Humans logo

The Truth About New Year In 3 Little Words

Dear New Year...

By JR FlahertyPublished 3 years ago 4 min read
4
The Truth About New Year In 3 Little Words
Photo by San Fermin Pamplona - Navarra on Unsplash

Dear New Year,

How are you? I haven't seen you for a whole year. It's been too long.

So.

Well.

This is awkward.

Sorry. It's just I'm surprised to see you again. We are in exactly the same place and at exactly the same time. Likc clockwork. Although that is your thing, isn't it? Turning up with your fireworks when the clock strikes midnight.

I should've known you'd be here, really. To be honest, I needed to put you out of my mind for a while after last year. I haven't thought about you a lot this year. I just wanted to take it day by day.

Okay. Maybe, deep down, I wanted to see you. Although, I don't know why. You left a horrible mess last year.

Did you know only a couple of months after you left, the whole world closed down? You left me with no job, no money, no rent, no bills, no entertainment. I could only see my friends on a screen. Maybe you liked it that way.

It wasn't all bad. I made my own fun. It wasn't as fun as you, of course, but I did find some new hobbies.

I know, I know, you always said I should have more hobbies. When you left last year, I had so much more time. I took up baking bread, would you believe it?

Imagine. Me, tapping my foot waiting for the bread to rise. I burnt my tongue eating it before it cooled. Half of it was gone by the time I realised: You've got to let it cool down.

But that's the story of my life: Impatient.

Talking about impatience, you wouldn't believe what else I took up during the last year: Chess. Don't laugh. I know it's funny for you to think of me playing chess. It's so slow and quiet.

Slow and quiet. I think I've changed since I knew you.

Remember all that screaming out your name at the fireworks by the river. The last time we met we hugged and kissed. Do you remember? We held each other and sang songs about you. It's not something we do much nowadays. Definitely not something we'd do this year. Too risky.

I hope you don't mind when I say you look different. Tired. Are you okay? Where are your fireworks this year? Have you packed them away? Will you even have a job next year?

It's hard to say with what's going to happen. People like you and me. The pyrotechnic sort.

People who want to have fun and laugh and cry and be human. The world is not for us right now. Not even a little of your fireworks will cheer us up, I'm afraid to say. We're closed.

I'm sorry.

Yes, I heard you packed it all in. I'm sorry to hear that. I hope next year when I see you again, life will be different.

Last year is ancient history now.

Every second that ticks further on that same clock, I am happier. Don't take it personally. It's not you. It's me: So much has changed since I last saw you, I don't know where to start.

Did you hear old Jimmy died? He had diabetes. His son also died. He wasn't old. Jimmy's family never fail to visit you every year. This year they decided they better not.

We are all scared. Look at it around here. Last year there were thousands lining the river to watch your fireworks. Now a few plastic bags float into the air and land in the river like jellyfish. The shops are all closed. It's so cold. It's freezing.

Don't say that. I never wanted you to leave. The party had to end sometime.

This happens every year. It's just a shame you had to leave so early on New Year's Day. I stayed up all night and watched you slip away. I don't know whether you know that. We all did.

Me? I don't care about partying anymore. Honestly. I am looking forward to the future. All I want is to get past this. To forget about you.

I know life is harder than last year. And boring. Despite all my hobbies, I'm still impatient. I want it to be normal again. I know we can never be normal again. Will you have to wear a mask next year, and the year after that?

You know what I remember the most. It's those words you said last time.

Those three words you said.

It's been haunting me all year. When it's quiet. Earlier in the year, and not a car on the street. I could hear all the birds chirping happy and free. And I hear your voice. Dear New Year, when you said:

We'll meet again.

Happy New Year: You and me.

Under a dark sky on December 31st, 2020, you didn't bring your fireworks with you this time. We can still be friends when we see each other now and again. I'm different now.

I want something new.

humor
4

About the Creator

JR Flaherty

Typing it up. Tips always appreciated.

Follow me on medium: @jrflaherty

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.