Humans logo

The Trivial Story

Chapter Two

By Manda MariePublished 3 years ago 5 min read
2
The Trivial Story
Photo by Patrick Baum on Unsplash

With Lana smiling after I had told her that he just wandered into my path, I couldn't help that she wanted more information about it yet there was none to give. Damien was on a mission to meet with my father for some type of peace treaty, but that's all I knew about. While we walked into the castle, all I see is the guards standing in their normal position guarding like they usually do. Then a man that was right hand to my father name Eric, he was very handsome not much older then me walks right up us.

"Afternoon Princess, guard please take the horse from the Princess her father is expecting her to meet him in the throne room," Eric says firmly.

Lana knew Eric since he was little and when his father past away, when he became of age he fought next to my father in a war. Pretty much he saved my father's life and that's how he became a member of the court. Eric watched over me knowing that I was not allowed to be alone since I was important. Anyway seeing Eric all grown up it was like the sunlight was hitting him in the right spot which made him more handsome then any other man. Eric had these gorgeous green eyes that sparkled like anything. He wore his armor most of the time so I don't know what was underneath his armor.

I took my horse reins and handed to the guard, "What is it this time Eric?"

Eric walked right beside me and began to explain, "Well it seems to your father's attention that Prince Damien has talk to your father about you. I believe the last that I heard he was wondering about being your husband."

I stopped right in my tracks and felt like I couldn't move because I was not ready to be married. I couldn't even believe my ears.

"Eric please tell me that is not true," I said with a shaky voice making my words trembled.

Eric stopped right beside me and then that's when it hit me as soon as he reached for my hand, "Princess don't worry I believe you're not ready yet. I think he was trying to suggest an idea to your father."

Then before he let go of my hand, he leaned in next to me then says, "Not on my watch I would let you go that easy. You're worth fighting for."

My stomach dropped down to what seemed like my feet. My eyes widened thinking what could this mean. While Lana was right there not trying to hear everything that was going on. We continued our way to the throne room, as we headed that way I couldn't get that thought out of my head. We approached the throne room and as soon as they announced me entering the room, my feet didn't want to walk in there.

I step into the room and hear, "DAUGHTER!!!"

I made a smile to show my father that I was pretty happy and smiling, "What is going on?"

My father reached for my hand and pulled me right next to him and told me in my ear, "Now I know things are very quiet around here and from what Prince Damien has told me that he was lost on the way here and you had helped him. I know things have been very distant between us but this handsome Prince has asked for your hand in marriage."

Once he has said that, the only thing that came out of my mouth was, "OK."

My father made this dumb founded look and in response, "Daughter we will have a wedding on the eve of the next moon. You and Prince Damien will be wed for the sake of our kingdoms."

I turned around from the top of throne and the only person I saw the face of was Eric. He looked so disappointed and I wasn't sure how to feel about. So after the announcement, I told my father I wasn't feeling well that I needed to head to my chamber. As soon as I got to my room, I turned to Lana and said, "Lana can you send for Eric for me?"

Lana didn't know what to expect but then she replied, "I knew you had feelings for him, ever since you both were children. He is your father's captain and guard, are you sure you want me to send for him?"

I turned to Lana and explained, "Yes. I know you heard what he said to me before we entered the throne room. So I need to find out what he feels for me and if he doesn't then the wedding can proceed."

Lana curtsy and replied, "As you wish."

I paced back and forth in my room thinking that it was all in my head but I wasn't sure about it. I sat next to my egg that had my creature in it which wasn't born yet. My father found it and brought it to me and yet we don't know what it could be just yet. I stared at the egg for what felt like forever, then I hear a knock at the door. Lana comes in and says, "Your highness I give you Eric of the guardsmen."

"Thank you Lana. You may leave us," I replied.

Eric walked right in and that's when we were alone. He stood there just waiting for me to say something.

I said to him, "Please sit down Eric. We must speak about what you said to me. It seems to me that you have feelings for me and now you tell me right before my father made that announcement."

Eric sat down and was quiet for a while before he could answer, "I know we grew up together princess, but I have been in love with you since the first time my father brought me here to meet you and your father, The King. Now with everything going on and your father announcing your engagement I couldn't destroy your happily ever after. So for that I will back off, and also your father says for my to be part of your guardsmen when you move to watch over you if you will have me."

In my mind, I couldn't help as a princess I would have a happily ever after but not with the man I thought I could have. Before I could even answer him I took a minute then the next I did I couldn't help myself and it just happen. I got up from my little sofa, walked over to him and asked him to stand up. Eric stood up and was looking down on me, than grabbed his head and leaned it toward mine and kiss that I knew we both felt that kiss as if it was meant to be.

TO BE CONTINUED.....

literature
2

About the Creator

Manda Marie

My name is Amanda Gongora, I'm twenty-seven years old. I have three kids. My oldest is six going to be seven in May. My second is three going to be four in February. Now my youngest is six months. I have two girls and one boy.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.