Humans logo

The Relationship Seemed Great Up Until... And Then...

A short memoir about parts of my abuse from the wrong man

By Andria VetellaPublished 4 years ago 2 min read
Like
The Relationship Seemed Great Up Until... And Then...
Photo by Anh Nguyen on Unsplash

In my senior year of high school I dated my first, what my father called a nudnik, who I met as my co-worker at my first restaurant job. In the beginning, he was a gentlemen and he acted like he truly cared for my well being. There had been no previous warning signs (as far as I could blindly tell) and the relationship seemed great. We were only a couple of months into the relationship as things started to unravel that summer.

One night after work, we decided to hang out with people from the restaurant, and go over to have a drink at my boyfriends friend's apartment. Well being the only girl, as well as being a small five-foot fun size in a room full of testosterone six feet tall, I was mildly uncomfortable. A foot in front of me were two of my boyfriends friend's who started arguing.

I could tell things were getting heated, but before I was able to cower down into a fetal position to cover my head, I felt a fast hard wale on the top left half of my skull with immediate feeling's of blood rushing & throbbing as I crawled on the floor to try to move out of the way before it happened again. While sitting there holding the top of my head in pain, watching these two men go crazy on each other; knowing my boyfriend saw the whole thing, I thought for sure he would have been outraged and concerned for his girlfriend who could have had a possible concussion. Nope. Nothing. He never said a word. Never asked me if I was okay and he never said anything to his friend's.

I was left with silence from him, a loud pounding headache, a confused ache in my heart, extreme anxiety about not waking up from a head injury, and absolutely zero hours of sleep. I broke up with him after a few more dangerous incidences, like almost flipping us in my car by turning onto an exit last minutely while yelling at me. Blaming me for being late to his work because I didn't set his alarm clock on his phone. That one time he punched me in the face accidentally when I jumped out of a corner minutes after playfully spooking each other...

And then that night after breaking up he tagged my whole entire Facebook friends list in a hateful post he wrote about me, then called my father apologizing, because he purposely took too many Tylenol pills to take the pain away. My dad called 911 and saved him. They sent him to the ER and then to a rehabilitation center. Me and my family haven't heard from him since.

breakups
Like

About the Creator

Andria Vetella

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.