Humans logo

The Story of My First Love

Being blind-sided by love was my first mistake, my second was trusting him.

By Amber FesterPublished 5 years ago 4 min read
Like

I remember it like it was yesterday. We met when we were 14. I was in a current relationship, he was not. We met in early April at a bonfire, as what most teens did. He came over to sit by me and we talked for a while then he grabbed my phone and added himself on snapchat. Our friends inside started a movie so mostly everyone went inside to watch a little bit of it before there parents came to pick them up.

Fast forward to June: We started talking more as I was not in a relationship any longer (thats a different story for another time). His dad brought him to my house for a movie date. During the movies he asked where the bathroom was and I showed him up the stairs and on my steps we had our first kiss. After watching the second movie my parents fell asleep so we snuck outside and went on a walk. I lived in a subdivision so it was quiet. We kissed a lot on that walk. We started to feel it rain so we raced back to my house so my parents could drive him home. We started dating that night. 6.22.2013

My sophomore year: We started dating my freshmen summer. We were both in the same grade, but we went to different schools. He visited me on weekends and a few days during the school week if he didn't have to work. Everything was going great we were living our lives until his parents got divorced. His whole sense of relationships died out and the next two years was emotionally draining. Sometime after my 16th birthday we had sex for the first time. He was a virgin I was not. It was his gift to me for my birthday.

Junior year: I decided to switch to his high school this year. I sometimes wonder how my life would be different if I didn't switch high schools. We broke up this year around Christmas. He said he just didn't feel what he used too. It completely broke me. I cried for about two days straight. He was my whole world. He came to my house asked me to come outside, I walked outside and he said, “we need to talk.” I busted into tears and said, “You're not doing this. We're not doing this.” And then he listed a bunch of reasons why he wasn’t happy anymore. I throw his necklace he gave to me at him and he leaves. I walk into my house and break down even more. My dad comes up the stairs and knows exactly whats going on and tells me “everything is gonna be okay” and just lets me cry.

Exactly three days later his bitch ass comes back and we get back together.

Senior year: This is my most emotional year. With graduation, college coming up, my relationship ending. All great things to come. Lets start in October. I was with a friend going through old messages and find these messages between me and this girl my boyfriend use to talk too. When we broke up my junior year she was trying to convince me that they hung out and blah blah blah. With me rereading this. I message my boyfriend and ask him, “Hey did you and her ever hangout?” He texts me back and says “We need to talk after work" and to "Come over." My bitch ass busts into tears and keep repeating to myself he cheated on me, he cheated on me. My friend tries to reassure me that everything is going to be okay.

I drive to his house. We take my car. He tells me the story of him kissing her the day before we broke up. I start yelling. He convinces me that were in a good place right now and that its in the past. And I believe him.

Prom: He doesn’t even tell me I look pretty. Tells me that if we broke up that he wouldn’t even care.

Two weeks later: We lose our streak on snapchat. We don’t really text each other anymore. We mutually decide to take a break. That is until I find out he has been talking to a girl for two weeks behind my back. While were on our break he goes on a date with her. I’m furious so I decide its a good idea to drive to a boys house while his parents are sleeping and climb through a window to get in. We make out but nothing more, even though he wants to.

We break up the next day.

The following weeks I’m living my best life. Already talking to a guy gonna have a summer fling, happy, not tied down, going to parties.

While he would stare at me in class and look like he was going to cry the whole time.

Summer 2016: I date a guy all summer then we break up when he goes to college. It is what it is. (I have a story about him too.) I text my ex as we haven't talked in three months and apologize for how I acted at the end of high school as I was a bit bitchy. He says its okay. I say that I miss talking to him and that we should hangout sometime.

We hangout that night.

We catch up, seems like he changed. He tells me his crazy summer stories, I tell him mine. We kiss and its like everything is brand new again. We get back together. We hook up. He takes me home.

The next day he goes to a party and cheats on me.

The moral of this story is, your high school sweet heart might be a total douche bag and even after three years you don't completely know someone.

*no names have been mentioned as this story is 100 percent true of one of my relationships

breakups
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.