Humans logo

The Ticket

My little tale

By KJ MullinsPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
Like

Sometimes even the nicest person may do something a tad bit shady. Perhaps turn in a lotto ticket that isn't technically one that you had rights to. Perhaps use the money to do all the things that he had made sure you couldn't for the years you were together. Perhaps buy a pair of $500 shoes without thinking about it.

Oh, you want details? Sure. It goes a little like this.

It's not so much of a crime, in fact, not a crime at all. Possession is 9/10th of the law, isn't it? And the ticket was in my apartment. And had been forgotten about. He didn't even know that it was his. Because of that possession thing.

He used to use this stupid tiny black notebook to leave daily messages to me. Not really the kind that made him the man of the hour.

Pick up my clothes.

I want something decent to eat tonight.

Whenever he had money or receipts or paper with phone numbers of some random hook-up in his pockets I would be the dutiful girlfriend and put it in the notebook.

Or lottery tickets. The ones you know instantly if you won or not. He brought them once in a while and would forget about it for weeks. Then swear to the heavens if he lost, which he always did. Not like he lost a great deal of money. They were just a buck or two. Not even enough for a coffee. But he's a cheap bastard.

Then came the day when the page in front of me said,

Lose some damn weight. You look like hell.

I was a size 2.

It was my shallow wake-up call.

He could insult anything else about me but not my weight. I worked too damn hard to keep the shape he wanted me to be in. I denied myself dessert. Bread. Pizza. Just to be the perfect size that looked sexy in dresses that fit like skin.

For him.

I gathered up his clothes and personal effects and sent them to his office.

Yes, I paid for the courier but I am nice.

I was done. This was over and smiled at how much room my closet had now. Without all the crap that he left here every day, there was plenty of room for all the things I had stored in the coat closet. Like my clothes.

I was so stupid.

Thinking back, I should have sent the bundle to his Mom's house. Let her know what a jerk her little bundle of joy was. The place he technically lived and would be going to from now on. Because he's a loser.

Then I saw it.

On the closet, the floor was one lone lotto ticket. Unsigned.

I never once played one of them for myself. Why? Because I was his doormat. I let him tell me all the things in life I was horrible at and believed he was the answer to my prayers. Well damned if I was gonna be his doormat anymore.

I almost threw it away but stopped and took a chance. It was one of those get three amounts the same and you win. $20,000 appeared online 1. Then line two. But so did $10. I thought to myself I may have just won enough for a slice of pizza and a piece of cake.

And I did. Plus a whole bunch more.

Yep, line three was $20,000.

I never told anyone. Just went down to the lotto office and cashed that sucker in. I walked out with a cheque.

I opened a little savings account for it. Whenever I want a little treat I use the account and smile all day long. I call it my happy bitch account.

And that's how I have enough money to buy these shoes. Any questions?

dating
Like

About the Creator

KJ Mullins

For the past decade I have been a freelance journalist, writing thousands of articles on all subject matters. For the past five years I have focused on the city of Toronto, mental health, arts, crime and social issues.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.