Humans logo

The Relentless Serenade

Music comes in all shapes and sizes... And so does love.

By Cassandra Zepeda Published 3 years ago 5 min read
Like

The day you moved into your apartment is one I clearly recall. You were so excited and full of joy as your furniture was brought in, and you quickly settled in and called it your new home.

From the very first moment I laid eyes on you, though, my heart was won over—for never in my life had I seen such beauty, such grace, such light in someone's eyes. From the very first moment I laid eyes on you, my heart was yours.

So, one night when you came home after work, I stood outside your building as the moon awoke, and began my serenade. I sang for hours in hopes that you'd hear me and look outside to see me. I sang until the moon returned to sleep, the lark began to sing, and the sun reappeared on the horizon; but still, you did not peek out your window to see me there. I'm a perseverant guy, however. I returned night after night, hoping one day you'd notice me.

Days turned to weeks and still you did not come. I grew impatient, for I really wanted to meet you and make my love known. So I sat on the stairs outside your apartment and awaited your arrival home. When your car finally approached, I began getting ready to serenade you once more and tell you that which was in my heart (which was beating louder than a truck's engine). You got out of the car, pulled your things out, closed the door behind you, locked the car, and made your way up the stairs, passing right next to me with not a single glance in my direction, even as I sang my heart out to you. Crestfallen, I decided I would climb up to your window on the second floor and dedicate my song to you from there.

When the moon appeared, I climbed up to your window, sat on the wide window sill and waited for you to come home. I watched you arrive, make your way up the stairs, open the door, walk into your apartment, kick off your heels, and head for the kitchen for a glass of water. Once I saw you were comfortably settled on your couch with a book in hand, ignoring my rapid pulse, I began my song. You looked up from your reading as though you'd heard something. Feeling my heart and hopes lifting, I sang louder—maybe, then you'd come to the window and give me a chance to declare my love for you. But after a moment, you tilted your eyes back down and continued reading.

My heart sank for a moment, but I was not ready to give up! After a while, you yawned a couple of times and eventually went to bed. But I remained on my spot on the window sill and sang to you soft lullabies until the sun rose the next day. For three nights I returned and sat upon the same spot and sang sweet songs to you, for I had realized, by then, that my lovely lady required effort and convincing, and my love for you was greater than my impatience. On the fourth night, however, after arriving home and obtaining your usual glass of water from the kitchen, to my surprise, you walked to the window where I sat serenading you, and without looking at me, opened it wide. Then, turned and returned to your couch.

What joy! My lady had finally heard me and had decided to grant me a chance! Not wasting a single beat, I climbed in through the window and made my long way to where you sat on your couch. I stood proudly in front of you and began, once again, my serenade for the lady that held my heart. Alarmed, you looked up from your book and searched the room with your eyes. Until you found me standing there in front of you.

"What are you doing in here, little guy?"

Little guy?

"My lady, for you have finally granted me the chance to express my love for you, I have come to tell you all that is in my heart! I adore you, my beautiful maiden!" I declared full-heartedly as you came to kneel in front of me.

Oh! My lady was even more beautiful up-close! Such beauty! Such mesmerizing eyes as blue as a clear sky! And skin so fair and smooth, and hair that shone like the sun! Heavens! And the wonderful scent of her! Like a million flowers filling my lungs! I felt I would go mad with love!

You placed one hand on the floor next to me and gave me a little nugde from behind with the other. More than willingly, and wanting to be closer to you, I hopped onto your open palm.

"So you're the little cricket that has been singing every night outside my window! I must tell you, you sing beautifully. Your songs remind me of home— they make me happy," you said as you stood up and walked back toward the open window.

As speechless as I was, a massive smile spread across my face, for I felt like I had finally found my purpose in life! My sweet lady liked my song! Oh, how fortunate I was! How euphoric I felt then! Very carefully, you placed me back on the window sill outside with your gentle, beautiful hands.

"Good night, my sweet little singer," you said as you smiled at me.

My heart felt so full of love, I thought it might have grown to the size of a peanut. At that moment, I decided that I wanted nothing more than to sit outside your window and look upon your beauty as I sang songs from my heart.

So here I am, once more outside your window, serenading you with soft lullabies as you sleep and dream sweet dreams. And here is where I shall remain, for it is my purpose in life to watch over you, and soothe you with my songs for the rest of my days.

love
Like

About the Creator

Cassandra Zepeda

Cassandra is a performer, model, writer, and the Creative Director/Co-Founder for MageCraft Miniatures. She currently lives in Houston, Texas where she runs her business with her fiance, Blake, and their fur babies.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.