Humans logo

The Three Loves

The Boys Who Shaped Me

By Ava PalmerPublished 6 years ago 3 min read
Like

The three types of loves you will encounter:

I once read a post saying in your life you would have three types of loves. As I sat and read this post, I thought how accurate can this be until I sat and thought about all the boys I had dated. Three spoke out to me: the three I loved, the three that shaped the person I am.

1. Young Love

This is the one you meet early on. For me, it was a couple months into freshman year of high school. I was small, quiet, and studious. I didn’t believe boys; aside from the ones in my classes, noticed I existed. Then I met someone who made me feel pretty and broke me out of my shell: Logan. He was the quarterback of the football team, a junior, and had his own car. He was also in my Spanish class. All the girls thought he was cute and wanted him, and one Tuesday morning in class, he asked me to partner with him for a project. At first, I thought nothing of it. I was smart, but there were plenty of smart girls and guys in there for him to partner with. I remember saying yes to it and love bloomed there. We laughed and joked, and I realized that this boy wasn’t as perfect as my high school portrayed. He was real and had feelings and insecurities, and I loved him in the purest way. It was sweet and innocent. We held hands and went on cute dates to Olive Garden. We met each other’s families and talked about the future. We attended prom and homecomings together. We lost our virginities to each other and danced under a full moon. We never fought; it was perfect. I thought he was the one. But fate got in the way and made Logan graduate high school and attend college, leaving me behind. I was heartbroken.

2. The Turning Point

The second boyfriend is the turning point. You know, like in the middle of the story when something drastic happens and makes the character grow up. Well that’s what the second love is—the halfway mark. Mine was freshman year of college. I met this boy named Ethan through a mutual friend and we hit it off instantly. He was cute in a nerdy way with stunning green eyes and had big dreams. He also made me feel like the only girl in the world, and I fell deeply in love. Unlike my high school boyfriend, this didn’t last two years of peaceful bliss with an amicable breakup. This one was eight months of passion-filled arguments. We fought over everything. I went through a really bad stage of depression while dating him, and accused him of cheating several times. We always made up and had intense sex where we said I love you more times than we could count. We really thought we were meant to be. We took the always making up as a sign of maturity. We lied to each other and tried to control the other, and when he eventually walked out I felt my heart break and also some relief. This one made me grow up and love myself.

3. The One

The title of this one is more obvious. This is the one you end up with. For me, this is my current boyfriend, Anthony. He gives me a mixture of Logan and Ethan while having his unique mix. I’m never bored of him, nor do I ever feel like I’m in a constant competition. We argue occasionally and make up, but over real issues. He sees that I am not perfect and still loves me with a kind of patience and understanding I have never had. We have romantic moments where we kiss under the stars, and the passionate make up sex has been replaced by passionate love. I grew up thanks to Logan and Ethan and learned to love myself, so I could eventually find and love Anthony, a man worthy of my devotion; my heart’s forever home.

love
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.