Humans logo

The Story Of My Most Successful Vocal Article.

1300 Reads In Just Over 24 Hours

By Jason Ray Morton Published 3 years ago 4 min read
30
The Story Of My Most Successful Vocal Article.
Photo by Nick Morrison on Unsplash

On Friday, I was like any other would-be writer here on Vocal. And, I still am. The difference is, I now know I can put together something that is well received, well-liked, and popular enough to nail down some readers.

Friday I was anxiously awaiting another milestone as I got closer to passing 1600 reads. I barely missed the mark and was excited by seeing another hurdle that I knew I could get across. There was just no way I wouldn't get at least ten reads today, I thought to myself. So, like everyone else, I continued throughout my day, occasionally looking at stories and posts of stories in the Vocal Creators Lounge. I read a few, maybe ten of them, and liked everything I chose. I left some hearts, read some comments, and wondered, could I make it to a top story spot? I wondered if I would ever see one of my stories go over really well. Not that I was jealous, but you see those writers that have made it to 10,000 reads. You see those that have a story that got 500 reads and you can't help but wonder, will that ever be me.

I put up a piece or two and went on with my day. I checked the Facebook group's reactions and got excited over the responses. There's nothing better in the world than to get excited feedback from something you've made or written. I looked back a few months ago. Realizing that my work has gotten better, but I still knew in my heart I had a long way to go. I worked on some things that I might be posting later. I even redid a couple of chapters in a story I'm doing for fun. The day shot by and I felt like I'd accomplished quite a bit.

It was Friday and I needed a much-earned break. We went out to dinner, hung out, and chatted a while, before ending the day. It was getting to be later and I was anxious to see that magic 1600 read milestone broken. I knew it wouldn't be on the stats yet so I decided to stay up and read a while.

Like many other writers and artists alike, I suffer sometimes from my own self-doubts. We all want to succeed in the things that we do. Sometimes I have to stop and remember what's important. It's important that what we do, whatever it is, we give it our all. We need to be proud of it, even if nobody else notices. We have to keep plugging away. That's why I like vocal. Since joining I have written more and more. I now write almost every day. Sure, there are some negative things that I've been overeager to say. When it comes down to it though, my own self-doubt is the only thing that can get in the way.

It was Friday at ten when I checked to see if I'd made it past that milestone I'd shot for. I was anticipating a little over that 1600 and wasn't prepared for what I saw. I honestly jumped, seeing 1821. It was that paper I'd written earlier Friday. When it comes to my top ten, it had hands down won. In just ten hours I'd gotten almost 300 reads.

So, it's 24hrs later, and I checked it again. I was excited, elated, and a bunch of other words I'll have to look up again. Not only had I broken my 1600 before the end of the weekend. Tomorrow, I'll easily break 3000 and to my readers, I say thank you.

Vocal has groups that have been put together on Facebook. So do other careers and professions. There are many groups of support on social media today. So when you put something together, imagine who might support your new piece of work. Who out there will see that title? What groups might you post in that will jump up and read it? I answered those two questions when I started to push my new article. Right or wrong, it was something to try. I hit pay dirt with the subject idea and found an audience that loved it.

social media
30

About the Creator

Jason Ray Morton

I have always enjoyed writing and exploring new ideas, new beliefs, and the dreams that rattle around inside my head. I have enjoyed the current state of science, human progress, fantasy and existence and write about them when I can.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.