Humans logo

The Pursuit of Simplicity

and the joy of exploration...

By Natalie SchweizerPublished 4 years ago 3 min read
Like

Our lives have changed drastically in the last month. The human need to explore and wander has been stripped from us as a means for our protection. I understand the need to be careful - to be practical. But my heart aches for the journeys I intended to take, and I can't help but count the days.

Each day crawls by slower than the last but I find peace in the simplicity of nature. Though my journey across the seas has come to a temporary halt, I am reminded when I watch this video that there is beauty in slowing down. There is beauty in watching the clouds spread like butter across the sky. Beauty in watching as the sun swims through the blue until finding its nest in the treetops to the west. Beauty in film that transforms what our eyes see into something unique. Life is uncertain, but nature is constant.

As I watch this video, it also reminds me to look toward the future. I have hope for the time when the people in passing I can once again approach and connect with. Now we rely on our devices to communicate with each other, but soon we will talk face to face and embrace. People are beautifully complex and unique. When this is all over, we will value the human connection and the simple conversation. We will pause and truly listen. We will pay attention.

Humans of New York has been consistent in sharing stories of anyone and everyone. The creator, Brandon Stanton, has dedicated his life to truly seeing people and reminding them that they are valued and their stories are meaningful. He showcases the uniqueness of these individuals and allows them to expand on what makes them who they are. To listen to others is a simple task that requires an abundance of patience. Little people have developed that skill and Stanton inspires me to open my ears to the world around me.

One thing that I find truly beautiful about Humans of New York is that it reminds me that we are all the same. In a city like New York, you pass so many strangers on the street that you never really see past the surface of how they appear. You can make judgements in the blink of an eye. But we are all human, and we all struggle in this world together.

However, while we are all the same in our human condition, we find uniqueness in our specific stories. In the pursuit of simplicity, I've found that life and the people who inhabit it are complex.

This photo is from the archives of Life Magazine. Alfred Eisenstaedt captured the reaction of these children in Paris, 1963 as the dragon in the Guignol puppet show is slain. Their faces express true awe and surprise - the perfect representation of childlike wonder.

I love this photo because it reminds me of a time when everything was new and could take me by surprise. As we age, we lose our sense of wonder and, with it, our excitement. When we are children, each day is an adventure and something as simple as a puppet show can have twists and turns we wouldn't expect.

This photo does not make me nostalgic but reminds me to channel the childlike faith I once had. To seek out experiences that catch me off guard. To explore new places, to meet new people, and to truly embrace every part of life.

As Life Magazine's motto goes, "To see the world, things dangerous to come to, to see behind walls, draw closer, to find each other, and to feel. That is the purpose of life."

humanity
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.