Humans logo

The Single Life

Reasons Women Should Not Seek a Mate Until They're Ready

By Stacie SimmsPublished 6 years ago 2 min read
Like

All throughout my life I have felt the pressure of acquiring a boyfriend, usually in the hopes that one day he would become my husband. I had a few less than serious relationships in high school, but they never lasted longer than a few months. I used to think there was something wrong with me and that I would end up lonely and miserable my whole life.

I felt this way up until a couple of years ago, when I realized how much more easy going my life was when I wasn't sharing it with someone else. It sounds cliché, but I really was a lot happier and felt a lot more free when there was no significant other involved.

As it turns out, I am almost 25 years old, I have no husband or boyfriend. My parents were both hitched at the age of 22, and their parents tied the knot with their significant others as teenagers. By those standards, I should at least have a serious boyfriend at this juncture in my life, right?

Wrong.

Like I said, there is no suitor in my life trying to ask for my hand in marriage, or fighting for my affections. But, what I do have outweighs what I don't have. I do have a career, my own house (own not rent), a dog, two cats, and I live two states away from my hometown. I actually live in New Orleans, which is one of my favorite cities in the country.

I don't say any of this to brag on myself in any way, because I could be doing a lot better for myself. I could have the financial and emotional stability of a man in my life, but I choose not to even pursue anyone. At least, not right now.

I was very unhappy as a teenager due to toxic guys I had in my life. It took me a long time to realize that single doesn't mean your life is depressing and meaningless. It just means I am not in a place in my life where I need male companionship. One day, maybe. But right now, no.

Just because you haven't found a guy doesn't mean that you never will. It also doesn't mean that you'll be miserable until you do. You can't look for self fulfillment in somebody else; make your life what you want it to be, then share it with somebody else.

single
Like

About the Creator

Stacie Simms

Old School gypsy soul, Alabama native living in New Orleans, Louisiana.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.