Humans logo

The Time I Got Catfished

And Met the Real Person

By No NopePublished 7 years ago 5 min read
Like

A little disclaimer:

I want to start this off by saying that I was not on the show Catfish, I did not write into them, and I have not met Nev or Max but this story is pretty much like watching the show! And also, since I live in the UK and I was 14-16 at the time, it was near impossible to get on the show even if I wanted to.

All the names apart from my own have been changed for privacy.

So, I met my catfish online via a role playing group, we played characters that were in bands. The band was Black Veil Brides (I'm cringing already). This was around 2012, I was in year 10 and I was about 14-15 years old. I had been talking to this person for a few months and we decided to talk more personally; as in as myself, I told them my name which is Tasha and they told me theirs, let’s call them Scott. Scott sent me pictures of him and he was so cute, I was into scene/alternative looking boys back then, hence Black Veil Brides; so he was the perfect guy for me. Scott was 17 at the time, or so that's what he told me. We began a long distance relationship even though he only lived in the town next to mine, for about two months. We always had stupid fights and break ups; as most couples do, and I suppose back then I excused it as simply a teenage hormonal thing, but it wasn't until now that I'm older that I realise that the situation was pretty toxic, even if this was all fake and lies. During our fights is when things got weird. Scott never wanted to Skype with me, which I was okay with since I didn’t own a front facing camera phone or a laptop with a webcam at the time but he wouldn’t speak over the phone with me either. I remember him telling me once that he never answered calls and if I was to call him he wouldn't speak, he'd just listen to me speak. I was so young and dumb back then that I didn’t think twice about it, it was normal to me since I had my own insecurities.

Around Christmas time 2012, Scott sent me a text message saying that he had gotten beaten up and that he as in the hospital, the hospital he told me he was in was where my aunt was working as a nurse at the time. I phoned her and asked her if there was a patient by the name of “Scott Anderson” along with his age. She, no everyone's surprise, said no. I was so confused and told him that he had lied to me, Scott disappeared and stop texting me back after that. Fast forward to August of 2013, Scott and I were back in contact, meeting once again on an online role playing group. We weren't dating as such but still talking. Scott told me he was dating a girl called Jessica, and my 15-year-old self became extremely jealous. I messaged Jessica all these hateful things, I actually feel really bad for her now, I was a monster. Jessica replies back saying; “I hope you know that Scott isn’t who he says he is... He’s actually a GIRL called Lisa.” I was so confused and shocked; Jessica said that she’d talked to Scott and that he eventually told her that his real name was Lisa and that he was a girl. I had no idea what to do so I texted Lisa; “I know you’re a girl and you lied to me. I know your name is Lisa.” I never got a response back, I remember telling my best friend this and crying all night.

So, fast forward to November 2013, I was in college now and loving it but I still felt like I needed closure over the whole situation, even if it has been a couple of months. I texted Lisa again this time saying; “I wanted you to know that I don’t have a problem with you being a girl, I just don’t like being lied to. Why didn’t you next me back?” Which was true, I'm bisexual, therefore I had no problem dating girls, it's the fact that she lied to me. Lisa responded, to my surprise, telling me how she was scared I wouldn’t like her anymore, which wasn’t the case since. I asked her if she’d like to meet me to hang out, actually I was terrified to speak on the phone with her so I asked my friend Joe, who I met in college to speak with her first. Eventually we picked a date to go and Joe came with, he had to leave though because he had a dinner party to go to, so I was left alone with Lisa and her friends, who weren’t nice at all. It was a horrible date, she hardly spoke to me unless it was if she was asking me if I wanted a cigarette or a can of Monster and then to say goodbye when I got the train to go home. I sat on the train and cried my eyes out to Joe on the phone, telling him what happened, I remember sitting at Starbucks with my drink and crying, all these old people were staring at me so I decided to just walk home to get some air. The next day I texted Lisa saying that it wasn’t going to work out because she hardly spoke to me, it was a hard decision to make since I did really like her. Lisa said fine and we never spoke again, though I did find out that she started dating Jessica, typical. It’s 2017 now and I haven’t spoken to her since. One day I wanted to do a bit of stalking and found her real Facebook, I looked through her friend list and found someone by the name that she used to catfish me, I clicked on the profile and it was the boy who's pictures she stole. I was so tempted to tell him but I had no proof and it was a long time ago so I just left it.

I hope you enjoyed reading this little story! Please let me know what you think!

social media
Like

About the Creator

No Nope

Hacked

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.