. Fran, I heard everything; I started to cry, I heard you scream for help, and you were crying badly. I know one thing CJ; My name is miss unsinkable.

humanity
Like

About the Creator

Olivia Grace

My given birth name is Francesca, however I am the author, and I consider her to be Olivia Grace as she writes Non-fiction and Short Stories for all to see, whom she is meant to be.

Cordially yours,

FD (The Only OG)

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.